Weekly Market Pulse - Week ending July 2, 2021

Market developments

Equities:

U.S. stocks continued their rise last week with both the S&P 500 Index and the NASDAQ Composite Index notching gains and ending the week at all-time highs. A strong jobs report in the U.S. bolstered confidence in the economic rebound. Even as hiring came in stronger, payrolls are still down by approximately 6.8 million jobs relative to pre-pandemic levels. This supported a just-right “Goldilocks” scenario, in which the U.S. Federal Reserve will keep interest rates low while a lagging employment recovery is expected to prevent the broader economy from overheating.

Fixed income:

Bond yields decreased despite the strong job numbers. The U.S. Treasury 10-year yield dropped 10 basis points to 1.42%, and the Government of Canada 10-year yield dropped eight basis points to 1.37%.

Commodities:

Oil continued its rise, with West Texas Intermediate crude futures topping US$75 a barrel for the first time since October 2018. The OPEC+ coalition struggled to agree on a deal, but the current proposal of a slow resumption of output could further bolster bullish sentiment as fuel demand rebounds from the pandemic.

Performance (price return)

Performance - Price return

As of July 2, 2021

Macro developments

Canada – GDP falls; Markit PMI moderates; Product and raw material prices rise

Gross domestic product fell 0.3% month over month in April, beating consensus expectations of a fall of 0.8%. The drop was in line with expectations as provincial and federal restrictions tightened to contain the COVID-19 spread. The goods-producing sector grew 0.5% during the month, while the services-producing sector dropped 0.6%. Statistics Canada estimates that GDP fell a further 0.3% in May based on preliminary data, as lockdowns continued into the month.

The IHS Markit Canada Manufacturing Purchasing Managers’ Index fell to 56.5 in June, from 57.0 in May. Output and new order growth moderated in June. However, rising demand saw firms increase employment for the 12th consecutive month. Despite this hiring, however, backlogs rose, with the increases linked to continued deterioration in vendor performance and a shortage of raw materials, factors that also exerted upward cost pressures. Nonetheless, optimism was widespread regarding growth prospects for the year ahead.

Canadian industrial product prices rose 2.7% month over month in May, below expectations of an increase of 3.1%. Prices of manufactured products rose, with lumber the largest contributor and motor and recreational vehicles the most significant detractor. The Raw Material Price Index (RMPI) rose 3.2%, above expectations of a 2.0% increase with prices of metal ores, concentrates, and scraps driving the increase. On a year-over-year basis, prices paid by manufacturers rose 40.1%, as measured by the RMPI.

U.S. – Nonfarm payrolls increase; Conference Board consumer confidence rises; factory orders increase

Nonfarm payrolls rose by approximately 850,000 jobs in June, following an increase of 559,000 in May. The reading came above expectations of 720,000, and was the highest increase in 10 months, driven by strength in the leisure and hospitality sector. Other areas with notable increases were education, professional services, and retail trade.

The Conference Board Consumer Confidence Index rose 7.3 points in June to 127.3. This boost in confidence was in part driven by an improved assessment of labour conditions during the month. The share of households seeing “jobs plentiful” increased to 54.4% from 48.5%, while those seeing “jobs hard to get” decreased to 10.9% from 11.6%.

Factory orders rose 1.7% in May. The increase was driven by the transportation sector, thanks to an 88.4% increase in ships and boats. Excluding transportation, orders rose just 0.7%.

International – China PMI falls; Eurozone CPI increases; South Korean exports rise

China’s official Composite PMI fell to 52.9 in June, from 54.2 in May. The manufacturing PMI inched down to 50.9 in June from 51.0 in May. This was driven by a spike in COVID-19 cases and local lockdowns in the Guangdong province, a manufacturing and export powerhouse. In addition, higher commodity prices, supply shortages, and an inability of producers to pass rising prices on to domestic consumers have been compressing profit margins, causing a further slowdown in factory production. Non-manufacturing PMI decelerated to 53.5 in June from 55.2 in May. The services sector fell with local lockdowns, while construction held strong.

