Responsible Investing has never been easier

More investors are looking for ways to grow their money, while also making a positive impact on the world around them.

Responsible Investing (RI) means putting money into companies with strong environmental, social and governance (ESG) commitments, which includes everything from reducing energy and waste to supporting workplace diversity and human rights.

RI interest is growing

In Canada, more than $1.5 trillion was managed using one or more RI strategies in 2015, according to newly released data from the Responsible Investment Association (RIA). That's a 50-per-cent increase from 20131. Globally, the number is about US$60 trillion2.

Interest in RI investing is also broadening. A recent Ipsos Reid survey, produced by the RIA and commissioned by OceanRock Investments Inc., found that half of all Canadian investors believe it's important to consider ESG factors within investment decisions, while 60 per cent feel RI will become even more important in the next five years. (The number jumps to 82 per cent among Millennials).3

RI is widely accepted as a smart approach to investing. A growing body of research shows companies with strong ESG policies and practices also deliver competitive returns.4 Research commissioned in 2015 by OceanRock revealed that RI mutual funds not only provide better returns, but also reduced volatility, lower risk, and more downside protection compared to non-RI funds.5

More investments choices

Growing interest in RI has led to more investment options. There is a range of products on the market today, from individual stocks with a solid ESG performance to RI-focussed mutual funds and ETFs, as well as so-called "green bonds" created to fund projects with positive environmental benefits.

For investors interested in mutual funds, the RIA's website (www.riacanada.ca) provides a list of companies that support RI, including OceanRock's Meritas SRI Funds, as well as financial institutions and advisers who are knowledgeable about RI options.

ETF investors can buy the iShares Jantzi Social Index ETF (ticker "XEN" on the Toronto Stock Exchange), which is a group of Canadian stocks including some of Canada's biggest banks, railways and energy companies considered to have a strong ESG performance. Those interested in investing outside of Canada will find a wider range of RI-focussed ETFs such as the iShares MSCI ACWI Low Carbon Target ETF (ticker "CRBN" on the New York Stock Exchange), or the PowerShares Cleantech Portfolio (ticker "PZD" on the New York Stock Exchange).

For investors looking for individual stocks considered to be good RI investments, there are several lists that rank companies based on ESG performance. Examples include the Global 100 Most Sustainable Corporations in the World index, put out each year by Corporate Knights.6 Investors might also consider constituents on the Dow Jones Sustainability Index, which tracks sustainability-driven companies based on ESG factors.7

Investors can also do their own homework on a particular company's ESG practices by looking through its financial documents. These can often be found on the investor section of a company's website, or on Sedar.com. Many companies also publish a separate corporate sustainability report that outlines their ESG performance and targets.

RI comes down to personal choice

For investors, the appropriate RI stocks or funds to buy often comes down to personal perspective and outlook. For some investors, that might mean excluding oil and gas companies, for example, because of their higher environmental footprint. Others may choose instead to invest in an energy company that is considered "best in class" in the industry based on its ESG performance.

Regardless of the approach, RI overall continues to gain momentum among investors who want their money to work for them, and others.

Disclaimer:
The ETFs named are provided for illustration purposes only and are not intended as investment advice or a solicitation to buy or sell.


  1. "2016 Canadian Responsible Investment Trends Report," Responsible Investment Association, https://riacanada.ca/trendsreport
  2. UN Principles for Responsible Investment https://www.unpri.org/about
  3. "Millennials, Women, and the Future of Responsible Investing," Responsible Investment Association (April, 2106) https://riacanada.ca/millennials-women/
  4. "From the Stockholder to the Stakeholder: How Sustainability Can Drive Financial Outperformance," Smith School of Enterprise and the Environment, Oxford University and Arabesque Partners, March 2015. http://www.arabesque.com/index.php?tt_down=51e2de00a30f88872897824d3e211b11
  5. "Canadian Responsible Investment Mutual Funds: Risk /Return Characteristics," Carleton Centre for Community Innovation, May 1, 2015. https://www.qtrade.ca/_pdfs/oceanrock/3CI_ORII_RI_Fund_Risk_Return_Analysis.pdf
  6. "Global 100 Most Sustainable Corporations in the World Ranking," Corporate Knights http://www.corporateknights.com/magazines/2017-global-100-issue/2017-global-100-results-14846083/
  7. "Industry Group Leaders," Dow Jones Sustainability Index http://www.robecosam.com/en/sustainability-insights/about-sustainability/corporate-sustainability-assessment/industry-group-leaders.jsp

Les investissements responsables n'auront jamais été aussi accessibles

De plus en plus d'investisseurs sont à la recherche de solutions qui feront fructifier leur argent tout en protégeant l'environnement.

Les investissements responsables (IR) consistent à placer votre argent dans des compagnies ayant de forts engagements environnementaux, sociaux et de gouvernance (ESG), allant de la réduction de leur consommation énergétique et de leurs déchets à la promotion de la diversité et des droits de la personne en milieu de travail.

Les IR gagnent en popularité

En 2015 au Canada, plus de 1,5 T$ a été géré à l'aide d'une ou de plusieurs stratégies d'IR, selon les plus récentes données de l'Association pour l'investissement responsable (AIR); il s'agit là d'une hausse de 50 % depuis 20131. À l'échelle internationale, la somme s'élève à environ 60 T$ américains2.

