The E in ESG: Why more investors are weighing environmental criteria in their portfolios

These days you hear a lot about "ESG investing" or "ESG screening" in relation to burgeoning interest in Responsible Investing. 'ESG' stands for environmental, social and governance, and represents a range of issues that can have an impact on a company's performance and on shareholder value, for better or for worse.

Many investors, including a significant portion of institutional money managers, are assessing companies' ESG performance, along with more traditional financial metrics, as part of their portfolio-building strategy. One recent report indicates that USD22.9 trillion of assets is being professionally managed under Responsible Investing strategies worldwide, an amount which represents 26% of all professionally managed assets globally.1 Those investors see good ESG performance as a strong reflection of superior management quality.

This is the first of a three-part series looking at each of the ESG components, starting with environmental considerations. We'll focus on social and governance considerations in future articles.

Protecting the planet and profits

When investors look at environmental criteria, they're interested in how a company performs as a steward of the natural environment, in their direct operations and across their supply chain. Climate change, rising pollution levels and depletion of natural resources such as fresh water and forests are major concerns in today's society, and those issues represent tangible risks (and opportunities) for many companies.

A growing body of evidence shows that companies that embrace sustainability perform better financially than those that don't. In 2014, CDP, a top climate research provider for investors, surveyed S&P 500 corporations to assess how well they were integrating climate change risk management into strategic planning, taking action towards emissions reductions and demonstrating a long-term view of how to best manage the assets of shareholders. The survey received a 70 per cent response rate. The analysis showed that the top-quartile performers generated superior profitability, with ROE (return on equity) 18 per cent higher than low-scoring peers, and 67 per cent higher than non-responders. The best-performing companies also showed significantly lower earnings volatility, and better dividend growth.2

Including or excluding companies based on environmental performance

Investors who pay attention to ESG performance use both positive and negative screens to exclude or include companies in their portfolios.

Negative screens can be used to rule out companies whose environmental policies and practices expose them to unacceptable levels of risk. Companies that don't take appropriate steps to curtail pollution or to avoid environmental accidents can face government or regulatory sanctions, criminal prosecution, and reputational damage that can harm shareholder value. Companies that fail to adequately plan for future impacts of climate change may be less profitable as a result.

Positive screens are used to find the top-performing companies, weighing factors such as reducing energy consumption and greenhouse gas emissions, reducing other forms of waste, protecting natural habitats and finding business opportunities to be part of the solution to environmental challenges.

Take the example of mining or oil and gas companies, which often use a lot of energy to run their operations and discharge environmentally harmful chemicals and pollutants. Some investors may choose to avoid these companies altogether. Others may choose to invest in the ones that demonstrate a serious commitment to reducing energy and water use, reclaiming land used for resource extraction, and taking steps to participate in the transition to a lower-carbon economy.

Environmental performance can be assessed in other sectors as well, including technology, financial services and retail. An example from the Canadian retail sector is Loblaw Companies, which ranks among Canada's top energy users because of its extensive retail network and trucking fleet. Loblaw has a strategy to reduce its carbon footprint 20 per cent by 2020 and 30 per cent by 2030.3 Its action plan is focused on energy-efficient stores and distribution centres, fuel-efficient transportation, and managing refrigerants and organic waste diversion. For example, Loblaw has converted a number of its open-bunker refrigeration units to closed-door units, which has helped to lower its greenhouse gas emissions and energy usage and in turn reduced costs.

Loblaw is one of the companies held in the Responsible Investment funds and portfolios of Qtrade Investor's sister company, OceanRock Investments Inc. OceanRock has over 15 years' experience assessing companies' ESG performance for its Meritas SRI Funds. It also works proactively with companies like Loblaw to encourage them to address ESG risks.

"What we see is that when companies deliver environmental returns, that's good for shareholder value," says OceanRock CEO Fred Pinto. "Companies that effectively manage and mitigate their environmental impact are more efficient and productive. Companies with strong environmental policies and practices are also less likely to face consequences that can negatively impact shareholder value."

