Weekly Market Pulse - Week ending June 19, 2020

Market developments

Equities:

Equities ended the week higher on the back of improving economic data. Evidence of a U.S. recovery is starting to present itself. U.S. manufacturing surveys were upbeat, pointing to a turnaround. May retail sales in the U.S. and Canada show consumer spending returning. Economic data in China continues to point towards a recovery. All the while, COVID- 19 cases are re-emerging. The S&P 500 rose 1.86%. The S&P/TSX Composite rose 1.43%.

Fixed income:

Bond yields were unchanged as strong economic data was negated by worries of a resurgence of cases. The U.S. Treasury 10-year yield fell 1 basis point ending the week at 0.69%. The Government of Canada 10-year yield ended the week flat at 0.54%.

Commodities:

Oil prices rose 8.74% on signs that demand is recovering. Gold and copper rose 0.76 and 0.25%. 


Performance (price return)

Performance - Price return

As of June 19, 2020


Macro developments

Canada – Manufacturing and retail sales slump; CPI rises

Manufacturing sales fell a record 28.5% in April, following a 9.8% drop in March. April was the first full month of social distancing measures in Canada. Sales fell in all 21 industries and 85.2% of respondents reported that activities were impacted by the virus. The largest drops were in transportation equipment, which fell 76.4% due to every Canadian motor vehicle assembly plant ceasing operations, and petroleum and coal products, due to falling prices in response to reduced demand. Capacity utilization also fell to 55.9% in April from 72.3% in March. Statistics Canada noted that many firms resumed operations in April after restrictions eased.

Retail sales dropped another 26.4% in April, following the 10.0% fall in March. Statistics Canada noted that one third of respondents were closed during April as social distancing measures have hit retailers hard, with sales down in all 11 subsectors. The largest decreases were in motor vehicle and parts dealers, food and beverage stores, and gasoline stations. StatsCan also reported that retail e-commerce sales soared 120.3% compared to April of last year and accounted for 9.5% of total retail trade. Retail sales are expected to pick up again in May as social distancing restrictions ease with Statistics Canada providing a preliminary May estimate of a 19.1% increase.

CPI rose 0.3% in May, from a 0.7% decrease in April. The reading was highly influenced by energy prices, which rose 6.8% due to a 16.9% increase in gasoline prices. Excluding gasoline, CPI fell 0.1% weighed by falling prices in shelter, household operations and furnishings, and apparel.

U.S. – Manufacturing surveys point to a turnaround; Retail sales recover strongly; Industrial production increases; Initial jobless claims disappoint

The Empire State Manufacturing General Conditions Index recovered to -0.2 in June from -48.5 in May. The reading indicates that business activity has stabilized after three months of deterioration. Demand was unchanged as shipments, new orders, delivery times, and inventories were little changed. Employment continues to lag, with employment levels and average workweeks showing a slight decline. Future expectations however rose to the highest level in over a decade as firms expect to recall staff to work and future orders to increase as the economy gradually reopens.

The Philadelphia Fed Manufacturing Current General Activity Index rose to 27.5 in June from -43.1 reflecting a strong recovery in business conditions, with many firms reporting increases in new orders and shipments. Once again, employment continues to lag as firms continue to report a slight decrease in employment. Future general activity expectations rose to the highest level in nearly 30 years as 75% of firms expect increases in activity in the next six months.

The advance estimate for retail sales bounced 17.7% in May following a cumulative 22.7% decrease in the previous two months. The reading surprised markets as consensus was for an increase of only 8.4% and indicates that consumer spending may be returning faster than markets had anticipated. Sales rose in all 13 major industry groups. Motor vehicle and parts sales jumped 44.1% accounting for approximately half of the increase. Other notable increases include clothing, furniture, and eating and drinking where sales rose 188.0%, 89.7%, and 29.1%, respectively. The shift to digital sales has been very apparent as non-store retail sales are up 30.8% from May 2019.

Industrial production rose 1.4% in May, following a 12.5% drop in April, as factories started resuming operations. Most major market groups reported increases with motor vehicles and parts posting the largest. Capacity utilization also increased to 64.8% from 64.0%. Total production is still 15.4% below pre-pandemic levels seen in February and capacity utilization remains 15.0% below the 1972-2019 long-term average.

