How to choose the best online broker

If you want to manage your own investments, how do you choose the best online broker?

We recommend that you consider six factors:

ease of use

Ease of use

The best online brokers put serious effort into designing intuitive, easy-to-use features for both experts and beginners. It should be quick and easy to manage your investments on desktop and mobile devices. Most brokers allow you to access a trial account where you can get a feel for their features and functionality.

tools and research

Tools and research

The best online brokers offer the most sophisticated tools and research sources to help you plan and set goals, find and evaluate investing ideas, trade, and review your portfolios. A full range of tools should include screeners, watchlists, notifications, and real-time quotes.

account info

Account information

To manage your investments, you want rich data and complete insight into your accounts and holdings. The best online brokerage firms provide detailed account summaries and performance reports. They also allow you to switch easily among multiple account views, so you can see if you're on track to meet your investment goals.

customer service

Customer service

If you have a question or need to resolve an issue, you want to know how you can get prompt, accurate help. From the best to the worst, levels of customer service vary widely. Every year, Surviscor evaluates online brokerages for customer service. Qtrade Investor was their top-ranked broker in 2018, 2017 and 2016.

innovation

Innovation

Online services evolve rapidly. The best online brokers are committed to continuous improvement, so you always know you're getting the leading-edge new features to help you achieve your investing goals.

cost

Cost

It’s a given that you want great value. Low commissions and fees reduce the cost of trading and help you keep more of your money invested. Competition between brokers keeps online trading very affordable.

Listen to the industry experts

Finding the best online brokerages based on these criteria can be a bit of a chore. Fortunately, there are good third-party evaluations to turn to, including annual rankings of online brokerages from The Globe and Mail, Surviscor and MoneySense.

surviscor

  

Globe and Mail

  

moneysense

  

Best in class

Qtrade Investor has consistently received strong reviews from industry evaluations.

Take the example of The Globe and Mail, which has been publishing columnist Rob Carrick’s review of online brokers for well over a decade. Over those years, Qtrade Investor has continually finished in the top-tier, including nine number-one rankings.

Overall, there's an attention to client-friendly detail at Qtrade that other brokers don't match."

— Rob Carrick, Personal Finance Columnist, The Globe and Mail (2018)
Broker Year 2018 2016 2015 2014 2013 2012 2011
Qtrade Investor A A A- A B+ 2 1
BMO B B B B+ B 3 3
CIBC C C+ C- C C 10 8
Desjardins C B- C- C- C 9 9
HSBC C D D F D 11 12
National Bank C+ C+ C B- C 12 11
Questrade B+ B+ A- B+ B 8 10
RBC B B B- B B 5 5
Scotia iTrade B+ B B B B 4 4
TD B B+ B+ B C 6 7
Virtual Brokers B A A A- A 1 2

Source: The Globe and Mail's annual online broker ranking published 2011 to 2018.

The annual ranking used numbers until 2012 and letter grades from 2013 to 2018.

More samples of recent endorsements include:

Winner

2019 Winner – Surviscor Brokerage Service Award

Winner

Surviscor Brokerage Service Award 

2019, 2018, 2017, 2016

First place

The Globe and Mail Online Broker Ranking

2018, 2016

Best overall – Top online brokerage

MoneySense Best Online Brokerage Review

2018, 2017, 2016

Comment choisir le meilleur courtier en ligne

Si vous souhaitez gérer vous-même vos investissements, comment choisissez-vous le meilleur courtier en ligne?

