Responsible Investing: How can climate change impact your investments?

Glaciers are shrinking, and sea levels are rising. Low-lying communities are getting flooded, while wildfires are ripping through forests. The planet’s climate is changing in dramatic ways, and the scope of the damage isn’t limited to the environment. Extreme weather could pose more risks to your portfolio than you think.

Analysts have already begun to count the cost of global warming to the economy. In November 2018, a U.S. government report warned that if no significant policy changes were undertaken to rein in global warming, the world’s largest economy would shrink by about 10 percent by 2100—almost double the losses of the Great Recession a decade ago. In the U.S. alone, the cost to the economy could exceed US$500 billion annually by the end of the century, according to media reports1.

“Unmitigated climate change would be disastrous for investor portfolios as extreme weather would have an impact across every sector that would be hard to completely avoid,” says Jamie Bonham, Manager of Corporate Engagement with NEI Investments, Qtrade Investor’s affiliate company. “Think of resorts based in low-lying areas that will be prone to rising seas and increased flooding, infrastructure in areas with increased hurricane activity, water-dependent industries in increasingly water-scarce regions.”

In Canada, the central bank’s deputy governor said that climate change could cost the country between $21 billion and $43 billion each year by the 2050s if global warming continues unabated. Climate-related risks have already started to take their toll on the economy. For example, the wildfires that tore through Alberta in the spring of 2016 reduced Canada’s GDP by about one percent in the second quarter of that year2.

Financial risks of climate change

As the world braces for more extreme weather events, the Bank of Canada has started to take action to address climate change. For the first time ever, in May 2019, the central bank released a report that sheds light on the threats climate change poses to the country's financial system3. In fact, the bank has listed climate change among the six major vulnerabilities threatening Canada’s economy. One of the biggest challenges facing corporate Canada lies in the transition risks from adapting to a lower-carbon economy.

“This speaks to the risks faced by oil and gas companies, utilities, mining and other high-carbon sectors,” Bonham explains. “Basically, if the world no longer needs the products you produce or if regulations greatly increase your costs, for example through a price on carbon, that is a clear business risk.”

Lower demand, increasing cost of production and regulatory changes are among the climate-related risks which can lead to “stranded assets”—assets which can no longer generate a sufficient economic return. Shareholder value is impaired when these assets are devalued or written off on a company’s balance sheet.

Under the Paris Accord, Canada committed to reducing its greenhouse gas emissions in order to contribute to the goal of limiting global warming to less than 2°C. To honor this commitment, Canada has to shift to a greener economy. In a resource-dependent economy like Canada’s, such a transition will impact many businesses.

“Essentially, any sector that is associated with high COemissions is at risk. This would include sectors such as the cement and steel industries, which currently have very high carbon footprints due to the inherently high-carbon oriented processes they use to create their products,” Bonham points out.

The insurance sector, in particular, is reeling from the negative effects of climate change. Hit by enormous claims associated with wildfires, floods and hurricanes, insurers are sounding the alarm about the possibility that climate change could make coverage for ordinary people unaffordable. Agriculture and food retail sectors are also vulnerable to climate change.

“A changing climate will have dramatic impacts on the supply chain that brings food to our tables,” Bonham warns. “Some of these costs will be passed on to consumers, but in the case of extreme weather events, it could lead to dramatic losses for industries. Think of losing your entire crop to extreme drought or flooding.”

Opportunities in greener portfolios

Just as extreme weather could drastically change the investment landscape, opportunities could emerge when investors, along with consumers, pivot towards a lower-carbon global economy. As with any emerging sector, it can be challenging to pick the companies that will emerge as leaders. However, companies that find solutions to climate change will attract capital and play a vital role in mitigating the economic impacts.

“There is a desperate need for capital to support the growth of innovation in renewables, energy efficiency, waste recovery, industrial processes and more,” says Bonham.

Joining the sustainability conversation are several oil and gas industry leaders who are exploring how they can fit into a low-carbon transition.

“Some of the players in the oil and gas sector are actively grappling with how to plan for the reality of a lower-carbon economy. That means if you’re committed to positions in the oil and gas sector, it’s possible to back the more progressive firms that are taking a longer-term view,” explains Bonham, adding that opportunities will also arise from investing in solutions that will sustain life.

“Water treatment is a great example. Water availability is going to be a huge issue globally, and it’s going to get much worse in areas that are arid.”

As an investor, one way you can make informed decisions about the security of your investments is to take steps to investigate if the companies you hold have a progressive climate change strategy. You can also seize investment opportunities with companies that are working towards reducing their emissions and finding innovative solutions to lessen climate change impacts. Transitioning to ETFs or funds that have a sustainability theme is one route you can explore.

It’s also important to find out if the companies you invest in are transparent about their impact on climate change. Do they have a credible strategy in place to ensure they’re not actively exacerbating the situation? Have they adopted a climate policy that helps make the transition to a low-carbon future? If you’re buying into investments managed by third parties, make sure the manager is aware of climate change risks and is engaging with the companies in your portfolio to discuss solutions.

If you want to re-imagine your portfolio, you can identify sustainability-oriented investment opportunities. You can discover which companies are leaders in adapting to climate change or investing in solutions by exploring sources such as MSCI ESG indices, Dow Jones Sustainability Indices, Corporate Knights and the Global Sustainability Leaders Index.

“There’s a path that points to where opportunities are going to come from, and these include companies that implement a thorough transition strategy and work hard to mitigate climate-related risks,” says Bonham.

Interested in learning more about responsible investing?

Visit the NEI website and click on Responsible Investing for articles, whitepapers and other resources.


