Share

Thematic ETFs - Fad or Fab?

The number of thematic ETFs has exploded in recent years. But are they more than just another investing craze?

There are hundreds of thematic ETFs currently available, offered by major fund companies like BlackRock and Vanguard, as well as smaller fund managers. You can now invest in specific sub-sectors, market segments and demographics, or even align your portfolio with your moral values.

Are these themed ETFs simply a marketing tactic to entice investors with the latest shiny object? Or can they have legitimately useful role in investors' portfolios?

Why should you care about thematic ETFs?

Thematic ETFs allow investors to buy shares in a range of companies involved in specific niches or themes like robotics, artificial intelligence, big data, genomics, or organic products. Compared to seeking exposure to a niche or theme by owning a small number of individual stocks, thematic ETFs allow you to own a whole basket of companies. Depending on the scope of the theme, your ETF could even hold companies from a wide range of industries.

With recent inflows into ETFs, particularly during the COVID-19 pandemic, there are differing opinions as to their popularity:

“There are theories as to the rise of thematic ETFs, which now house about $130 billion of investors' money. The unflattering take is that people are bored during lockdown with cash to spare, so why not take a punt on Bitcoin going up 80%. The more measured view is that thematics are actually a sophisticated way for long-term investors to access cutting-edge innovation.”1

Once you have an established, core portfolio, thematic ETFs can be a way to provide exposure to specific themes that you believe have potential for growth.

Something for everyone: Investing in beliefs, causes and hobbies

Thematic ETFs also allow investors to align their portfolio with their moral beliefs, passions or causes they care about.

For example, Global X's Catholic Values ETF (CATH) caters to Christian investors who wish to invest in line with their faith. In Europe, Muslim investors are the market for Blackrock's iShares MSCI World Islamic UCITS ETF (ISWD).

For those who want to consider the broader impact of their investments, there are a number of interesting thematic ETFs in the Responsible Investment category. Global X's Conscious Companies ETF (KRMA), for example, screens-in companies committed to creating positive outcomes for a variety of stakeholders, including employees, customers, communities, suppliers, and stock and debt holders.

Other ETFs align with causes, like the Workplace Equality Portfolio ETF (EQLT-A), which holds stocks only in companies that support LGBT equality in the workplace.

Some cause-based ETFs offer a compelling risk/reward story. For example, gender diversity mandates, such as the SPDR SSGA Gender Diversity Index ETF (SHE), which invest in U.S.-based companies with higher levels of gender diversity in senior leadership, point to recent studies suggesting that companies with a higher proportion of female leaders perform better.2

However, funds catering to ethical or religious interests are only a subset of a growing line up of thematic ETFs: another subset simply gives investors the ability to buy shares in line with their personal interests.

Travel enthusiasts, for example, can own Harvest Travel & Leisure Index ETF (TRVL), which gives investors exposure to the long-term demographic trends that favour the tourism industry.

Other ETFs reflect growing trends that transcend specific industry sectors. For example, the Global X Robotics & Artificial Intelligence ETF contains a wide variety of companies involved in developing AI and robotics technology; its holdings span 12 industries from eight countries.

The ups and downs of thematic ETFs

Many of these ETFs can have dozens of companies represented, from several countries. So, if you want exposure to a theme, you can avoid the risk of investing in just one stock and also save the time that would be spent in researching individual firms.

Keep in mind, however, that some thematic ETFs are designed for day traders and are only suited to sophisticated investors who actively manage their investments.

On the down side, management fees can be higher than for typical ETFs, with expense ratios above 1 per cent at the top end.

Some of the more niche ETFs are small in terms of the value of their assets under management. As with any ETF or mutual fund, that's something to watch for because smaller funds may ultimately not be financially viable. For example, the Restaurant ETF (BITE) opened in 2015, but investors didn't find it tasty. The fund closed just over a year later after attracting less than $1.5 million.3

How they fit in your portfolio

The right thematic ETFs can help you jump on board emerging sub-sectors. They offer a focus on a specific theme with less risk than buying single stocks.

However, given their narrow focus, thematic ETFs are likely to be more volatile than more broadly diversified ETFs. For this reason, they shouldn't be considered part of your core portfolio.

What to consider when evaluating thematic ETFs

Thematic ETFs can bring you exposure to sub-sectors or market segments that you believe are likely to grow. They can also help you invest in companies aligned to your moral or ethical beliefs or your interests.

Before you invest, however, there are a few things to keep in mind.

It is important to have an established, core portfolio before considering niche ETFs.4

Traditional ETFs are about tracking market performance at the lowest possible cost. Thematic ETFs are about adding exposure to a niche that has the potential to outperform the markets.

Most thematic ETFs should be considered speculative plays, and for that reason you need to understand and be willing to accept the additional risks before you invest.

The information contained in this article was obtained from sources believed to be reliable; however, we cannot guarantee that it is accurate or complete. This material is for informational and educational purposes and it is not intended to provide specific advice including, without limitation, investment, financial, tax or similar matters. 