Weekly initial jobless claims registered 1.5M for the week ending June 12, only posting a 58K decrease from the prior week. The reading came out on the higher end of expectations as markets were anticipating 1.3M initial claims as states reopen and hints to a longer and uneven recovery. Markets continue to closely monitor weekly claims as a proxy for economic activity.

International – China industrial production and retail sales rise; ZEW reflects increased optimism; Bank of Japan expands lending program; Bank of England increases asset purchases

China industrial production rose 1.53% in May, or 4.4% compared to the same period last year. The reading reflects the quick turnaround of the Chinese economy as it gradually climbs out of the coronavirus induced recession. Consumer demand continues to be sluggish. Retail sales rose 0.79% in May but are still 2.8% lower when compared to May of last year.

The German ZEW survey continues to show increased confidence. The Current Economic Situation Index remains extremely low at -83.1, from -93.5 in May, while the Indicator of Economic Sentiment Index improved significantly to 63.4 from 21.3, on increased optimism of a turnaround. Financial market experts “continue to expect only a slow increase in economic value” during the recovery in the second half of this year.

The Bank of Japan left key rates unchanged and said interest rates are likely to remain low into 2023. Asset purchases were also left unchanged, but the lending program for companies affected by COVID-19 was increased by 35T yen to 110T yen.

The Bank of England maintained rates at 0.1% and voted in favor of increasing asset purchases by an additional 100B pounds bringing the total to 745B pounds. Overall, effects of the coronavirus in Q2 will likely be less severe than the central bank had anticipated. Signs of a recovery are presenting themselves but “it is difficult to make a clear inference from that about the recovery thereafter.” 


Quick look ahead

Canada – New BoC Governor Tiff Macklem’s first speech (June 22)

There are no major economic data releases this week for Canada, however the new Bank of Canada Governor Tiff Macklem will give his first speech.

U.S. – Markit PMI (June 23); Durable goods orders (June 25); Personal income and spending (June 26)

The June Markit PMIs for the manufacturing and service sectors will provide insight into the changes in business activity. On Thursday, May durable goods orders are reported with consensus expecting them to rise 10.3% in May from a 17.7% drop in April. Durable goods orders are a forward-looking indicator which show firms’ investment in capital goods, an important component of GDP. Lastly, May personal income and spending are reported Friday, where income is expected to fall 6.0% while spending is expected to rise 8.8%.

International – Eurozone Markit PMI (June 23); German IFO Survey (June 24); ECB minutes (June 25); Chinese industrial profits (June 27)

On Tuesday, the euro-area reports June PMIs which are expected to continue their rebound from the record lows in April. A reading over 50 is expansionary and below is contractionary; last month the composite PMI was 31.9 and consensus expects it to reach 41.7. Another leading indicator is the Germany IFO business survey, which is also expected to rise in June to 85.0 from 79.5 in May.

On Thursday, the minutes from the European Central Bank’s June meeting will be released and analyzed for additional details regarding the expansion of its Pandemic Emergency Purchase Programme. In China, industrial profits for May will be reported as investors try to gauge the impact the virus has had on company earnings and whether profits continue to recover from the record fall of 34.9% in March. 

Aviso Wealth Inc. (“Aviso Wealth”) is the parent company of Credential Qtrade Securities Inc. Aviso Wealth is a wholly-owned subsidiary of Aviso Wealth Limited Partnership, which in turn is owned 50% by Desjardins Financial Holdings Inc. and 50% by a limited partnership owned by the five Provincial Credit Union Centrals and the CUMIS Group Limited.

Online brokerage services are offered through Qtrade Investor, a division of Credential Qtrade Securities Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Aviso Wealth Inc. and Member of the Canadian Investor Protection Fund.

Northwest & Ethical Investments L.P (“NEI” or “NEI Investments”) is a subsidiary of Aviso Wealth; and NEI Funds are related issuers of Credential Qtrade Securities Inc.

This material is for informational purposes only. While this material has been compiled from sources believed to be reliable, Qtrade Investor does not guarantee the accuracy, completeness, timeliness or reliability of this information. Information, figures and charts are summarized for illustrative purposes only and are subject to change without notice. All investments are subject to risk, including the possible loss of principal.