Selon nous, il y a six facteurs que vous devriez considérer :

ease of use

Facilité d’utilisation

Les meilleurs courtiers en ligne déploient des efforts considérables pour concevoir des fonctions intuitives et simples d’utilisation à la fois pour les investisseurs expérimentés et débutants. Gérer vos investissements sur les appareils mobiles et sur ordinateur devrait être rapide et facile. La plupart des courtiers vous permettent d’accéder à un compte d’essai grâce auquel vous pouvez vous faire une idée de leurs caractéristiques et de leur fonctionnalité.

tools and research

Outils et recherche

Les meilleurs courtiers en ligne vous offrent les outils et les ressources de recherche les plus sophistiqués pour vous aider à planifier et à établir vos objectifs, à trouver et à évaluer des idées d’investissement, à négocier et à analyser vos portefeuilles. Une gamme complète d’outils devrait être composée de filtres, de listes de surveillance, de notifications et de cotes en temps réel.

account info

Informations sur le compte

Pour gérer vos investissements, il vous faut des informations détaillées qui vous procurent une connaissance approfondie de vos comptes et de vos titres détenus. Les meilleures maisons de courtage en ligne fournissent des sommaires de compte détaillés et des rapports sur le rendement. De plus, ces meilleurs courtiers en ligne vous permettent de passer facilement d’un affichage de compte à un autre pour vérifier si vous êtes sur la bonne voie pour atteindre vos objectifs de placement.

customer service

Service à la clientèle

Si vous avez une question à poser ou un problème à résoudre, vous devez savoir comment obtenir rapidement la réponse ou la solution précise. Allant du meilleur au pire, les niveaux de services à la clientèle varient énormément. Chaque année, Surviscor effectue une évaluation du service à la clientèle des services de courtage en ligne. Investisseur Qtrade a été couronné meilleur courtier en 2018, 2017 et 2016.

innovation

Innovation

Les services en ligne évoluent rapidement. Les meilleurs courtiers en ligne s’engagent à s’améliorer constamment afin que vous obteniez toujours les nouvelles fonctions avant-gardistes pour vous aider à atteindre vos objectifs de placement.

cost

Coût

C’est un fait que vous désirez un service abordable. Les frais et les commissions peu élevés réduisent le coût des opérations et vous permettent d’investir plus d’argent. Grâce à la concurrence entre les courtiers, le courtage en ligne demeure très abordable.

Écoutez les spécialistes de l’industrie

Trouver les meilleurs courtiers en ligne sur la base de ces critères n’est pas chose facile. Heureusement, vous pouvez vous référer aux bonnes évaluations indépendantes, notamment les classements annuels des courtiers en ligne effectués par le Globe and Mail, Surviscor et MoneySense.

surviscor

  

Globe and Mail

  

moneysense

  

Meilleur dans sa catégorie

Investisseur Qtrade a toujours reçu des critiques positives lors des évaluations de l’industrie. 

Prenez par exemple le Globe and Mail, qui publie l’évaluation des courtiers en ligne de Rob Carrick, chroniqueur en finances personnelles, depuis plus d’une décennie. Au fil de ces années, Investisseur Qtrade a toujours fini dans le haut du classement, dont neuf fois à la première place.

De manière générale, Qtrade porte une attention particulière à la convivialité que les autres courtiers n’arrivent pas à égaler. "

— Rob Carrick, chroniqueur en finances personnelles du Globe and Mail (2018)
Courtier Année 2018 2016 2015 2014 2013 2012 2011
Investisseur Qtrade A A A- A B+ 2 1
BMO B B B B+ B 3 3
CIBC C C+ C- C C 10 8
Desjardins C B- C- C- C 9 9
HSBC C D D F D 11 12
Banque Nationale C+ C+ C B- C 12 11
Questrade B+ B+ A- B+ B 8 10
RBC B B B- B B 5 5
Scotia iTrade B+ B B B B 4 4
TD B B+ B+ B C 6 7
Courtiers virtuels B A A A- A 1 2

Source: Classements annuels des courtiers en ligne du Globe and Mail (2011-2018).

Les classements annuels se faisaient à l'aide de nombres jusqu'en 2012, puis de lettres de 2013 à 2018.

Parmi les mentions spéciales reçues récemment, notons :

Winner

Lauréat du 2019 prix du service de courtage de Surviscor

Lauréat du

prix du service de courtage de Surviscor

2019, 2018, 2017, 2016

Première place au

classement des courtiers en ligne du Globe and Mail

2018, 2016

Meilleur courtier général en ligne selon le

classement des meilleurs courtiers en ligne selon MoneySense

2018, 2017, 2016