Weekly Market Pulse - Week ending July 3, 2020

Market developments

Equities:

It was a relatively quiet week with Canada Day and Independence Day. North American and European markets ended the week higher, while Japan closed lower. New coronavirus cases continued to rise in some U.S. states, but markets reacted more positively to the upturn in PMIs and jobs. Manufacturing and Service PMIs in China are now reading solidly above 50, signaling a strong recovery and fueling optimism in recovery efforts for the rest of the world. The S&P 500 gained 4.02% while the S&P/TSX Composite gained 2.68%.

Fixed income:

Bond yields rose slightly on the back of improving business activity. The U.S. Treasury 10-year yield rose 3 basis points ending the week at 0.67%. The Government of Canada 10-year yield rose 5 basis points ending the week at 0.56%.

Commodities:

Oil prices gained 4.75% while copper prices gained 1.49%. Gold ended the week slightly higher, but it’s worth noting that early in the week, gold futures briefly topped $1,800/oz intra-day.


Performance (price return)

Performance - Price return

As of July 3, 2020


Macro developments

Canada – April GDP plummets; May international trade narrows; Markit Manufacturing PMI sees weak demand

GDP contracted 11.6% in April, following a 7.5% drop in March. April was the first full month of measures in place to slow COVID-19 where activity fell in all 20 industries, the largest monthly decline since data started in 1961. The largest contributor was manufacturing, which fell 22.5% with over four out of five firms reported being affected by the pandemic. Other affected sectors include construction, falling 22.9%; retail trade, falling 22.9%; wholesale trade, down 17.9%; and accommodation and food services, dropping 42.4%. Given the circumstances, StatsCan provided an early estimate of 3.0% for May GDP as business activity is gradually resuming and output is increasing, however economic activity in April is 18.2% below February levels, before the coronavirus hit.

The international merchandise trade deficit narrowed to $677M in May from $4.3B in April. Exports rose 6.7% following a 29.1% decrease in April largely due to the automobile industry restarting operations, and higher oil prices. Meanwhile, imports declined 3.9% following a 25.2% fall in April. The decrease was due to lower imports of lubricants and other petroleum refinery products as well as motor vehicles and parts.

The IHS Market Canada Manufacturing PMI rose to 47.8 in June from 40.6 in May. Production volumes fell, and data shows jobs continue to be shed, though at a slower pace. Manufacturers continue to report weak demand conditions resulting in cautious spending by clients. Respondents also noted that supply chains remained under pressure, 35% of which noted supplier performance had worsened especially for items shipped from the U.S. Some firms have begun to see growth again given the phased restart of factoring operations. Overall, business expectations are positive as manufacturers expect demand to pick up as COVID-19 measures gradually ease.

U.S. – FOMC minutes discuss forward guidance; Nonfarm payrolls pick up with economic activity; Initial claims remain elevated at 1.4M

The Federal Open Market Committee minutes showed that the Fed is thinking of ways to strengthen their forward guidance on interest rates and asset purchases given that the Federal Funds rate is at its effective lower bound. Participants noted that the economy is likely to need highly accommodative monetary policy support for some time. The possibility of linking forward guidance to a specified macroeconomic outcome such as inflation or the unemployment rate was brought up. Another possibility is calendar-based guidance specifying a date which accommodation could begin to be reduced. Yield curve targeting was also discussed, in which the Fed concluded that large central bank purchases of government debt may not be required to reach desired targets. However, the low levels of long-term yields will act as a constraint on the effectiveness of asset purchases, but large-scale asset purchases could still reduce upward pressure on yields. The Fed also thinks that fiscal policy is a risk, and that more may be required. The direction the Fed will take will likely be decided by the policy framework review that will be completed later this year.

Nonfarm payroll employment rose by 4.8M in June, pushing the unemployment rate down to 11.1% from 13.3% in May as economic activity resumes. Markets were expecting an employment gain of 3.2M and 12.5% unemployment rate. Large increases were seen in leisure and hospitality, retail trade, education and health service, and manufacturing. The number of full time and part time workers each increased 2.4M. In comparison, the number of people employed part time for economic reasons fell 1.6M, but still totals 9.1M, which is double the February level. Other figures released include average hourly earnings which fell 1.2% reflecting stronger gains in lower wage positions, and the average workweek, which fell to 34.5 hours in June from 34.7 in May. The numbers are encouraging, but the number of unemployed is still up 12.0M and the unemployment rate is 7.6% higher than February.