Eurozone CPI rose 0.3% in June, driven by a 1.2% increase in energy prices. On a year-over-year basis CPI grew 1.9%, in line with expectations. Core CPI, excluding energy and food, rose just 0.9% year-over-year.

South Korea’s exports rose 39.7% year over year in June, above expectations of a 33.8% increase. Semiconductor shipments increased by more than a third and separate data showed a further acceleration in factory activity and growing optimism among manufacturers. South Korea’s exports are seen as a barometer of international demand as the country manufactures essential items such as chips, displays, and refined oil for the world economy.

Quick look ahead

Canada – Bank of Canada Business Outlook Survey (July 5); Labour Force Survey (July 9)

The Bank of Canada will release its second-quarter Business Outlook Survey, expected to reflect a more upbeat sentiment on a broadening recovery now also benefitting services. Plans to hire and increase investment spending were rising in the bank’s first-quarter report and could see further increases on a better outlook.

Employment numbers are expected to show an increase for June given loosening restrictions across the country during that month. Market consensus is for job creation of approximately 195,000. This potential rise would come on a back of a weak May jobs report, which saw a net loss of 68,000 jobs.

U.S. – FOMC minutes and JOLTS job openings (July 7)

Minutes from the Federal Open Market Committee meeting on June 15–16 are expected to provide more insight into the relatively hawkish sentiments the FOMC has expressed. Of note, analysis will depend on the intensity of labour market gains the committee expects in the coming months, as well as a gauge of whether higher inflation is becoming a baseline expectation rather than an upside risk.

Job openings, typically seen as a leading indicator of employment growth, are expected to remain strong in May. Job openings in April had surged to a record high as businesses reported a shortage of qualified workers, even while offering record high compensation. Consensus expectations estimate May job openings to come in at 9.3 million jobs.

International – Germany’s ZEW Survey (July 6); German industrial production (July 7); ECB minutes (July 8); U.K. GDP and China’s CPI (July 9)

Germany’s ZEW survey, which captures the opinions of financial professionals, should exhibit some improvement as vaccinations have enabled the economy to reopen.

German industrial production is forecasted to have risen 0.7% in May, following a disappointing reading in April. Factory output should have increased given a broader global reopening, though car production concerns could hold back the reading.

The European Central Bank has held its policy steady and continued its accelerated pace of asset purchase. However, given more upbeat economic forecasts, its meeting minutes will be analyzed for hints on tapering going forward.

U.K. monthly GDP is expected to have grown 2% in May, on the back of 2.1% and 2.3% growth in March and April, respectively. The country continues to move towards its pre-pandemic economic output levels as indoor hospitality and recreation sectors were opened in England and consumers took advantage of more opportunities to spend.

In Asia, China’s consumer price index is expected to hold at 1.3% year over year in June. Higher prices on non-food items are expected to be partially offset by lower food prices, especially wholesale pork prices which are down 49% year over year. Higher material prices may have lifted consumer goods prices to a limited extent.

Aviso Wealth Inc. (“Aviso Wealth”) is the parent company of Credential Qtrade Securities Inc. Aviso Wealth is a wholly-owned subsidiary of Aviso Wealth Limited Partnership, which in turn is owned 50% by Desjardins Financial Holdings Inc. and 50% by a limited partnership owned by the five Provincial Credit Union Centrals and the CUMIS Group Limited.

Online brokerage services are offered through Qtrade Investor, a division of Credential Qtrade Securities Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Aviso Wealth Inc. and Member of the Canadian Investor Protection Fund.

Northwest & Ethical Investments L.P (“NEI” or “NEI Investments”) is a subsidiary of Aviso Wealth; and NEI Funds are related issuers of Credential Qtrade Securities Inc.

This material is for informational purposes only. While this material has been compiled from sources believed to be reliable, Qtrade Investor does not guarantee the accuracy, completeness, timeliness or reliability of this information. Information, figures and charts are summarized for illustrative purposes only and are subject to change without notice. All investments are subject to risk, including the possible loss of principal.

