The S in ESG: Why investors should care about a company's social impact

A growing number of investors are assessing companies based on environmental, social and governance (ESG) factors. ESG considerations can have both a positive and negative impact on a company's performance and on shareholder value. Studies show companies with a strong ESG performance are more likely to provide strong financial returns and reduce risk, especially when markets are volatile1.

This article is part of a three-part series looking at each of the ESG components. Here, we're looking at the social factors that are helping to create returns for investors, while at the same time strengthening organizations, families, communities and helping society meet some of its toughest challenges.

Socially responsible investing

When investors look at social criteria, they're interested in how a company manages its relationships with employees, suppliers, customers and in communities where it operates.

For example, investors may look at whether a company provides a safe and healthy working environment for its employees, or if it donates time, money or resources to give back to the communities where it operates.

Unsafe working conditions or a disregard for community or customer concerns are tangible risks for many companies. On the flip side, companies that treat employees well and give back to society are seen as less risky and can also benefit from higher productivity and an ability to attract top talent.

Research shows companies that are considered good corporate citizens perform better financially than those that don't. Consider a 2015 research review, conducted by the Investor Responsibility Research Center Institute (IRRCi) and two Harvard Law School professors, which found positive correlations between how companies manage workplace relationships and their financial performance2. A 2006 study from Oxford University and New York University showed a "link between financial and social performance." 3

Screening for social performance

Investors can screen for positive or negative social performance, as they would for environmental and governance factors. Negative screens can be used to rule out companies whose social policies and practices expose them to unacceptable levels of risk. An example is a company that faces labour unrest if its wages or hiring practices are considered to be unfair. Another example is a company that sources raw materials, such as cotton or cocoa, from suppliers or jurisdictions that violate human rights or child labour standards. Positive screens are used to find companies that perform well when it comes meeting international labour standards, as well as expectations for employee, customer and community relations. Examples include hiring local workers, offering competitive employee benefits, or helping communities tackle challenging social issues such as sustainable farming or affordable housing.

Impact Investing

Impact Investing is a fast-growing component of Responsible Investing. Impact investments are made into companies, organizations or funds with the intention to generate financial returns, as well as measurable and beneficial social or environmental impacts. Until now, most of the Impact Investing opportunities have been geared towards institutional investors, foundations and high net worth investors. However, there's a growing collaborative, international effort to speed up development of a market for Impact Investing that will be accessible to all investors.

Resources for investors

If you are interested in discovering companies that are deemed to be leaders when it comes to social performance, or in learning more about Impact Investing, here are a few resources to check out:

 

  1. "Canadian Responsible Investment Mutual Funds: Risk /Return Characteristics," Carleton Centre for Community Innovation, May 1, 2015. https://www.qtrade.ca/_pdfs/oceanrock/3CI_ORII_RI_Fund_Risk_Return_Analysis.pdf
  2. "The Materiality of Human Capital to Corporate Financial Performance," Investor Responsibility Research Center Institute (IRRCi) and Harvard Law School, April 2015. http://www.law.harvard.edu/programs/lwp/pensions/publications/FINAL%20Human%20Capital%20Materiality%20April%2023%202015.pdf
  3. "Beyond Dichotomy: The Curvilinear Relationship between Social Responsibility and Financial Performance," Oxford University and New York University, Strategic Management Joournal, 2006 http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.1002/smj.557/abstract

Le S dans ESG : pourquoi les investisseurs devraient-ils se soucier de l'impact social d'une entreprise?

Un nombre grandissant d'investisseurs évaluent les entreprises en fonction de facteurs environnementaux, sociaux et de gouvernance (ESG). Pris en compte, ces facteurs ESG peuvent avoir une incidence à la fois positive et négative sur le rendement d'une entreprise et sur sa valeur actionnariale. Des études ont démontré que les entreprises ayant un haut rendement ESG sont plus susceptibles de produire un rendement financier élevé et d'entraîner une réduction du risque, en particulier quand les marchés sont volatils1.

Le présent article fait partie d'une série de trois articles se penchant sur chacun des composants du sigle « ESG ». Aujourd'hui, nous nous concentrerons sur les facteurs sociaux qui contribuent à la production de bénéfices pour les investisseurs en consolidant les organisations, les familles et les communautés et en aidant la société à surmonter certains de ses plus redoutables défis.