Weekly jobless claims for the week ending June 27 registered 1.43M, just a 55K improvement from the prior week. The reading missed expectations again as markets were anticipating a slightly better reading of 1.35M as states reopen, supporting the Fed’s worries of a long and uneven recovery. Continuing claims also paints a worrying picture as the number for the week ending June 20 rose to 19.3M, from 19.2M the previous week.

International – Euro area inflation rises; Japan Tankan Survey shows weak business conditions; China PMI reflects improving domestic demand

Euro area inflation rose 0.3% in June from -0.1% in May. The increase was driven by strong increases for energy and services. Core inflation, which excludes energy and food, fell to 0.8% in June from 0.9%. 

Business confidence in Japan continue to deteriorate, as the Tankan All Industries Index fell to -31 in Q2 2020 from -4 in Q1. The hit was seen in both manufacturing and non-manufacturing with smaller businesses more affected. The survey shows that both domestic and foreign demand continues to be muted while inventories build up. Employment conditions are also expected to weaken. Large enterprises see inflation at -0.5% for the next year and continue to revise downwards their profit expectations. The only bright spot of the survey is capital expenditures are expected to rise 3.2% in 2020.

The Caixin China Composite PMI rose to 55.7 in June from 54.5 in May, with increases seen in both manufacturing and services. The Manufacturing PMI rose to 51.2 in June from 50.7 while the General Services PMI signaled the sharpest increase in activity in over a decade rising to 58.4 in June, from 55.0. Overall market conditions continue to improve as firms move towards more normal business operations. Output continues to rise, and new business picked up.

Employment however continues to show modest decreases and export business is still lagging as other countries continue to struggle with the coronavirus. Nonetheless business confidence rose on expectations of further increases in customer demand, and manufacturers continue to expand their purchasing activity.


Quick look ahead

Canada – BoC Business Outlook Survey (July 6); Housing starts (July 9); June employment (July 10)

On Monday the Bank of Canada releases their quarterly Business Outlook Survey (BOS) for Q2. Given recent improvements in economic data, this BOS will provide key insight to the future sales outlook and business sentiment surrounding the path of our economic recovery. Some key points to watch will be investment and employment intentions as firms cope with the aftermath of the virus. June housing starts are released on Thursday with expectations of a 185K rise, slightly down from 193.5K last month. Lastly, we will get employment numbers for Canada. Markets expect a net job gain of 550K and a 12.5% unemployment rate following the strong gains in the U.S. last week.

U.S. – Markit PMI (July 6); Initial and continuing jobless claims (July 9)

Data is light in the U.S. this week. We get the final reading of the Markit PMIs, but the focus will once again be on the weekly job numbers.

International – Eurozone retail sales and Germany factory orders (July 6); Germany industrial production (July 7); China credit (July 9-15)

This week we get the first readings of hard economic data for Europe that should point towards a recovery. Retail sales for the eurozone are expected to post the first positive reading in May since February, after being battered by the pandemic. Germany factory orders and industrial production for May will also give an indication on the speed of the recovery as measures are eased.

China will release data on new loans and aggregate social financing for June next week, which should reflect the government’s degree of continued policy support.

Aviso Wealth Inc. (“Aviso Wealth”) is the parent company of Credential Qtrade Securities Inc. Aviso Wealth is a wholly-owned subsidiary of Aviso Wealth Limited Partnership, which in turn is owned 50% by Desjardins Financial Holdings Inc. and 50% by a limited partnership owned by the five Provincial Credit Union Centrals and the CUMIS Group Limited.

Online brokerage services are offered through Qtrade Investor, a division of Credential Qtrade Securities Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Aviso Wealth Inc. and Member of the Canadian Investor Protection Fund.

Northwest & Ethical Investments L.P (“NEI” or “NEI Investments”) is a subsidiary of Aviso Wealth; and NEI Funds are related issuers of Credential Qtrade Securities Inc.

This material is for informational purposes only. While this material has been compiled from sources believed to be reliable, Qtrade Investor does not guarantee the accuracy, completeness, timeliness or reliability of this information. Information, figures and charts are summarized for illustrative purposes only and are subject to change without notice. All investments are subject to risk, including the possible loss of principal.

