The G in ESG: Why governance matters to investors

Environmental, social and governance (ESG) factors are being used more and more by investors looking to assess the sustainability and risk profile of companies. ESG considerations can have both positive and negative impacts on a company's financial performance and on shareholder value. A growing body of research also points to a positive link between financial performance and strong corporate ESG policies and practices.1

This article is the last in a three-part series looking at each of the ESG components and how they help investors better manage risk and generate sustainable, long-term returns. Here, we're looking at how a company's governance structure, policies and procedures can help create value for investors and benefit society at the same time.

Good corporate governance promotes investor confidence

Governance covers a broad range of corporate activities including board and management structures as well as a company's policies, standards, information disclosure, auditing and compliance. For example, investors want to know that a company's accounting is both accurate and transparent and that its business practices are ethical. They also like to see policies that encourage shareholder engagement and to invest in companies with a board of directors that is both accountable and diverse.

Investors can screen for governance practices, as they would for environmental and social factors. Negative screens can be used to rule out companies whose governance policies and practices expose them to unacceptable levels of risk. It can be a company that is involved in legally or ethically questionable practices, or one that doesn't adequately address long-term risks to its business, such as the risks presented by climate change. Positive screens can be used to identify companies with strong and transparent governance policies and practices.

If you follow the markets, you'll find that corporate governance issues make headlines on a regular basis.

Volkswagen Group provided a lurid example of the negative consequences of poor governance in 2015, when it was revealed that the company had programmed 11 million diesel cars to cheat emissions tests. Volkswagen has paid billions in criminal and civil penalties related to the scandal and its stock price has yet to fully recover.

Executive compensation is an ongoing hot-button issue in corporate governance. Securities regulators in many countries, including the U.S. and the U.K. — but not Canada — require publicly traded companies to allow shareholders to vote on executive compensation packages at regular intervals. Recently, Norway's influential US$900 billion sovereign wealth fund announced it would focus on curbing excessively high executive salaries at companies in which it invests, arguing that certain compensation structures work against the long-term interest of shareholders.2

Gender diversity and gender equity are another high-profile governance issue, with many institutional shareholders demanding better representation of women on corporate boards and in executive ranks, and equal compensation and career promotion access for women. Research from Morgan Stanley shows that a better balance of men and women in the workplace can deliver returns with less volatility, making gender diversity profitable for companies and investors.3

Canada has a long way to go when it comes to advancing women in the workplace. Only 12 per cent of corporate board seats are held by women while 45 per cent of Canadian companies have all-male boards.4 And women working full time earn 74 cents for every dollar that full-time working men make, according to Statistics Canada.5

At the June 2017 annual meeting of Restaurant Brands International (RBI) — the parent of Tim Hortons and Burger King — independent shareholders strongly backed a shareholder proposal calling on the company to improve gender diversity on its board and in its executive ranks.

The resolution, which was tabled by Qtrade Investor's sister company OceanRock Investments Inc., received nearly 23% of the vote overall, but was supported by 64% of independent shareholders (RBI is majority owned by 3G Capital of Brazil).

The ESG advantage

More investors are seeing the connection between ESG performance, value creation, and risk reduction. It stands to reason that companies with strong ESG performance tend to be more efficient and less wasteful. They enjoy greater employee commitment and higher productivity. They are more respected and better able to build brand equity. All of that reduces operational and reputational risks.

Catch up on this series

In case you missed them, here are the 'E' and 'S' articles in this series:

The 'E' in ESG: Why investors are weighing environmental criteria in their portfolios
The 'S' in ESG: Why investors should care about a company's social impact

Resources for investors

If you are interested in discovering companies that are deemed to be leaders when it comes to ESG performance, here are a few resources to check out:

Jantzi Social Index, from Sustainalytics, is a socially screened stock index modeled on the S&P TSX 60, consisting of 50 companies that pass a broad set of ESG criteria.

Dow Jones Sustainability Index, from S&P Dow Jones Indices and RobecoSAM, which includes companies based on ESG factors.

