ETF price war is good for cost-conscious investors

The ETF price war has been escalating to the point where some management fees are going as low as single-digit basis points. Two companies upped the stakes once more in August by launching ETFs with 0% direct management fees.

In Canada, Horizons launched its Conservative TRI ETF Portfolio and Balanced TRI ETF Portfolio, with no top-line management fees or operating costs.1 Both funds invest primarily in Horizons’ Total Return Index ETFs.  

In the US, Fidelity Investments launched its Zero Total Market Index Fund and Zero International Index Fund, both with 0% expense ratios. In their first month alone, these two funds attracted almost $1 billion in investment.2

However, are these zero-fee ETFs too good to be true? And are they right for your portfolio?

Low fees are good—if the shoe fits

There is no doubt that low fees are a good thing for investors. They allow you to keep more of your investment and grow your money faster.

However, when comparing ETFs, you should first consider whether they fit your investment strategy, in terms of asset allocation and risk profile. If you’re choosing between similar funds that meet your criteria, it usually makes sense to choose the lowest-cost option. In case you missed it, check out “How do you choose between similar-looking ETFs?

The fees to look out for: MER and trading fees

An ETF’s MER (management expense ratio) consists of its management fee and operating expenses. Check out the ETF’s factsheet which will show the MER as a percentage, in addition to information about the fund’s benchmark, assets, volatility, and objective.

ETFs are traded on stock exchanges and are therefore subject to trading fees. The good news is, though, that these fees are generally low with online brokerages.  

Qtrade Investor, for example, offers a list of 100 commission-free Canadian and US ETFs. The list includes a wide range of asset classes, countries, industry sectors, and capitalization sizes. These ETFs can help investors build a well-diversified portfolio to meet their objectives.

Remember to read the fine print

There is a catch to these “no-fee” ETFs. The Horizons ETFs are funds of funds. That is, each fund invests in several different index-tracking ETFs and, as such, is subject to the management fees of those underlying ETFs. In this case it’s a maximum of 0.18%. These funds use a total return swap,4 as they don’t own any securities directly, so they also have a maximum trading expense ratio of 0.2%.

And while Fidelity’s funds do both have 0% expense ratios, they’re only available to people who use Fidelity’s brokerage firm (so Canadians can’t buy them). Not to worry: there are still plenty of quality ETFs out there that charge nominal fees.

Are low or no-fee ETFs right for you?

When it comes to choosing ETFs, your first priority should be to determine the ones that fulfill your asset allocation strategy.

In any given asset category, there are likely to be great options at very low prices. Find the funds that complement your portfolio and then go with the cheapest option.

You can take a look at Qtrade’s wide range of commission-free ETFs here.

 

1 James Burton, “Horizons: No need to charge management fee.” Wealth Professional Canada, August 3, 2018. https://www.wealthprofessional.ca/news/etfs/horizons-no-need-to-charge-management-fee-246090.aspx (Accessed September 10, 2018).

2 Charles Stein, “Fidelity zero-fee funds lure about $1 billion in first month.” Bloomberg, September 4, 2018. https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2018-09-04/fidelity-zero-fee-funds-attract-almost-1-billion-in-first-month (Accessed September 10, 2018).

3 “100 commission-free ETFs.” Qtrade Investor. https://www.qtrade.ca/en/investor/pricing/free-etfs.html

4 Bryan Borzykowski, “Are no-fee ETFs really free?” Money Sense, September 4, 2018. https://www.moneysense.ca/save/are-no-fee-etfs-really-free/ (Accessed September 10, 2018).

La course à la diminution des frais liés aux FNB est bénéfique pour les investisseurs soucieux des coûts

La course à la diminution des frais liés aux FNB est bénéfique pour les investisseurs soucieux des coûts

La course à la diminution des frais associés aux FNB est de plus en plus féroce, au point où certains frais de gestion ont atteint les points de base à un seul chiffre. En août, deux entreprises ont établi un nouveau standard en lançant des FNB aux frais de gestion à 0 %.

Horizons a lancé au Canada ses portefeuilles conservateur et équilibré Horizons FNB à indice de rendement total, tous deux sans frais de gestion ni de transaction1. Ils investissent principalement dans les FNB à indice de rendement total d’Horizons.