L'intérêt pour les IR prend également de l'ampleur. Un récent sondage – mené par Ipsos Reid, produit par l'AIR et mandaté par Placements OceanRock Inc – révèle que la moitié des investisseurs canadiens accordent de l'importance aux facteurs ESG dans leur choix d'investissements, et que 60 % croient que les IR gagneront en importance dans les cinq prochaines années. (Du côté de la génération Y, ce nombre grimpe à 82 %3.)

Les IR sont largement acceptés comme une approche judicieuse en matière d'investissements. De plus en plus d'études démontrent que les compagnies qui font la promotion de fortes politiques et pratiques ESG offrent également un rendement compétitif4. Une étude mandatée par OceanRock en 2015 a révélé qu'en plus d'offrir un meilleur rendement, les fonds communs de placement responsables minimisent la volatilité et le risque et garantissent plus de protection contre le risque de chute que les fonds non responsables5.

Un plus vaste choix d'investissements

Cet intérêt grandissant pour les IR a donné naissance à de nouvelles options d'investissement. On trouve aujourd'hui toute une gamme de produits sur le marché, des actions individuelles à haut rendement ESG aux fonds communs de placement et fonds négociés en bourse (FNB) responsables, sans oublier les « obligations vertes », dont le but est de financer des projets qui contribuent au bien-être de l'environnement.

Pour les investisseurs qui seraient intéressés par les fonds communs de placement, le site Web de l'AIR (www.riacanada.ca/?lang=fr) présente une liste des compagnies qui offrent des IR, comme le Fonds d'investissement socialement responsable Meritas d'OceanRock, ainsi que des établissements financiers et des conseillers spécialistes en IR.

Les investisseurs en FNB peuvent acheter le FNB iShares Jantzi Social Index (nommé « XEN » à la Bourse de Toronto), un groupe d'actions canadiennes comprenant quelques-unes des plus grandes banques, compagnies de chemins de fer et sociétés énergétiques canadiennes, toutes considérées comme étant très performantes en ESG. Ceux qui aimeraient plutôt investir hors du Canada trouveront une vaste gamme de FNB responsables, notamment le FNB iShares MSCI IMTP Low Carbon Target (« CRBN » à la New York Stock Exchange), ou le portefeuille PowerShares Cleantech (« PZD » à la New York Stock Exchange).

Pour les investisseurs cherchant des actions individuelles considérées comme responsables, il existe de nombreuses listes où les compagnies sont classées selon leur rendement ESG. À titre d'exemple, le magazine Corporate Knights publie chaque année une liste des 100 entreprises les plus engagées au monde en matière de développement durable6. Les investisseurs peuvent également se tourner vers les sociétés faisant partie de l'indice de durabilité Dow Jones, qui s'intéresse à des compagnies axées sur le développement durable, d'après des facteurs ESG7.

Les investisseurs peuvent aussi faire leurs propres recherches sur les pratiques ESG d'une entreprise en particulier en jetant un œil à ses documents financiers, lesquels sont souvent accessibles sur le site Web de l'entreprise, dans la section des investisseurs, ou au www.sedar.com. De nombreuses compagnies publient également un rapport distinct de durabilité où sont présentés leur rendement et leurs cibles ESG.

Les IR relèvent d'un choix personnel

Il en revient souvent aux attentes personnelles et à la vision de chaque investisseur en ce qui concerne l'achat d'actions ou de fonds responsables. Pour certains, un investissement responsable écartera les sociétés pétrolières ou gazières, par exemple, à cause de leur importante empreinte écologique. Pour d'autres, il peut être plus intéressant d'investir dans une société énergétique qui se démarque des autres par son rendement ESG.

Quelle que soit l'approche, le concept global des IR continue de gagner en visibilité auprès des investisseurs voulant que leur argent travaille pour eux, entre autres.

Source : AIR. Rapport de tendances de l'investissement responsable canadien de 2016.

Avis de non-responsabilité :
Les FNB cités dans cet article le sont uniquement à titre d'exemple et ne constituent en aucun cas une recommandation ou une sollicitation à vendre ou à acheter.


  1. Association pour l'investissement responsable. Rapport de tendances de l'investissement responsable canadien de 2016. https://riacanada.ca/french-trends-report/?lang=fr
  2. Principes pour l'investissement responsable des Nations Unies. https://www.unpri.org/about
  3. Association pour l'investissement responsable (avril 2016). Les Milléniums, les femmes et l'avenir de l'investissement responsable. https://riacanada.ca/les-milleniums-les-femmes/?lang=fr
  4. Smith School of Enterprise and the Environment, Université d'Oxford et Arabesque Partners (mars 2015). From the Stockholder to the Stakeholder : How Sustainability Can Drive Financial Outperformance. http://www.arabesque.com/index.php?tt_down=51e2de00a30f88872897824d3e211b11
  5. Carleton Centre for Community Innovation (1er mai 2015). Canadian Responsible Investment Mutual Funds : Risk/Return Characteristics. https://www.qtrade.ca/_pdfs/oceanrock/3CI_ORII_RI_Fund_Risk_Return_Analysis.pdf
  6. Corporate Knights. Global 100 Most Sustainable Corporations in the World Ranking http://www.corporateknights.com/magazines/2017-global-100-issue/2017-global-100-results-14846083/
  7. Indice de durabilité Dow Jones. Industry Group Leaders. http://www.robecosam.com/en/sustainability-insights/about-sustainability/corporate-sustainability-assessment/industry-group-leaders.jsp