2017 Global 100 Most Sustainable Corporations in the World index, from Corporate Knights

 

  1. Clark, G.L., Feiner, A., and M. Viehs. "From the Stockholder to the Stakeholder: How Sustainability Can Drive Financial Outperformance," 2014. SSEE Research Report sponsored by Arabesque Asset Management. This research examined more than 200 academic studies, industry reports, newspaper article and books. It found that 80% of the studies shows that stock price performance of companies is positively influenced by good sustainability practices.
  2. Hikael Holter and Sveinung Sleire, "Biggest Sovereign Wealth Fund Proposes to Curb CEO Bonus Plans," Bloomberg Markets, April 7, 2017. https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2017-04-07/norway-s-wealth-fund-proposes-to-rein-in-executive-pay-plans
  3. "Why It Pays to Invest in Gender Diversity," 2016. https://www.morganstanley.com/ideas/gender-diversity-investment-framework
  4. Ontario Securities Commission. "Regulators Release New Results on Women on Boards and in Executive Officer Positions," September 2016. http://www.osc.gov.on.ca/en/NewsEvents_nr_20160928_new-results-women-on-boards.htm
  5. Statistics Canada. "Women and Paid Work," March 2017. http://www.statcan.gc.ca/pub/89-503-x/2015001/article/14694-eng.htm

Le « G » dans « ESG » : Pourquoi la gouvernance importe-t-elle aux investisseurs?

Les facteurs environnementaux, sociaux et de gouvernance (ESG) sont de plus en plus utilisés par les investisseurs qui souhaitent évaluer la durabilité et le profil de risques d'entreprises. Les considérations d'ordre environnemental, social et de gouvernance peuvent influer de façon positive ou négative sur le rendement financier et la valeur actionnariale d'une entreprise. De plus en plus de recherches indiquent par ailleurs qu'il existe un lien étroit entre un bon rendement financier et des politiques et pratiques d'entreprise fortes sur le plan des facteurs ESG 1.

Le présent article est le dernier d'une série de trois qui examine chacun des composants du sigle ESG et les manières dont ils aident les investisseurs à mieux gérer les risques et à générer des bénéfices durables à long terme. Il y sera question de la manière dont la structure, les politiques et les procédures de gouvernance d'une entreprise peuvent à la fois à créer de la valeur pour les investisseurs et bénéficier à l'entreprise.

Une bonne gouvernance inspire confiance aux investisseurs

La gouvernance touche un vaste éventail d'activités d'entreprises, y compris les structures administratives et de gestion, les politiques, les normes, la divulgation d'informations, les contrôles et la conformité. Par exemple, les investisseurs cherchent à savoir si une entreprise a une comptabilité exacte et transparente et si elle adopte des pratiques éthiques. Ils aiment par ailleurs voir des politiques qui incitent la participation des actionnaires et investir dans des entreprises dont le conseil d'administration est responsable et diversifié.

Les investisseurs peuvent effectuer un filtrage pour la gouvernance, comme ils le feraient pour les facteurs environnementaux et sociaux. Le filtrage négatif peut être utilisé pour éliminer des entreprises adoptant des politiques et des pratiques de gouvernance qui les exposent à un niveau de risque inacceptable. Ce pourrait être le cas d'une entreprise aux pratiques douteuses sur le plan légal ou éthique, ou qui n'aborde pas intelligemment les risques à long terme pour son secteur, comme ceux que posent les changements climatiques. Le filtrage positif, quant à lui, peut servir à cibler les entreprises aux politiques et aux pratiques de gouvernance fortes et transparentes.

En suivant le marché, on remarque que les enjeux de gouvernance d'entreprise font souvent la une.

En 2015, le groupe Volkswagen a donné un exemple sordide des conséquences négatives d'une mauvaise gouvernance lorsqu'il a été révélé que l'entreprise avait programmé 11 millions de voitures diesel pour tromper les essais de contrôle des émissions. Volkswagen a dû payer des milliards de dollars en sanctions pénales et civiles et le cours de ses actions en souffre encore aujourd'hui.

La rémunération des cadres supérieurs constitue toujours un sujet controversé de gouvernance d'entreprise. Dans beaucoup de pays, dont aux États-Unis et au Royaume-Uni, mais pas au Canada, les organismes de réglementation des valeurs mobilières exigent que les sociétés ouvertes laissent régulièrement les actionnaires voter pour la rémunération des cadres supérieurs. Récemment, l'influent fonds souverain norvégien (qui atteint 900 milliards de dollars des États Unis) a annoncé qu'il chercherait à réduire les salaires excessivement élevés des cadres supérieurs d'entreprises bénéficiant de ses investissements, soutenant que certaines structures de rémunération nuisent, à long terme, aux intérêts des actionnaires 2.