 

References

1 Burton, James. “Are thematic ETFs here for the long haul?” Wealth Professional, April 29, 2021. https://www.wealthprofessional.ca/investments/etfs/are-thematic-etfs-here-for-the-long-haul/355449 (Accessed April 2021).

2 Bell, Sharon. “The stock market boost from having more women in management,” Financial Times, November 9, 2020. https://www.ft.com/content/12aefc8c-9d5b-4a02-bb88-4eef62d79443 (Accessed April 2021).

3 Thompson, Jennifer. "Fancy investing in a theme? There's an ETF for that," The Financial Times, September 7, 2017. https://www.ft.com/content/45637d62-7767-11e7-a3e8-60495fe6ca71 (Accessed April 2021).

4 Gooderham, Mary. “Why investors should tread carefully when buying thematic ETFs,” The Globe & Mail, March 21, 2021. https://www.theglobeandmail.com/investing/article-why-investors-should-tread-carefully-when-buying-thematic-etfs/ (Accessed April 2021).

Les fonds négociés en bourse thématiques, une mode ou une révolution?

Durant les dernières années, les fonds négociés en bourse (FNB) thématiques se sont multipliés. Ne sont-ils qu’une frénésie passagère en investissement?

Des centaines de FNB thématiques sont actuellement offerts sur le marché par de grandes sociétés de fonds comme BlackRock et Vanguard, mais aussi par de petits gestionnaires de fonds. Aujourd’hui, il est possible d’investir dans des sous-secteurs, des segments de marché et des collectivités en particulier, ou encore d’harmoniser son portefeuille avec ses valeurs morales.

Ces FNB thématiques sont-ils une stratégie de marketing pour attirer les investisseurs en leur jetant de la poudre aux yeux? Ou remplissent-ils plutôt une fonction utile et légitime dans le portefeuille des investisseurs?

L’importance des FNB thématiques

Grâce aux FNB thématiques, les investisseurs peuvent acheter les titres d’un ensemble d’entreprises œuvrant dans des créneaux ou des secteurs précis comme la robotique, l’intelligence artificielle, les mégadonnées, la génomique ou les produits biologiques. Plutôt que de chercher à se faire connaître dans un créneau ou un secteur précis en possédant quelques actions individuelles, les FNB thématiques permettent d’avoir des parts dans une myriade de sociétés. Selon l’envergure du thème choisi, un FNB peut comporter des titres d’entreprises œuvrant dans des secteurs d’activités variés.

Les opinions divergent quant aux causes de la popularité des investissements dans les FNB, particulièrement pendant la pandémie de COVID-19 :

« Il existe des théories sur la montée des FNB thématiques, qui abritent maintenant environ 130 milliards de dollars provenant d’investisseurs. La conclusion peu flatteuse est que les gens s’ennuient pendant le confinement et ont de l’argent à dépenser, alors pourquoi ne pas tenter sa chance avec un bitcoin en hausse de 80 %? Le point de vue plus modéré est que les fonds thématiques sont en fait une façon sophistiquée pour les investisseurs à long terme d’accéder à des innovations de pointe1. »

Une fois votre portefeuille principal clairement établi, les FNB thématiques peuvent contribuer à mettre de l’avant des thèmes précis dont le potentiel de croissance est clair pour vous.

Des placements pour tous les goûts : investir dans ce qui nous tient à cœur

Avec les FNB thématiques, les investisseurs peuvent aussi harmoniser leur portefeuille avec leurs croyances morales, leurs passions et les causes qui leur tiennent à cœur.

Par exemple, le FNB de valeurs catholiques (CATH) de Global X s’adresse aux investisseurs catholiques désirant investir en fonction de leur foi. En Europe, les investisseurs musulmans ont accès au FNB Shares MSCI World Islamic UCITS (ISWD), offert par BlackRock.

Face aux nombreux FNB thématiques intéressants dans la catégorie des investissements responsables, les investisseurs sensibles à l’influence générale de leurs investissements ont l’embarras du choix. Le FNB Conscious Companies (KRMA) de Global X, par exemple, ne sélectionne que des entreprises qui s’engagent à générer des retombées positives pour une série d’intervenants, y compris les employés, les clients, les collectivités, les fournisseurs, les actionnaires et les détenteurs de titres de créance.

D’autres FNB sont orientés sur des causes. Le FNB Workplace Equality Portfolio (EQLT-A), par exemple, ne détient des actions que dans des entreprises soutenant l’égalité des personnes LGBT dans le milieu de travail.

Certains FNB centrés sur une cause offrent un rapport attrayant entre le risque et le rendement. Si l’on considère les fonds centrés sur l’égalité des sexes, comme le FNB SPDR SSGA Gender Diversity Index (SHE), qui investissent dans des entreprises américaines dont les cadres supérieurs présentent une grande diversité de genre, des études récentes suggèrent que les entreprises avec davantage de femmes dans la direction ont un meilleur rendement2.