Pouls hebdomadaire du marché - Semaine se terminant le 3 juillet 2020

Développements du marché

Actions

La semaine était relativement calme en raison de la fête du Canada et du Jour de l’Indépendance aux États-Unis. Les marchés nord-américains et européens ont fini la semaine en hausse, tandis que le Japon a terminé sur une baisse. Les nouveaux cas de coronavirus ont continué à augmenter dans certains États des États-Unis, mais les marchés ont réagi positivement à l’embellie des indices PMI et des emplois. En Chine, les indices PMI manufacturiers et des services dépassent maintenant largement la barre des 50, ce qui traduit une reprise solide et alimente l’optimisme lié aux efforts de reprise dans le reste du monde. L’indice S&P 500 a gagné 4,02 %, et l’indice composé S&P/TSX a augmenté de 2,68 %.

Revenu fixe

Le rendement des obligations est en légère hausse, profitant de l’amélioration de l’activité des entreprises. Le rendement sur 10 ans de l’obligation du Trésor américain a progressé de 3 points de base pour clôturer la semaine à 0,67 %. Le rendement sur 10 ans de l’obligation du gouvernement du Canada a grimpé de 5 points de base, terminant la semaine à 0,56 %.

Marchandises

Les cours du pétrole ont gagné 4,75 %, tandis que ceux du cuivre ont augmenté de 1,49 %. L’or a terminé la semaine légèrement plus haut, mais il faut noter qu’au début de la semaine, les contrats à terme sur l’or ont brièvement dépassé le sommet intrajournalier de 1 800 $ l’once.


Performance (rendement des cours)

Performance (rendement des cours)

En date du 3 juillet 2020


Développements macroéconomiques

Canada – Chute du PIB en avril; le commerce international diminue en mai; l’indice PMI manufacturier enregistre une faible demande

Le PIB a perdu 11,6 % en avril, après une chute de 7,5 % en mars. Avril était le premier mois complet où les mesures pour ralentir la COVID-19 ont été mises en place, et l’activité s’est effondrée dans les 20 industries, enregistrant la baisse mensuelle la plus importante depuis le début de la compilation des données en 1961. Le principal contributeur était le secteur manufacturier, qui a dégringolé de 22,5 %, plus de quatre entreprises sur cinq affirmant avoir été touchées par la pandémie. Les autres secteurs affectés sont la construction, qui chute de 22,9 %, le commerce de détail, perdant 22,9 %, le commerce de gros, en baisse de 17,9 %, et les services d’hébergement et de restauration, qui plongent de 42,4 %. Étant donné les circonstances, Statistique Canada a fait une première estimation de 3,0 % pour le PIB de mai, car l’activité commerciale reprend progressivement, et la production augmente, bien que l’activité en avril ait été 18,2 % en dessous des niveaux de février, avant que le coronavirus ne frappe.

Le déficit sur marchandises international s’est réduit à 677 millions de dollars en mai, contre 4,3 milliards de dollars en avril. Les exportations ont augmenté de 6,7 % après une baisse de 29,1 % en avril, en grande partie en raison des activités de reprise du travail de l’industrie automobile et de la hausse des cours du pétrole. Pendant ce temps, les importations ont perdu 3,9 % après une chute de 25,2 % en avril. La baisse est due à la diminution des importations de lubrifiants et des divers produits issus des raffineries de pétrole ainsi que des véhicules motorisés et des pièces détachées.

L’indice PMI manufacturier canadien d’IHS Markit a grimpé de 40,6 en mai à 47,8 en juin. Les volumes de production ont diminué, et les données montrent que les suppressions d’emplois se poursuivent, bien que ce soit à un rythme plus lent. Les fabricants continuent à faire état d’une faible demande, ce qui entraîne des dépenses prudentes des clients. Les répondants ont également fait remarquer que les chaînes d’approvisionnement restent sous pression, 35 % d’entre eux ayant constaté une baisse du rendement des fournisseurs, en particulier pour les articles expédiés à partir des États-Unis. Certaines entreprises ont commencé à enregistrer de nouveau une croissance grâce au redémarrage progressif des activités d’affacturage. De manière générale, les perspectives commerciales sont positives, car les fabricants s’attendent à un rétablissement de la demande alors que les mesures liées à la COVID-19 sont progressivement assouplies.