Placements socialement responsables

Quand les investisseurs s'intéressent aux facteurs sociaux, ils s'intéressent à la façon dont une entreprise gère ses relations avec ses employés, ses fournisseurs, ses clients et les communautés dans lesquelles elle exerce ses activités.

Par exemple, les investisseurs pourraient vérifier si l'entreprise procure un environnement de travail sain et sécuritaire à ses employés ou si elle consacre du temps, de l'argent ou des ressources aux communautés dans lesquelles elle exerce ses activités.

Des conditions de travail dangereuses ou un manque de respect envers les préoccupations des communautés ou des clients constituent des risques tangibles pour plusieurs entreprises. En revanche, les entreprises qui traitent bien leurs employés et redonnent à la société sont considérées comme moins à risque et peuvent également bénéficier d'une productivité plus élevée et d'une capacité à attirer les meilleurs talents.

Les recherches ont démontré que les entreprises qui sont considérées comme socialement responsables obtiennent un meilleur rendement financier que les autres. Par exemple, un examen de diverses recherches mené en 2015 par deux professeurs de la faculté de droit de Harvard et le Investor Responsibility Research Center Institute (IRRCi) a révélé une corrélation positive entre la façon dont les entreprises gèrent les relations au travail et leur rendement financier2. Une étude réalisée en 2006 par l'Université d'Oxford et l'Université de New York a démontré un lien entre le rendement financier et social3.

Filtrage du rendement social

Les investisseurs peuvent effectuer un filtrage positif ou négatif du rendement social, comme ils le feraient pour les facteurs relatifs à l'environnement et à la gouvernance. Le filtrage négatif peut être utilisé pour éliminer des entreprises adoptant des politiques et des pratiques sociales qui les exposent à un niveau de risque inacceptable. Une entreprise qui fait face à un conflit de travail en raison de ses salaires ou de pratiques d'embauche considérées comme injustes en est un bon exemple. Une entreprise dont les matières premières, comme le coton ou le cacao, proviennent de fournisseurs ou de pays qui ne respectent pas les droits de la personne ou les normes sur le travail des enfants en est un autre exemple.

Le filtrage positif peut être utilisé pour trouver des entreprises qui affichent un grand respect des normes du travail internationales, des attentes des employés et des clients ainsi que des relations avec la communauté. Le recrutement d'employés locaux et l'offre d'avantages sociaux concurrentiels en sont de bons exemples, de même que l'implication dans la résolution d'importants défis sociaux, comme l'agriculture durable et la disponibilité de logements à loyer modéré.

Investissement d'impact

Dans le domaine des placements socialement responsables, l'investissement d'impact est en plein essor. Des investissements d'impact sont effectués dans les entreprises, les organisations ou les fonds dans l'intention de générer un rendement financier, mais aussi un impact environnemental ou social mesurable et positif. Jusqu'à présent, la plupart des occasions d'investissement d'impact étaient orientées vers les investisseurs institutionnels, les fondations et les investisseurs dont la valeur nette est élevée. Toutefois, on observe un effort collaboratif grandissant à l'échelle internationale visant à accélérer le développement d'un marché pour l'investissement d'impact qui sera accessible à tous les investisseurs.

Ressources pour les investisseurs

Si vous souhaitez découvrir les entreprises qui sont considérées comme des chefs de file en matière de rendement social ou en apprendre davantage sur l'investissement d'impact, voici quelques ressources à consulter :

 

  1. "Canadian Responsible Investment Mutual Funds: Risk /Return Characteristics," publié par le Carleton Centre for Community Innovation, le 1er mai 2015. https://www.qtrade.ca/_pdfs/oceanrock/3CI_ORII_RI_Fund_Risk_Return_Analysis.pdf
  2. "The Materiality of Human Capital to Corporate Financial Performance," publié par le Investor Responsibility Research Center Institute (IRRCi) et la faculté de droit de Harvard, avril http://www.law.harvard.edu/programs/lwp/pensions/publications/FINAL%20Human%20Capital%20Materiality%20April%2023%202015.pdf
  3. "Beyond Dichotomy: The Curvilinear Relationship between Social Responsibility and Financial Performance," publié par l'Université d'Oxford et l'Université de New York, Strategic Management Journal, 2006. http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.1002/smj.557/abstract