Pouls hebdomadaire du marché - Semaine se terminant le 19 juin 2020

Développements du marché

Actions

Le cours des actions a terminé la semaine en hausse en raison de l'amélioration des données économiques. La preuve d'une reprise économique américaine commence à se présenter. Les indicateurs du secteur manufacturier américain étaient optimistes, indiquant un revirement.  Les ventes au détail du mois de mai aux États-Unis et au Canada affichent un retour des dépenses de consommation. Les données économiques en Chine continuent de pointer en direction d’une reprise. Pendant ce temps, les cas de COVID- 19 commencent à réapparaitre. L’indice S&P 500 a augmenté de 1,86 %. L’indice composé S&P/TSX a augmenté de 1,43%.

Revenu fixe

Les rendements des obligations ont été inchangés, car les fortes données économiques ont été annulées par les inquiétudes suscitées par la résurgence des cas. Le rendement sur 10 ans de l’obligation du Trésor américain a reculé de 1 point de base, terminant la semaine à 0,69 %. Le rendement sur 10 ans des obligations du gouvernement du Canada est demeuré stable, terminant la semaine à 0.54 %.

Marchandises

Les cours du pétrole ont augmenté de 8,74 % en raison de la présence de signes qui montrent que la demande se redresse. Les cours de l’or et du cuivre ont augmenté de 0,76 % et 0,25 %.


Performance (rendement des cours)

Performance (rendement des cours)

En date du 19 juin 2020


Développements macroéconomiques

Canada – Chute des ventes au détail et du secteur de la fabrication; hausse de l'IPC

Les ventes du secteur de la fabrication ont chuté de 28,5 % en avril, après une baisse de 9,8 % en mars. Avril était le premier mois complet de l’application des mesures de distanciation sociale au Canada. Les ventes ont chuté dans les 21 industries et 85,2 % des répondants ont indiqué que leurs activités étaient touchées par le virus. Les baisses les plus importantes se sont produites dans le secteur de l’équipement de transport, qui a diminué de 76,4 % en raison de la cessation des activités de chaque usine canadienne d'assemblage de véhicules automobiles, et dans les produits du pétrole et du charbon, à cause de la baisse des cours en réponse à la baisse de la demande. L'utilisation de la capacité a également baissé à 55,9 % en avril, contre 72,3 % en mars. Selon Statistique Canada, de nombreuses entreprises ont repris leurs activités en avril après l’assouplissement des restrictions.

Les ventes au détail ont chuté d’un autre 26,4 % en avril, après une baisse de 10,0 % en mars. Statistique Canada a noté qu'un tiers des répondants était fermé en avril, car les mesures de distanciation sociale ont durement frappé les détaillants, avec des ventes en baisse dans les 11 sous-secteurs. Les plus importantes baisses ont été enregistrées chez les concessionnaires de véhicules automobiles et de pièces, les magasins d’alimentation et de boissons et les postes d’essence. Statistique Canada a également signalé que les ventes au détail du commerce électronique ont grimpé de 120,3 % par rapport au mois d’avril de l'année dernière et qu’elles représentaient 9,5 % du commerce de détail total. On s'attend à ce que les ventes au détail reprennent en mai avec l’assouplissement des mesures de distanciation sociale et Statistique Canada fournit une estimation préliminaire de 19,1% d’augmentation en mai.

L'IPC a augmenté de 0,3 % en mai, par rapport à une baisse de 0,7 % en avril. La lecture a été fortement influencée par les prix de l'énergie, qui ont augmenté de 6,8 % en raison d'une augmentation de 16,9 % des prix de l'essence. En excluant l'essence, l'IPC a chuté de 0,1 % en fonction de la baisse des prix dans les secteurs de l'immobilier, des ménages, de l'ameublement et des vêtements.