États-Unis – Le procès-verbal du FOMC aborde les futures orientations; rétablissement des emplois non agricoles avec l’activité économique; les nouvelles demandes d’allocations chômage demeurent élevées à 1,4 million

Le procès-verbal de la réunion du Federal Open Market Committee montre que la Fed cherche des moyens de renforcer ses futures orientations sur les taux d’intérêt et les achats d’actifs, étant donné que le taux des fonds fédéraux est à sa limite inférieure effective. Les participants ont constaté que l’économie aura probablement besoin du soutien d’une politique monétaire très souple pendant un moment. La possibilité de relier les orientations futures à des résultats macroéconomiques précis comme l’inflation ou le taux de chômage a été évoquée. L’autre possibilité est une orientation axée sur le calendrier, en précisant la date à laquelle les mesures d’assouplissement pourront commencer à être réduites. Le ciblage de la courbe des taux a également fait l’objet de discussions. La Fed a conclu qu’il ne serait peut-être pas nécessaire que les banques centrales procèdent à des rachats importants de la dette publique pour atteindre les objectifs souhaités. Les faibles niveaux des taux longs agiront toutefois comme une contrainte sur l’efficacité des achats d’actifs, mais des achats d’actifs à grande échelle peuvent quand même réduire la pression grandissante sur les taux. La Fed pense également que la politique budgétaire constitue un risque et que d’autres mesures peuvent être nécessaires. La direction que prendra la Fed sera probablement dictée par l’examen du cadre stratégique qui sera conduit plus tard dans l’année.

Les emplois non agricoles ont augmenté de 4,8 millions en juin, faisant passer le taux de chômage de 13,3 % en mai à 11,1 % alors que l’activité économique reprend. Les marchés s’attendaient à un gain de 3,2 millions d’emplois et à un taux de chômage de 12,5 %. Les plus fortes hausses ont été enregistrées dans les loisirs et l’hébergement, le commerce de détail, les services d’éducation et de santé et la fabrication. Le nombre d’employés à temps plein et celui d’employés à temps partiel ont chacun bondi de 2,4 millions. En comparaison, le nombre de personnes travaillant à temps partiel pour des raisons économiques a chuté de 1,6 million, mais reste tout de même à 9,1 millions, ce qui est le double du chiffre de février. Parmi les autres chiffres publiés, citons les gains horaires moyens qui ont perdu 1,2 %, reflétant des gains plus importants pour les postes à bas salaire, et la semaine de travail moyenne, qui est tombée à 34,5 heures en juin contre 34,7 heures en mai. Les chiffres sont encourageants, mais le nombre de chômeurs augmente encore de 12 millions, et le taux de chômage est 7,6 % plus haut qu’en février.

Les demandes hebdomadaires d’allocations chômage pour la semaine se terminant le 27 juin s’élevaient à 1,43 million, soit une amélioration de 55 000 par rapport à la semaine précédente. Une fois de plus, les données ne correspondent pas aux attentes, car les marchés s’attendaient à un chiffre légèrement plus élevé (de 1,35 million) à la réouverture des États, ce qui nourrit les inquiétudes de la Fed quant à une reprise longue et inégale. Les demandes continues contribuent à brosser un tableau très sombre de la situation, car leur nombre pour la semaine prenant fin le 20 juin a bondi à 19,3 millions, contre 19,2 millions la semaine précédente.

International – Hausse de l’inflation dans la zone euro; l’enquête japonaise Tankan révèle la mauvaise conjoncture économique; l’indice PMI chinois reflète la hausse de la demande intérieure

L’inflation de la zone euro a augmenté de 0,3 % en juin, par rapport à -0,1 % en mai. La hausse est attribuable aux fortes augmentations de la demande de services et d’énergie. L’inflation de base, qui exclut l’énergie et l’alimentation, est tombée à 0,8 % en juin, contre 0,9 % en mai.

La confiance des entreprises au Japon continue à se détériorer, alors que l’indice Tankan pour toutes les industries est passé de -4 au premier trimestre à -31 au deuxième trimestre 2020. La baisse a été constatée dans les secteurs manufacturier et non manufacturier, les petites entreprises étant plus touchées. L’enquête montre que la demande intérieure et la demande extérieure demeurent médiocres, tandis que les stocks s’accumulent. Les conditions d’emploi devraient également se dégrader. Les grandes entreprises estiment que l’inflation s’établira à -0,5 % l’année prochaine et continuent à réviser à la baisse leurs estimations des bénéfices futurs. La seule lueur d’espoir de l’enquête concerne les dépenses en immobilisations, qui devraient augmenter de 3,2 % en 2020.