Pouls hebdomadaire du marché - Semaine se terminant le 2 juillet 2021

Développements du marché

Actions :

La semaine dernière, le cours des actions américaines a continué d’augmenter, les indices S&P 500 et NASDAQ affichant des gains pour clore la semaine à des sommets historiques. Un excellent rapport sur l’emploi aux États-Unis a renforcé la confiance en la reprise économique. Malgré la hausse des embauches, l’emploi demeure inférieur aux niveaux observés avant la pandémie, avec environ 6,8 millions d’emplois en moins. Cette situation appuyait un parfait scénario « de saine économie » selon lequel la Réserve fédérale américaine maintiendra les taux d’intérêt bas tandis qu’une faible relance de l’emploi devrait empêcher l’économie en général de surchauffer.

Revenu fixe :

Le rendement des obligations a reculé malgré les chiffres étonnamment élevés de l’emploi. Le rendement des obligations du Trésor américain à 10 ans a chuté de 10 points de base pour s’établir à 1,42 % et celui des obligations du gouvernement du Canada à 10 ans a baissé de huit points de base pour passer à 1,37 %.

Marchandises :

Le pétrole a poursuivi sa croissance, le cours à terme du West Texas Intermediate atteignant 75 $ US le baril pour la première fois depuis octobre 2018. La coalition de l’OPEP+ a eu du mal à conclure une entente, mais la proposition actuelle d’une reprise lente de la production pourrait renforcer le vent d’optimisme suscité par le redressement de la demande de carburant par rapport à ses niveaux pendant la pandémie.

Performance (rendement des cours)

Performance (rendement des cours)

Au 2 juillet 2021

Développements macroéconomiques

Canada – Baisse du PIB; indice PMI de Markit modéré; augmentation des prix des produits et des matières premières

Le produit intérieur brut a diminué de 0,3 % en avril par rapport au mois précédent, alors que tous s’attendaient à une baisse de 0,8 %. Ce recul était conforme aux attentes compte tenu du resserrement des restrictions provinciales et fédérales en vue de contenir la propagation de la COVID-19. Le secteur de la production de biens a progressé de 0,5 % au cours du mois, tandis que celui de la production de services reculait de 0,6 %. Statistique Canada estime que le PIB a encore diminué de 0,3 % en mai selon les données préliminaires, alors que les confinements se poursuivaient pendant le mois.

L’indice PMI manufacturier d’IHS Markit du Canada a fléchi, passant de 57,0 en mai à 56,5 en juin. La croissance de la production et des nouvelles commandes a été modérée en juin. Toutefois, une demande croissante a stimulé l’emploi dans les entreprises pour un 12e mois consécutif. Cette embellie sur le plan des embauches s’est toutefois accompagnée d’une hausse des arriérés, qui a contribué à une détérioration continue du rendement des fournisseurs et à une pénurie de matières premières, des facteurs qui ont également participé à l’augmentation des coûts. Néanmoins, l’optimisme est généralisé quant aux perspectives de croissance pour l’année à venir.

Les prix des produits industriels canadiens ont grimpé de 2,7 % par rapport au mois de mai, un chiffre inférieur à la hausse de 3,1 % prévue. Les prix des produits manufacturés se sont accrus, principalement ceux du bois d’oeuvre, tandis que les prix des véhicules automobiles et des véhicules récréatifs ont eu l’effet négatif le plus important. L’indice des prix des matières brutes (IPMB) a grimpé de 3,2 %, un chiffre supérieur à l’augmentation de 2,0 % prévue, cette progression étant principalement attribuable aux prix des minerais métalliques, des concentrés et des déchets métalliques. En glissement annuel, les prix payés par les fabricants ont bondi de 40,1 % selon l’IPMB.