Resources for investors

If you are interested in discovering companies that are deemed to be leaders when it comes to environmental performance here are a few resources to check out:

  • CDP S&P 500 Climate Change Report, which scores S&P 500 companies on sustainability performance
    — Search "CDP S&P 500 Climate Change Report 2015: The mainstreaming of low-carbon on Wall Street"
  • CDP Climate Change Report 2015: Canada 200 Edition, which assesses Canadian companies on their greenhouse gas emissions and climate change strategies
    — Search "CDP Climate Change Report 2015 Canada 200 Edition"
  • S&P/TSX 60 Carbon Efficient Select Index, from S&P Dow Jones Indices, which measure the performance of companies in the S&P/TSX 60 while excluding companies with the largest relative carbon footprint
    http://ca.spindices.com/indices/equity/sp-tsx-60-carbon-efficient-select-index
  • S&P/TSX 60 Fossil Fuel Free Index, from S&P Dow Jones Indices, which measures the performance of companies in the S&P/TSX 60 that do not own fossil fuel reserves.
    http://ca.spindices.com/indices/equity/sp-tsx-60-fossil-fuel-free-index
  • S&P 500 Fossil Fuel Free Index, from S&P Dow Jones Indices, which measures the performance of companies in the S&P 500 that do not own fossil fuel reserves
    http://ca.spindices.com/indices/equity/sp-500-fossil-fuel-free-index
  • S&P 500 Carbon Efficient Select Index, from S&P Dow Jones Indices, which tracks the performance of the S&P 500, while significantly reducing the carbon footprint of the overall portfolio
    http://ca.spindices.com/indices/equity/sp-500-carbon-efficient-select-index
  • The Clean 200, a list of companies with solutions for the transition to a clean energy future, from Corporate Knights and the As You Sow Foundation.
    http://www.clean200.org
  • Dow Jones Sustainability Index, from S&P Dow Jones Indices and RobecoSAM, which includes companies based on ESG factors.
    www.robecosam.com/en/sustainability-insights/about-sustainability/corporate-sustainability-assessment/industry-group-leaders.jsp
  • The Top 10 Green Companies list from Newsweek
    www.newsweek.com/green/top-10-green-companies-world

 

  1. Global Sustainable Investment Alliance. "2016 Global Sustainable Investment Review."
  2. CDP. "Climate action and profitability: CDP S&P 500 Climate Change Report 2014."
  3. Loblaw Companies Limited. "Loblaw pledges 30 per cent carbon reduction by 2030," December 14, 2016.

Le « E » dans « ESG » : les raisons pour lesquelles de plus en plus d'investisseurs prennent en compte les critères environnementaux dans la gestion de leur portefeuille

Ces derniers temps, on entend souvent parler des concepts d'« investissement ESG » et d'« évaluation ESG » en raison de l'intérêt grandissant porté à l'investissement responsable. Le sigle « ESG » signifie « environnemental, social et de gouvernance », et représente un éventail d'enjeux pouvant avoir une incidence, positive ou négative, sur le rendement d'une entreprise et la valeur actionnariale.

De nombreux investisseurs, dont une grande partie est composée de gestionnaires de portefeuille institutionnels, évaluent la performance ESG des entreprises, en plus des données financières plus traditionnelles, dans le cadre de leur stratégie de constitution de portefeuille. Un récent rapport indique que des actifs totalisant 22,9 billions de dollars des États-Unis sont actuellement gérés par des professionnels aux quatre coins de la planète, selon des stratégies d'investissement responsable. Ce montant représente 26 % de tous les actifs mondiaux gérés par des professionnels1. Les investisseurs considèrent qu'une bonne performance ESG est un signe fort d'une gestion de portefeuille de haute qualité.

Le présent article est le premier d'une série de trois articles se penchant sur chacun des composants du sigle « ESG », et il porte sur les facteurs environnementaux. Les facteurs sociaux et de gouvernance seront abordés dans les articles à venir.

Protéger tant la planète que les profits

Lorsque les investisseurs évaluent les critères environnementaux, ils s'intéressent au rendement d'une entreprise en tant que protectrice du milieu naturel, tant dans le cadre de ses opérations directes que tout au long de la chaîne d'approvisionnement. Les changements climatiques, l'augmentation du degré de pollution et l'épuisement croissant des ressources naturelles, comme l'eau douce et les forêts, constituent des préoccupations majeures dans notre société actuelle, et ces enjeux représentent des risques concrets (et des occasions) pour de nombreuses entreprises.

Un nombre croissant de données probantes indique que les entreprises qui adoptent des principes de développement durable obtiennent un meilleur rendement financier que les autres. En 2014, CDP, l'un des principaux fournisseurs en recherche sur le climat pour les investisseurs, a réalisé un sondage auprès des entreprises du S&P 500 afin d'évaluer leur degré d'intégration de pratiques de gestion du risque relatif aux changements climatiques dans leur planification stratégique, leur prise de mesures pour réduire leurs émissions, et leur démonstration d'une vision à long terme de gestion exemplaire des actifs des actionnaires. Le taux de réponse au sondage était de 70 %. L'analyse des résultats a révélé que les entreprises se trouvant dans le premier quartile généraient une rentabilité supérieure, avec un rendement des capitaux propres 18 % plus élevé que leurs pairs moins performants, et 67 % plus élevé que celui des entreprises n'ayant pas répondu au sondage. Les entreprises les plus performantes présentaient également une volatilité des gains plus faible, ainsi qu'une croissance des dividendes plus élevée2.