Fidelity Investments a lancé aux États-Unis deux fonds au ratio annuel de frais de 0 %, le Zero Total Market Index Fund et le Zero International Index Fund. En un seul mois, un milliard de dollars ont été investis dans ces fonds2.

Ces offres cachent-elles quelque chose? Conviennent-elles à votre portefeuille?

Des fonds à faibles frais sont intéressants seulement s’ils sont adéquats

Il est évident que de faibles frais sont avantageux pour les investisseurs. Ils permettent d’investir davantage et de faire fructifier l’argent plus rapidement.

Lorsque vous comparez les FNB, vous devriez toujours vous assurer qu’ils sont indiqués pour votre stratégie de placement, c’est-à-dire pour votre répartition d’actifs et pour votre profil de risques. Si vous devez choisir entre deux fonds similaires qui correspondent à vos besoins, il est normal de choisir celui qui coûte le moins cher. [Au cas où vous l’auriez raté, consultez notre article « Comment faire son choix parmi des FNB au profil similaire? »

Les frais à prendre en compte sont : le ratio des frais de gestion et les frais de négociation

Le ratio des frais de gestion (RFG) d’un FNB est calculé à partir des frais de gestion et des frais d’exploitation. Consultez la fiche de renseignements d’un FNB pour connaître le pourcentage du RFG et d’autres renseignements au sujet du point de référence, des actifs, de la volatilité et des objectifs du fond.

Des frais de négociation s’appliquent aux FNB, car ils sont négociés sur les marchés boursiers. Heureusement, ces frais sont habituellement peu élevés chez les courtiers en ligne.

Par exemple, au Canada et aux États‑Unis, Investisseur Qtrade offre 100 FNB sans commission. La liste d’options comprend une vaste gamme de classes d’actifs, de régions, de secteurs d’activité et de capitalisations boursières. Les investisseurs peuvent ainsi créer un portefeuille diversifié qui leur permet d’atteindre leurs objectifs.

Les petits caractères sont importants

Ces FNB ne sont pas réellement sans frais. Les FNB d’Horizons sont des fonds de fonds. Cela signifie que chaque fonds investit dans plusieurs fonds indiciels. Il est donc sujet aux frais de gestion de ces autres FNB. Les frais sont au plus de 0,18 % dans un pareil cas. Ces fonds se servent d’un dérivé d’un swap sur le rendement total4, car ils ne détiennent aucune valeur mobilière directe. Le ratio des frais de négociation est au plus de 0,2 %.

Les deux fonds à 0 % de Fidelity Investments ne sont offerts qu’aux clients de sa maison de courtage. Les Canadiens n’y ont donc pas accès. Ce n’est pas grave : plusieurs autres FNB de qualité sur le marché facturent des frais minimes.

Les FNB à faibles frais ou sans frais sont-ils pour vous?

Au moment de choisir des FNB, vous devez d’abord déterminer lesquels conviennent à votre stratégie de répartition d’actifs.

Plusieurs options à faible prix sont offertes dans chaque catégorie d’actifs. Trouvez d’abord les fonds qui s’harmonisent à votre portefeuille, puis choisissez les moins dispendieux.

Vous pouvez consulter le vaste éventail de FNB sans commission de Qtrade ici.

 

1 James Burton, « Horizons: No need to charge management fee » (en ligne), Wealth Professional Canada, 3 août 2018 (consulté le 10 septembre 2018). Sur Internet : <https://www.wealthprofessional.ca/news/etfs/horizons-no-need-to-charge-management-fee-246090.aspx>.

2 Charles Stein, « Fidelity zero-fee funds lure about $1 billion in first month » (en ligne), Bloomberg, 4 septembre 2018 (consulté le 10 septembre 2018). Sur Internet : <https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2018-09-04/fidelity-zero-fee-funds-attract-almost-1-billion-in-first-month>.

3 « 100 commission-free ETFs » (en ligne), Qtrade Investor. Sur Internet : <https://www.qtrade.ca/fr/investor/pricing/free-etfs.html>.

4 Bryan Borzykowski, « Are no-fee ETFs really free? » (en ligne), Money Sense, 4 septembre 2018 (consulté le 10 septembre 2018). Sur Internet : <https://www.moneysense.ca/save/are-no-fee-etfs-really-free/>.