Are you paying unnecessary mutual fund fees?

Did you know that mutual fundholders may be able to lower their fees by switching to a different series? That’s because the same mutual fund can be offered in multiple series or classes, which charge different Management Expense Ratio (MER) fees.

Consider this scenario: Say you invested $10,000 in a mutual fund with an MER of 2.35 per cent and an annual return of 3 per cent. By the end of the year, you would see a gain of 0.65 per cent after the fund deducted the MER. But if the same mutual fund offered a lower-cost series with an MER of 1.35 per cent, you would see a gain of 1.65 per cent. In that case, investing in the cheaper series fund would increase your total gain by $309 over a three-year timeline.

Timeline Market Value A-series MER D-series MER
Year 1 $10,000 $235 $135
Year 2 $10,300 $242 $139
Year 3 $10,609 $249 $143
Total Fees   $726 $417

The valuations in this table are for illustrative purposes only. They assume a 3% annual return, using an MER of 2.35% for A-series and 1.35% for D-series. Actual valuations vary by fund.

 

What are MER fees?

MER fees refer to the annual costs of owning the fund, and they’re expressed in percentage terms. They represent the total of the management fee, operating expenses and taxes charged to a fund. The management fee covers money paid to the fund’s manager and commissions paid to an advisor.  

The returns you earn as a fundholder are reported after those charges have been deducted from the fund’s average net assets in a given year. This means that the MER directly impacts the fund’s rate of return.

Different mutual fund series are generally indicated with a letter, which tells you about the fund’s fee structure and other features. As a self-directed investor, it’s important to be familiar with the options available to you to ensure you’re not paying unnecessary fees. The most common types of series offered are:

  • A-series: Funds offered by full-service advisors but available to online brokerages as well. The fund’s MER includes a fee paid to the dealer for providing advice to the investor.
  • D-series: Funds available to do-it-yourself investors through online brokerages. These have lower MERs because they don’t include an advice fee. Not all fund families offer D-series, so it’s important to check which series are available before investing.
  • F-series: Funds available to investors who have a fee-based arrangement with a full-service advisor, whereby they pay the advisor directly for their ongoing professional advice. F-series funds have lower MERs because they do not include a separate fee for advice. Qtrade Investor clients have exclusive access to F-series funds from NEI Investments as well as from Vanguard Canada, regardless of whether you work with an advisor.

It’s generally best for self-directed investors to choose lower-cost series funds. To help you invest with cost-effective options, Qtrade Investor has removed direct access to purchase higher-cost funds from our online trading platform whenever there is an equivalent lower-cost series option available.

Mutual funds can be a good investment choice for investors who wish to spend less time researching and analyzing market data. They can also be an easy and cost-effective way to diversify your portfolio. But always remember to check and compare the available series and their associated MERs before you buy.

Important information about your fund’s performance, risks and costs associated with your specific series can be found in the Fund Facts document. Take the time to review the document and make sure you’re choosing a lower-cost mutual fund. Check your fees now

Payez-vous des frais de fonds communs de placement inutiles?

Saviez-vous que les détenteurs de fonds communs de placement peuvent réduire leurs frais en changeant de série? En effet, le même fonds commun de placement peut être offert en plusieurs séries ou classes qui exigent un différent ratio des frais de gestion (RFG).

Envisageons le scénario suivant : Vous avez investi 10 000 $ dans un fonds commun de placement ayant un RFG de 2,35 % et un rendement annuel de 3 %. À la fin de l’année, vous constateriez un gain de 0,65 % après déduction du RFG du fonds. Cependant, si le même fonds commun de placement offrait une série à moindre coût avec un RFG de 1,35 %, vous constateriez un gain de 1,65 %. Dans ce cas, investir dans le fonds de la série la moins chère augmenterait votre gain total de 309 $ sur une période de trois ans.

Période Valeur marchande RFG de la série A RFG de la série D
Première année 10 000 $ 235 $ 135 $
Deuxième année 10 300 $ 242 $ 139 $
Troisième année 10 609 $ 249 $ 143 $
Total des frais   726 $ 417 $

Les valeurs figurant dans ce tableau sont données à titre indicatif seulement. Elles supposent un rendement annuel de 3 %, avec un RFG de 2,35 % pour la série A et de 1,35 % pour la série D. Les valeurs réelles varient d’un fonds à l’autre.

 

Qu’est-ce que le RFG?

Le RFG fait référence aux coûts annuels liés à la détention du fonds et il est exprimé en pourcentage. Il représente le total des frais de gestion, des frais d’exploitation et des taxes imputés à un fonds. Les frais de gestion comprennent les sommes versées au gestionnaire du fonds et les commissions versées à un conseiller.

Les rendements que vous obtenez en tant que détenteur de fonds sont calculés en déduisant ces frais de l’actif net moyen du fonds au cours d’une année donnée. Cela signifie que le RFG a une incidence directe sur le taux de rendement du fonds.

Les différentes séries de fonds communs de placement sont généralement indiquées par une lettre qui vous renseigne sur la structure des frais du fonds et d’autres caractéristiques. En tant qu’investisseur autonome, il est important que vous vous familiarisiez avec les différentes options qui s’offrent à vous pour vous assurer de ne pas payer de frais inutiles. Les séries offertes le plus souvent sont les suivantes :

  • Série A : fonds offerts par les conseillers à service complet, mais aussi par les courtiers en ligne. Le RFG du fonds comprend des frais versés au courtier pour les conseils fournis à l’investisseur.
  • Série D : fonds offerts aux investisseurs autonomes par l’intermédiaire de courtiers en ligne. Ces derniers ont des RFG moins élevés parce qu’ils n’incluent pas d’honoraires pour les conseils. La série D n’est pas offerte dans toutes les familles de fonds. Il est donc important de vérifier quelles séries sont offertes avant d’investir.
  • Série F: fonds offerts aux investisseurs qui ont conclu une entente de services tarifés avec un conseiller à service complet, selon laquelle ils paient directement le conseiller pour des conseils professionnels. Les fonds de série F ont des RFG moins élevés parce qu’ils n’incluent pas d’honoraires distincts pour les conseils. Qu’ils consultent ou non un conseiller, les clients d’Investisseur Qtrade ont un accès exclusif aux fonds de série F de Placements NEI et de Vanguard Canada.

Il est généralement préférable pour les investisseurs autonomes de choisir des fonds de série à moindre coût. Pour vous aider à investir dans des options rentables, Investisseur Qtrade a retiré l’accès direct à l’achat de fonds à coût élevé sur sa plateforme de négociation en ligne chaque fois qu’une option équivalente de série à moindre coût est offerte.

Les fonds communs de placement peuvent être un bon choix de placements pour les investisseurs qui souhaitent consacrer moins de temps à la recherche et à l’analyse des données du marché. Ils peuvent également constituer un moyen facile et rentable de diversifier votre portefeuille. Toutefois, n’oubliez jamais de vérifier et de comparer les séries offertes et le RFG associé à chacune d’elles avant d’acheter.

Vous trouverez des renseignements importants sur le rendement, les risques et les coûts de votre fonds associés à la série choisie dans le document de renseignements sur le fonds. Prenez le temps d’examiner le document et assurez-vous de choisir un fonds commun de placement à moindre coût. Vérifiez vos frais dès maintenant