Inclure ou exclure des entreprises selon leur performance environnementale

Les investisseurs qui s'intéressent à la performance ESG effectuent un filtrage positif et un filtrage négatif pour inclure ou exclure des entreprises de leurs portefeuilles.

Le filtrage négatif peut être utilisé pour éliminer des entreprises adoptant des politiques et des pratiques environnementales qui les exposent à un niveau de risque inacceptable. Les entreprises qui ne prennent pas les mesures appropriées pour freiner la pollution ou pour éviter les accidents écologiques s'exposent à des risques de sanctions gouvernementales ou réglementaires, de poursuite au criminel et d'atteinte à la réputation qui peuvent nuire à la valeur actionnariale. Par conséquent, les entreprises qui ne parviennent pas à planifier adéquatement l'incidence à long terme des changements climatiques peuvent s'avérer moins rentables.

Le filtrage positif est utilisé pour trouver les entreprises les plus performantes en tenant compte de facteurs tels que la réduction de la consommation d'énergie et des émissions de gaz à effet de serre, la réduction d'autres formes de gaspillage, la protection des habitats naturels, ainsi que la recherche d'occasions d'affaires afin de contribuer à la résolution des problématiques environnementales.

Prenons l'exemple des entreprises minières, pétrolières ou gazières, dont l'exploitation nécessite une grande quantité d'énergie et qui déversent des produits chimiques et des polluants nocifs pour l'environnement. Certains investisseurs choisissent d'éviter complètement ce type d'entreprises. D'autres décident parfois d'investir dans celles qui démontrent un engagement sérieux à réduire leur consommation d'énergie et d'eau, à réhabiliter les terrains utilisés pour l'extraction, et à prendre des mesures pour participer à la transition vers une économie à faibles émissions de carbone.

La performance environnementale peut être évaluée dans d'autres secteurs, comme la technologie, les services financiers et la vente au détail. Les Compagnies Loblaw représente bien le secteur canadien de la vente au détail. L'entreprise se classe parmi les plus grandes consommatrices d'énergie au Canada en raison de l'ampleur de son réseau de magasins et de son parc de camions. Loblaw a mis en place une stratégie visant à réduire son empreinte carbone de 20 % d'ici 2020 et de 30 % d'ici 20303. Son plan d'action vise à rendre ses magasins et ses centres de distribution écoénergétiques, à se doter de camions qui consomment moins de carburant, et à mieux gérer les fuites provenant de ses gaz réfrigérants de même que le réacheminement de ses matières résiduelles organiques. Par exemple, l'entreprise a converti un certain nombre de ses groupes frigorifiques ouverts en groupes frigorifiques fermés, ce qui lui a permis de réduire ses émissions de gaz à effet de serre et sa consommation d'énergie et, par conséquent, de réduire ses coûts.

Loblaw est l'une des entreprises faisant partie des fonds de placement et des portefeuilles responsables de l'entreprise sœur d'Investisseur Qtrade, Placements OceanRock Inc., qui a plus de 15 ans d'expérience dans l'évaluation de la performance ESG des entreprises pour ses Fonds d'investissement socialement responsable Meritas. Placements OceanRock Inc. collabore également de façon proactive avec des entreprises comme Loblaw pour les encourager à gérer les risques ESG.

« Nous observons que, lorsque les entreprises génèrent des gains écologiques, la valeur actionnariale y gagne également », affirme Fred Pinto, chef de la direction d'OceanRock. « Les entreprises qui gèrent et réduisent efficacement leur impact sur l'environnement sont plus rentables et productives. Celles qui appliquent des politiques et des pratiques environnementales solides sont également moins susceptibles de subir des conséquences pouvant nuire à la valeur actionnariale. »

Ressources pour les investisseurs

Si vous souhaitez découvrir les entreprises qui sont considérées comme des chefs de file en matière de performance environnementale, voici quelques ressources à consulter :

 

  1. Global Sustainable Investment Alliance. "2016 Global Sustainable Investment Review."
  2. CDP. "Climate action and profitability: CDP S&P 500 Climate Change Report 2014."
  3. Les Compagnies Loblaw limitée. « Loblaw s'engage à réduire ses émissions de carbone de 30 % d'ici 2030 »