États-Unis – Augmentation de la masse salariale non agricole; progression de l’indice de confiance des consommateurs du Conference Board; hausse des commandes manufacturières

La masse salariale non agricole a augmenté d’environ 850 000 emplois en juin, après une hausse de 559 000 emplois en mai. Portée par la vigueur des secteurs des loisirs et du tourisme d’accueil, cette hausse dépasse l’augmentation de 720 000 emplois prévue par le marché et est la plus importante en 10 mois. Les autres secteurs affichant des progressions importantes sont l’éducation, les services professionnels et le commerce de détail.

L’indice de confiance des consommateurs du Conference Board a gagné 7,3 points en juin pour s’établir à 127,3. Ce regain de confiance découle partiellement d’une évaluation améliorée des conditions de travail au cours du mois. Le pourcentage des ménages qui jugent que les emplois sont nombreux a grimpé à 54,4 % par rapport à 48,5 %, tandis que le pourcentage de ceux qui estiment qu’il est difficile d’obtenir un emploi a baissé de 11,6 % à 10,9 %.

Les commandes manufacturières ont crû de 1,7 % en mai. Cette augmentation est attribuable au secteur des transports, notamment à une augmentation de 88,4 % dans le domaine des navires et des embarcations. Si l’on exclut le transport, les commandes ont augmenté d’à peine 0,7 %.

International – Recul de l’indice PMI en Chine; hausse de l’IPC dans la zone euro; augmentation des exportations sud-coréennes

En Chine, l’indice composé PMI officiel a reculé, passant de 54,2 en mai à 52,9 en juin. L’indice PMI manufacturier a baissé, passant de 51,0 en mai à 50,9 en juin. Cette situation est attribuable à une hausse des cas de COVID-19 et aux confinements locaux dans la province du Guangdong, véritable moteur des exportations. De plus, l’augmentation des prix des produits de base, les pénuries ainsi que l’incapacité des producteurs à transférer la hausse des prix aux consommateurs nationaux ont réduit les marges de profit, ce qui a entraîné un ralentissement encore plus marqué de la production industrielle. L’indice PMI non manufacturier a décéléré, passant de 55,2 en mai à 53,5 en juin. Les confinements ont entraîné un recul du secteur des services, tandis que celui de la construction demeurait vigoureux.

L’IPC de la zone euro a augmenté de 0,3 % en juin, sous l’impulsion d’une hausse de 1,2 % des prix de l’énergie. En glissement annuel, l’IPC a crû de 1,9 %, ce qui concorde avec les prévisions. L’IPC de base, excluant l’énergie et l’alimentation, a grimpé de 0,9 % seulement en glissement annuel.

En juin, les exportations sud-coréennes affichaient une hausse de 39,7 % en glissement annuel, un résultat supérieur à l’augmentation de 33,8 % prévue par le marché. Les expéditions de semi-conducteurs ont augmenté de plus d’un tiers et des données distinctes indiquent une accélération accrue de l’activité manufacturière et un optimisme croissant parmi les fabricants. Les exportations de la Corée du Sud sont considérées comme un baromètre de la demande internationale, car le pays fabrique des biens essentiels comme des puces, des écrans et des produits pétroliers raffinés utilisés partout dans le monde.

Aperçu de l’avenir

Canada – Enquête sur les perspectives des entreprises de la Banque du Canada (5 juillet); Enquête sur la population active (9 juillet)

La Banque du Canada publiera son Enquête sur les perspectives des entreprises du deuxième trimestre, laquelle devrait refléter un sentiment plus optimiste quant à une reprise élargie touchant désormais les services. Le rapport du premier trimestre de la Banque indiquait une hausse des intentions d’embauche et de dépenses d’investissement, annonçant d’autres augmentations attribuables à l’embellie des perspectives.

L’on s’attend à ce que l’emploi progresse en juin compte tenu du relâchement des restrictions partout au pays ce mois-ci.

Selon le consensus du marché, environ 195 000 emplois devraient être créés. Cette hausse potentielle suivrait un rapport sur l’emploi médiocre en mai, mois ayant affiché une perte nette de 68 000 emplois.