États-Unis – Les indicateurs du secteur manufacturier indiquent un redressement; les ventes au détail se rétablissent fortement; la production industrielle augmente; le nombre de nouvelles demandes de chômage déçoit

L'indice manufacturier « Empire State Manufacturing General Conditions Index » est passé de -48,5 en mai à -0,2 en juin. La lecture indique que l'activité commerciale s'est stabilisée après trois mois de détérioration. La demande n'a pas changé, car les expéditions, les nouvelles commandes, les délais de livraison et les stocks ont peu changé. L'emploi continue d’accuser du retard, les niveaux d'emploi et la moyenne des semaines de travail affichant une légère baisse. Les attentes futures ont toutefois atteint le niveau le plus élevé en plus d'une décennie, car les entreprises s'attendent à rappeler le personnel au travail et à ce que les commandes à vernir augmentent au rythme de la réouverture de l'économie.

L'indice « Philadelphia Fed Manufacturing Current General Activity Index » est passé de -43,1 à 27,5 en juin, reflétant une forte reprise des conditions commerciales, avec de nombreuses entreprises signalant une augmentation des nouvelles commandes et des expéditions Une fois de plus, l'emploi continue d'accuser un retard, car les entreprises continuent de signaler une légère baisse de l'emploi. Les attentes futures en matière d'activité générale ont atteint le niveau le plus élevé en près de 30 ans, car 75 % des entreprises s'attendent à des augmentations de leurs activités au cours des six prochains mois.

L'estimation anticipée des ventes au détail a bondi de 17,7 % en mai, après une baisse cumulative de 22,7 % au cours des deux mois précédents. La lecture a surpris les marchés puisque le consensus prévoyait une augmentation de seulement 8,4 % et elle indique que les dépenses de consommation pourraient revenir plus rapidement que prévu par les marchés. Les ventes ont augmenté dans les 13 principaux groupes industriels. Les ventes de véhicules automobiles et de pièces ont bondi de 44,1 %, ce qui représente environ la moitié de l'augmentation. Parmi les autres augmentations notables figurent les vêtements, les meubles et les repas et boissons, où les ventes ont augmenté respectivement de 188,0 %, 89,7 % et 29,1 %. Le passage aux ventes numériques a été très évident, car les ventes au détail hors magasin ont augmenté de 30,8 % par rapport à mai 2019.

La production industrielle a augmenté de 1,4 % en mai, après une baisse de 12,5 % en avril, lorsque les usines ont commencé à reprendre leurs activités. La plupart des principaux groupes de marché ont signalé des augmentations avec les véhicules automobiles et les pièces affichant le plus grand nombre. L'utilisation de la capacité a également augmenté pour passer de 64,0 % à 64,8 %. La production totale est toujours inférieure de 15,4 % aux niveaux antérieurs à la pandémie observés en février et l'utilisation de la capacité reste inférieure de 15,0 % à la moyenne à long terme de 1972 à 2019.

Le nombre de nouvelles demandes de chômage se chiffre à 1,5 M pour la semaine se terminant le 12 juin, affichant seulement une diminution de 58 k par rapport à la semaine précédente. La lecture correspond aux attentes plus élevées alors que les marchés anticipaient 1,3 M de nouvelles demandes de chômage à la réouverture des États et suggère une reprise plus longue et inégale. Les marchés continuent de surveiller de près les demandes hebdomadaires comme moyen de représentation de l'activité économique.

International – La production industrielle chinoise et les ventes au détail augmentent ; ZEW reflète un optimisme croissant ; la Banque du Japon étend son programme de prêt ; la Banque d'Angleterre augmente ses achats d'actifs

La production industrielle chinoise a augmenté de 1,53 % en mai, ou de 4,4 % par rapport à la même période l'an dernier. La lecture reflète le redressement rapide de l'économie chinoise qui sort progressivement de la récession provoquée par le coronavirus. La demande des consommateurs continue de stagner. Les ventes au détail ont augmenté de 0,79 % en mai, mais elles sont encore inférieures de 2,8 % par rapport au mois de mai de l'année dernière.

L'indice ZEW allemand continue d’afficher une confiance accrue. L'indice du climat économique actuel reste extrêmement bas à -83,1, contre -93,5 en mai, tandis que l'indicateur du climat économique s'est amélioré de façon significative à 63,4 par rapport à 21,3, en raison d’un plus grand espoir de redressement. Les experts des marchés financiers « continuent de s’attendre à une lente augmentation de la valeur économique » au cours de la reprise du deuxième semestre de cette année.