Par ailleurs, la mixité et l'égalité des sexes sont d'autres enjeux importants de la gouvernance : beaucoup d'actionnaires institutionnels exigent que davantage de femmes siègent aux conseils d'administration et occupent des postes de haute direction, qu'elles bénéficient d'une rémunération équivalant à celle des hommes et d'autant d'accessibilité aux promotions. Une recherche de Morgan Stanley démontre qu'un meilleur équilibre entre les hommes et les femmes au travail peut générer davantage de bénéfices et moins de volatilité : la mixité serait donc profitable pour les entreprises et pour les investisseurs 3.

Le Canada a encore beaucoup de chemin à faire pour l'avancement des femmes sur le marché du travail. Seulement 12 % des postes de conseils d'administration au pays sont occupés par des femmes, et pas moins de 45 % des conseils sont composés exclusivement d'hommes 4. De plus, selon Statistique Canada, les femmes travaillant à temps plein gagnent en moyenne 74 sous pour chaque dollar que gagnent les hommes à temps plein 5.

En juin 2017, dans le cadre de l'assemblée annuelle de Restaurant Brands International (RBI), propriétaire de Tim Hortons et de Burger King, les actionnaires indépendants se sont montrés très favorables à une proposition appelant à une meilleure représentation des femmes au sein du conseil d'administration et de la haute direction de l'entreprise.

La résolution, présentée par Placements OceanRock Inc., une entreprise sœur d'Investisseur Qtrade, a reçu un appui de 23 % des votes totaux, mais de 64 % des investisseurs indépendants. Il est à noter que le principal actionnaire de RBI est la société brésilienne 3G Capital.

L'avantage des facteurs ESG

De plus en plus d'investisseurs établissent un lien entre la performance ESG, la création de valeur et la réduction des risques. Il est évident qu'une entreprise ayant une bonne performance ESG tend à être plus efficace et à moins gaspiller qu'une entreprise qui ne tient pas compte de ces facteurs. Ses employés s'investissent souvent davantage et se montrent plus productifs. L'entreprise bénéficie d'un plus grand respect et est plus à même d'augmenter la valeur de sa marque. Tous ces aspects réduisent les risques relatifs à l'exploitation et à la réputation.

Les autres volets de la série

Voici où consulter les autres articles de la série, qui traitent du « E » et du « S » du sigle « ESG ».

Le « E » dans « ESG »
Le « S » dans « ESG »

Ressources pour les investisseurs

Si vous souhaitez découvrir les entreprises qui sont considérées comme des chefs de file en matière de performance ESG, voici quelques ressources à consulter :

Jantzi Social Index, de Sustainalytics — indice boursier socialement responsable fondé sur le modèle du S&P TSX 60 et constitué de 50 entreprises qui répondent à une vaste gamme de critères ESG.

Indice de durabilité Dow Jones — inclusion d'entreprises selon les facteurs ESG, par S&P Dow Jones Indices et RobecoSAM. (en anglais seulement)

2017 Global 100 Most Sustainable Corporations in the World index, par Corporate Knights (en anglais seulement)

 

  1. Clark, G.L., A. Feiner et M. Viehs. « From the Stockholder to the Stakeholder : How Sustainability Can Drive Financial Outperformance », 2014. Rapport de recherche de la Smith School of Enterprise and the Environment, parrainé par Arabesque Asset Management. Dans le cadre de cette recherche, plus de 200 études universitaires, rapports d'industries, articles de journaux et livres ont été étudiés. Il a ainsi été déterminé que, dans 80 % des cas, les bonnes pratiques de durabilité avaient un effet positif sur le rendement des actions d'une entreprise.
  2. Holter, H. et S. Sleire. « Biggest Sovereign Wealth Fund Proposes to Curb CEO Bonus Plans », Bloomberg Markets, le 7 avril 2017. https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2017-04-07/norway-s-wealth-fund-proposes-to-rein-in-executive-pay-plans
  3. « Why It Pays to Invest in Gender Diversity », 2016. https://www.morganstanley.com/ideas/gender-diversity-investment-framework
  4. Commission des valeurs mobilières de l'Ontario. « Les autorités en valeurs mobilières publient de nouveaux résultats sur la représentation féminine au conseil d'administration et à la haute direction », septembre 2016.http://www.osc.gov.on.ca/fr/NewsEvents_nr_20160928_new-results-women-on-boards.htm
  5. Statistique Canada. « Les femmes et le travail rémunéré », mars 2017. http://www.statcan.gc.ca/pub/89-503-x/2015001/article/14694-fra.htm