L’indice PMI composé calculé par Caixin en Chine est passé de 54,5 en mai à 55,7 en juin, les hausses étant constatées dans le secteur manufacturier et celui des services. L’indice PMI manufacturier a progressé pour s’établir à 51,2 en juin, contre 50,7, tandis que l’indice PMI des services généraux a enregistré la plus forte hausse d’activité en plus de 10 ans, bondissant de 55,0 à 58,4 en juin. La conjoncture générale continue à s’améliorer alors que les entreprises reprennent des activités commerciales plus normales. La production continue à s’accroître, et les nouvelles affaires ont repris.

Toutefois, l’emploi enregistre toujours des baisses modestes, et les exportations restent à la traîne alors que d’autres pays sont toujours confrontés au coronavirus. Cependant, la confiance des entreprises a augmenté en raison des perspectives d’amélioration de la demande des clients, et les fabricants continuent à développer leur activité d’achat.


Aperçu de l’avenir

Canada – Enquête sur les perspectives des entreprises de la Banque du Canada (6 juillet); mises en chantier (9 juillet); chiffres de l’emploi de juin (10 juillet)

Lundi, la Banque du Canada a publié sa dernière Enquête sur les perspectives des entreprises trimestrielle pour le deuxième trimestre. Étant donné les récentes améliorations des données économiques, cette enquête donne des renseignements importants sur les perspectives de vente et le sentiment des entreprises quant à la voie de notre reprise économique. Il faudra particulièrement surveiller les intentions d’investissement et d’embauche, car les entreprises sont confrontées aux conséquences du virus. Les mises en chantier de juin seront publiées jeudi. On s’attend à une hausse de 185 000, soit une baisse légère par rapport aux 193 500 mises en chantier du mois dernier. Enfin, nous aurons les chiffres de l’emploi au Canada. Les marchés s’attendent à une hausse nette de 550 000 emplois et à un taux de chômage de 12,5 % à la suite des fortes améliorations enregistrées aux États-Unis la semaine dernière.

États-Unis – Indice PMI Markit (6 juillet); demandes de chômage nouvelles et continues (9 juillet)

Cette semaine, les données sont maigres aux États-Unis. Nous obtiendrons le dernier taux des PMI de Markit, mais l’attention se portera une nouvelle fois sur les chiffres hebdomadaires de l’emploi.

International – Ventes au détail de la zone euro et commandes manufacturières allemandes (6 juillet); production industrielle allemande (7 juillet); crédit en Chine (du 9 au 15 juillet)

Cette semaine, nous obtiendrons les premiers chiffres des données économiques concrètes de l’Europe, qui devraient indiquer une reprise. Les ventes au détail de la zone euro devraient enregistrer en mai leur premier résultat positif depuis février, après avoir été maltraitées par la pandémie. Les commandes manufacturières et la production industrielle allemandes de mai donneront également une indication sur la vitesse de la reprise, alors que les mesures sont assouplies.

La Chine publiera la semaine prochaine les données sur les nouveaux prêts et le financement social en juin, qui doivent refléter le degré de soutien politique continu du gouvernement.

Patrimoine Aviso Inc. (« Patrimoine Aviso ») est la société mère de Valeurs mobilières Credential Qtrade Inc. Patrimoine Aviso est une filiale en propriété exclusive de Commandité Patrimoine Aviso S.E.C., qui est elle-même détenue à 50 % par Desjardins Holding financier Inc. et à 50 % par une société en commandite appartenant aux cinq caisses provinciales Credit Union (les « Caisses ») ainsi qu'au groupe CUMIS.

Les services de courtage en ligne sont offerts par l’intermédiaire d’Investisseur Qtrade, une division de Valeurs mobilières Credential Qtrade Inc., une filiale en propriété exclusive de Patrimoine Aviso Inc. et membre du Fonds canadien de protection des épargnants. Ce document existe à des fins de renseignements seulement. Ce document a été préparé à l’aide de sources jugées fiables, mais Investisseur Qtrade ne garantit pas l’exactitude, l’exhaustivité, le caractère opportun et la fiabilité des informations. Les renseignements, schémas et graphiques sont présentés à titre d’illustrations seulement; ils sont modifiables sans préavis. Tous les placements sont assujettis à des risques, y compris la perte éventuelle de capital.