Toutefois, la planification des fonds selon des centres d’intérêt éthiques ou religieux ne couvre qu’un sous-ensemble de FNB thématiques en expansion : un autre sous-ensemble, lui, permet aux investisseurs de simplement acheter des titres selon leurs passions personnelles.

Les amateurs de voyages, par exemple, peuvent détenir un FNB Harvest Travel & Leisure Index (TRVL), qui permet aux investisseurs de connaître les tendances démographiques à long terme qui favorisent l’industrie du tourisme.

D’autres FNB reflètent des tendances en expansion qui touchent des secteurs d’activités précis. Par exemple, le FNB Robotics & Artificial Intelligence (BOTZ) comprend une grande variété d’entreprises cherchant à développer l’intelligence artificielle et la robotique; son portefeuille couvre 12 secteurs dans huit pays.

Les avantages et les inconvénients des FNB

Des dizaines d’entreprises de plusieurs pays sont représentées dans la plupart de ces FNB. Si vous voulez une exposition à un thème, vous évitez le risque que vous encourez en investissant dans une seule action et vous ne perdez pas de temps à étudier chacune des entreprises.

N’oubliez pas que certains FNB thématiques sont destinés aux spéculateurs sur séance et ne conviennent qu’aux investisseurs avertis qui gèrent leurs placements de façon active.

L’envers de la médaille, ce sont les frais de gestion potentiellement plus élevés que pour les FNB réguliers; ces frais peuvent être supérieurs de plus de 1 %.

Certains FNB axés sur un créneau en particulier présentent des actifs sous gestion dont la valeur est limitée. Tout comme avec les FNB traditionnels et les fonds communs de placement, il faut rester vigilant, car les fonds de petite taille peuvent s’avérer non viables financièrement. Par exemple, les investisseurs du FNB Restaurant (BITE), lancé en 2015, n’ont pas bien digéré le morceau. Ce fonds a fermé à peine un an plus tard en ayant attiré moins de 1,5 million de dollars3.

Leur rôle dans votre portefeuille

En effectuant un choix de FNB thématiques éclairé, vous pouvez vous lancer aisément à la conquête des sous-secteurs émergents. Ces fonds mettent l’accent sur un thème précis et impliquent une prise de risque inférieure par rapport à l’achat d’actions individuelles.

Toutefois, étant donné leur portée réduite, les FNB thématiques sont susceptibles d’être plus volatils que les FNB plus diversifiés. C’est pourquoi ils ne devraient pas faire partie de votre portefeuille principal.

Les éléments à considérer dans l’évaluation des FNB thématiques

Les FNB thématiques peuvent vous ouvrir des portes au sein de sous-secteurs ou de segments du marché dont le potentiel vous semble prometteur. Ces fonds sont aussi des outils pour investir dans des entreprises conformes à vos croyances morales ou éthiques ou à vos centres d’intérêt.

Avant d’investir dans ces fonds, il faut toutefois garder quelques points à l’esprit.

Il est essentiel de posséder un portefeuille principal solide avant d’envisager d’investir dans un FNB axé sur un créneau4.

L’idée derrière les FNB traditionnels, c’est de surveiller le rendement du marché au coût le plus bas possible. Les FNB thématiques, eux, ont pour mission d’obtenir de la visibilité au sein d’un créneau ayant le potentiel de surpasser les marchés.

La plupart des FNB thématiques devraient être abordés comme de la spéculation. C’est pourquoi il faut comprendre les risques supplémentaires en jeu et les accepter avant d’investir.

Les renseignements de cet article proviennent de sources réputées fiables, mais leur précision ou intégralité n’est pas garantie. Ce matériel est fourni à des fins informatives et éducatives et ne vise pas à fournir des conseils précis, y compris, sans toutefois s’y limiter, sur les placements, les finances, les impôts ou d’autres sujets similaires. 

 

Références

1 Burton, James. « Are thematic ETFs here for the long haul? », Wealth Professional Canada, 29 avril 2021. https://www.wealthprofessional.ca/investments/etfs/are-thematic-etfs-here-for-the-long-haul/355449 (consulté en avril 2021).

2 Bell, Sharon. « The stock market boost from having more women in management », Financial Times, 9 novembre 2020. https://www.ft.com/content/12aefc8c-9d5b-4a02-bb88-4eef62d79443 (consulté en avril 2021).

3 Thompson, Jennifer. « Fancy investing in a theme? There’s an ETF for that », Financial Times, 7 septembre 2017. https://www.ft.com/content/45637d62-7767-11e7-a3e8-60495fe6ca71 (consulté en avril 2021).

4 Gooderham, Mary. « Why investors should tread carefully when buying thematic ETFs », The Globe & Mail, 21 mars 2021. https://www.theglobeandmail.com/investing/article-why-investors-should-tread-carefully-when-buying-thematic-etfs/ (consulté en avril 2021).