La Banque du Japon a laissé les taux directeurs inchangés et a déclaré que les taux d'intérêt devraient rester faibles jusqu’en 2023. Les achats d'actifs sont également restés inchangés, mais le programme de prêt pour les entreprises touchées par la COVID-19 a été augmenté de 35 T de yens à 110 T de yens.

La Banque d'Angleterre a maintenu ses taux à 0,1 % et a voté en faveur d'une augmentation des achats d'actifs de 100 G de livres supplémentaires, ce qui porte le total à 745 G de livres. Dans l'ensemble, les effets du coronavirus au deuxième trimestre seront probablement moins graves que ce que la banque centrale avait prévu. Les signes d’une reprise économique sont présents, mais « il est difficile d’en déduire clairement la suite de la reprise ».


Aperçu de l’avenir

Canada – Le premier discours du nouveau gouverneur de la Banque du Canada, Tiff Macklem (22 juin)

Il n'y a pas de grands communiqués de données économiques cette semaine pour le Canada, mais le nouveau gouverneur de la Banque du Canada, TIFF Macklem, prononcera son premier discours.

États-Unis – Le PMI Markit (23 juin); les commandes de biens durables (25 juin); les revenus et dépenses personnels (26 juin)

Les PMI Markit de juin pour les secteurs de la fabrication et des services fourniront un aperçu des changements de l'activité commerciale. Jeudi, les commandes de biens durables du mois de mai seront déclarées et l’on s'attend à ce qu'elles augmentent de 10,3 % en mai par rapport à une baisse de 17,7 % en avril. Les commandes de biens durables représentent un indicateur prévisionnel qui montre les investissements en biens d'équipement des entreprises, une composante importante du PIB. Enfin, les revenus et les dépenses personnels du mois de mai sont déclarés vendredi, et le revenu devrait chuter de 6,0 % tandis que les dépenses devraient augmenter de 8,8 %.

International – Le PMI Markit de la zone euro (23 juin) ; l’indice IFO allemand (24 juin) ; le procès-verbal de la BCE (25 juin) ; les bénéfices industriels chinois (27 juin)

Mardi, la zone euro communique les PMI de juin qui devraient poursuivre leurs remontées par rapport aux faibles niveaux historiques d'avril. Une lecture de plus de 50 est expansionniste et moins de 50 est réductionniste; l’indice composé PMI du mois dernier était de 31,9 et l’on s'attend à ce qu'il atteigne 41,7. L’indice des affaires allemandes de l’IFO représente un autre indicateur majeur qui devrait également augmenter en juin pour atteindre 85,0 par rapport à 79,5 en mai.

Jeudi, le procès-verbal de la réunion de juin de la Banque centrale européenne sera publié et analysé pour obtenir plus de détails au sujet de l’élargissement de son programme de rachat d’urgence face à la pandémie. En Chine, les bénéfices industriels du mois de mai seront déclarés au moment où les investisseurs essaient d'évaluer l'impact du virus sur les bénéfices des entreprises et cherchent à savoir si les bénéfices continuent de se remettre de la chute historique de 34,9 % du mois de mars.

Patrimoine Aviso Inc. (« Patrimoine Aviso ») est la société mère de Valeurs mobilières Credential Qtrade Inc. Patrimoine Aviso est une filiale en propriété exclusive de Commandité Patrimoine Aviso S.E.C., qui est elle-même détenue à 50 % par Desjardins Holding financier Inc. et à 50 % par une société en commandite appartenant aux cinq caisses provinciales Credit Union (les « Caisses ») ainsi qu'au groupe CUMIS.

Les services de courtage en ligne sont offerts par l’intermédiaire d’Investisseur Qtrade, une division de Valeurs mobilières Credential Qtrade Inc., une filiale en propriété exclusive de Patrimoine Aviso Inc. et membre du Fonds canadien de protection des épargnants. Ce document existe à des fins de renseignements seulement. Ce document a été préparé à l’aide de sources jugées fiables, mais Investisseur Qtrade ne garantit pas l’exactitude, l’exhaustivité, le caractère opportun et la fiabilité des informations. Les renseignements, schémas et graphiques sont présentés à titre d’illustrations seulement; ils sont modifiables sans préavis. Tous les placements sont assujettis à des risques, y compris la perte éventuelle de capital.