États-Unis – Procès-verbal du FOMC et rapport JOLTS Job Openings (7 juillet)

Le procès-verbal de la réunion du Federal Open Market Committee tenue les 15 et 16 juin devrait fournir de plus amples renseignements sur les sentiments relativement combatifs exprimés par ce comité. Il est à noter que l’analyse dépendra de l’intensité des gains du marché du travail que le comité prévoit au cours des prochains mois ainsi que de ’évaluation visant à déterminer si la hausse de l’inflation est en train de devenir une attente de base plutôt qu’un risque à la hausse.

La demande de main-d’oeuvre, généralement considérée comme le principal indicateur de la croissance de l’emploi, devrait demeurer vigoureuse en mai. En avril, la hausse des postes à pourvoir a été sans précédent, alors que les entreprises faisaient état d’une pénurie de travailleurs qualifiés, même pour les postes offrant une rémunération record. Tous s’attendent à ce que le nombre de postes à pourvoir atteigne 9,3 millions pour le mois de mai.

International – Enquête ZEW en Allemagne (6 juillet); production industrielle en Allemagne (7 juillet); procès-verbal de la BCE (8 juillet); PIB du Royaume-Uni et IPC de la Chine (9 juillet)

L’enquête ZEW de l’Allemagne, qui recueille l’opinion des professionnels de la finance, devrait indiquer une certaine amélioration puisque les campagnes de vaccination permettent aux économies de rouvrir.

La production industrielle en Allemagne devrait avoir augmenté de 0,7 % en mai, après avoir déçu en avril. La production manufacturière devrait avoir augmenté en raison d’une réouverture globale plus large, mais les gains devraient être tempérés par les inquiétudes au sujet du secteur de la construction automobile.

La Banque centrale européenne a maintenu sa politique en vigueur tout en poursuivant son achat d’actifs à un rythme accéléré. Cependant, compte tenu des prévisions économiques plus optimistes, l’analyse du procès-verbal de sa réunion visera à déceler tout indice de ralentissement des achats d’actifs.

Le PIB mensuel du Royaume-Uni devrait avoir augmenté de 2 % en mai, après des hausses de 2,1 % et de 2,3 % en mars et en avril, respectivement. Le pays continue de progresser vers ses niveaux d’avant la pandémie, alors que les établissements d’accueil et de loisir rouvrent leurs portes en Angleterre et que les consommateurs profitent d’occasions plus nombreuses de dépenser.

En Asie, l’indice des prix à la consommation de la Chine devrait se maintenir à 1,3 % d’une année sur l’autre en juin. L’on s’attend à ce que les prix plus élevés des produits non alimentaires soient partiellement compensés par la baisse des prix

des aliments, notamment des prix de gros du porc, en baisse de 49 % en glissement annuel. Dans une certaine mesure, l’augmentation des prix des matériaux pourrait avoir causé une hausse des prix des biens de consommation.

Patrimoine Aviso Inc. (« Patrimoine Aviso ») est la société mère de Valeurs mobilières Credential Qtrade Inc. Patrimoine Aviso est une filiale en propriété exclusive de Commandité Patrimoine Aviso S.E.C., qui est elle-même détenue à 50 % par Desjardins Holding financier Inc. et à 50 % par une société en commandite appartenant aux cinq caisses provinciales Credit Union (les « Caisses ») ainsi qu'au groupe CUMIS.

Les services de courtage en ligne sont offerts par l’intermédiaire d’Investisseur Qtrade, une division de Valeurs mobilières Credential Qtrade Inc., une filiale en propriété exclusive de Patrimoine Aviso Inc. et membre du Fonds canadien de protection des épargnants. Ce document existe à des fins de renseignements seulement. Ce document a été préparé à l’aide de sources jugées fiables, mais Investisseur Qtrade ne garantit pas l’exactitude, l’exhaustivité, le caractère opportun et la fiabilité des informations. Les renseignements, schémas et graphiques sont présentés à titre d’illustrations seulement; ils sont modifiables sans préavis. Tous les placements sont assujettis à des risques, y compris la perte éventuelle de capital.