Resources:

1Georgiou, Aristos. “Climate change is already costing America $500 billion a year—and this is just the tip of the iceberg.” Newsweek. November 29, 2018. https://www.newsweek.com/climate-change-already-costing-america-500-billion-year-and-just-tip-iceberg-1237143

2Lane, Timothy. “Thermometer Rising—Climate Change and Canada’s Economic Future.” Bank of Canada. March 2, 2017. https://www.bankofcanada.ca/2017/03/thermometer-rising-climate-change-canada-economic-future/

3Roman, Karina. “Climate change threatens 'both the economy and the financial system,' says Bank of Canada.” CBC News. May 16, 2019. https://www.cbc.ca/news/politics/climate-change-bank-of-canada-financial-system-review-1.5137625

Placements socialement responsables : comment les changements climatiques peuvent-ils influencer vos investissements?

Les glaciers fondent et le niveau de la mer monte. Des localités des basses terres sont inondées, tandis que des forêts sont ravagées par des incendies. Le climat de la planète change de façon importante et l’ampleur des dommages ne se limite pas à l’environnement. Les conditions météorologiques extrêmes pourraient poser plus de risques que vous le pensiez pour votre portefeuille.

Les analystes ont déjà commencé à calculer le coût du réchauffement climatique pour l’économie. En novembre 2018, un rapport du gouvernement américain présentait une conclusion alarmante : si aucun changement important n’était apporté sur le plan politique pour freiner le réchauffement climatique, la première économie mondiale chuterait d’environ 10 % d’ici 2100, soit près du double des pertes subies lors de la Grande Récession, il y a dix ans. Rien qu’aux États-Unis, le coût pour l’économie pourrait dépasser les 500 milliards de dollars américains par année d’ici la fin du siècle, selon les médias1.

« Laisser les changements climatiques continuer à leur rythme actuel risque d’être désastreux pour le portefeuille des investisseurs, puisque des conditions météorologiques extrêmes auraient des répercussions dans tous les secteurs; il serait difficile de n’être aucunement touché », affirme Jamie Bonham, directeur du engagement des sociétés chez Placements NEI, une société affiliée d’Investisseur Qtrade. « Pensez aux stations balnéaires situées dans les basses terres qui risqueront de subir la montée des eaux et une augmentation des inondations, aux infrastructures qui seront plus durement touchées par les ouragans, aux industries dépendantes de l’eau dans les régions où l’eau se fait de plus en plus rare. »

Au Canada, le sous-gouverneur de la banque centrale a déclaré que les changements climatiques pourraient coûter au pays entre 21 et 43 milliards de dollars par année d’ici les années 2050 si le réchauffement n’était pas freiné. Les risques liés au climat ont déjà commencé à peser sur l’économie. Par exemple, les feux de forêt qui ont ravagé l’Alberta au printemps 2016 ont réduit le PIB du Canada d’environ un pour cent au deuxième trimestre de la même année2.

Risques financiers liés au changement climatique

Alors que le monde se prépare à des phénomènes météorologiques de plus en plus graves, la Banque du Canada a commencé à prendre des mesures pour faire face aux changements climatiques. Pour la toute première fois, en mai 2019, la banque centrale a publié un rapport qui met en lumière les menaces que les changements climatiques font peser sur le système financier du pays . En fait, selon elle, les changements climatiques figurent parmi les six principales menaces guettant l’économie canadienne. L’un des plus grands défis auxquels sont confrontées les entreprises canadiennes est celui de s’adapter à une économie à faibles émissions de carbone et de s’exposer aux risques d’une telle transition.

« On voit bien les risques auxquels sont exposés les sociétés pétrolières et gazières, les services publics, les mines et d’autres secteurs à forte émission de carbone, explique M. Bonham. Fondamentalement, si une entreprise fabrique un produit dont plus personne n’a besoin, ou si ses coûts sont considérablement augmentés par la réglementation, par exemple si l’on impose un tarif pour les émissions de carbone, le risque commercial est évident. »

La baisse de la demande, l’augmentation des coûts de production et les changements relatifs à la réglementation font partie des risques liés au climat qui peuvent conduire à ce que l’on appelle des droits d’actifs « délaissés », c’est-à-dire qui ne peuvent plus générer un rendement économique suffisant. La valeur pour les actionnaires est dépréciée lorsque ces actifs sont dévalués ou radiés du bilan d’une société.

En vertu de l’Accord de Paris, le Canada s’est engagé à réduire ses émissions de gaz à effet de serre afin de contribuer à limiter le réchauffement planétaire à moins de 2°C. Pour respecter cet engagement, le Canada doit passer à une économie plus verte. Dans une économie tributaire des ressources naturelles comme celle du Canada, une telle transition aura des répercussions sur de nombreuses entreprises.

« Essentiellement, tout secteur associé à des émissions élevées de CO2 est menacé. Cela comprend les secteurs comme les industries du ciment et de l’acier, qui ont actuellement une empreinte carbone très élevée en raison des procédés à forte émission utilisés dans les processus de fabrication », souligne M. Bonham.

Le secteur des assurances souffre particulièrement des effets négatifs des changements climatiques. Frappés par d’énormes sinistres en raison de feux de forêt, d’inondations et d’ouragans, les assureurs sonnent l’alarme : les changements climatiques risquent de rendre leurs régimes inaccessibles aux consommateurs moyens. Les secteurs de l’agriculture et de l’alimentation au détail sont également vulnérables aux effets des changements climatiques.

« Les changements climatiques auront de graves répercussions sur la chaîne d’approvisionnement qui nous permet de nous nourrir au quotidien, prévient M. Bonham. Les consommateurs subiront une partie des hausses de coûts et les industries enregistreront de lourdes pertes en cas de conditions extrêmes. Imaginez ce que cela représente de perdre l’entièreté d’une récolte en raison d’une sécheresse extrême ou d’inondations. »

Occasions dans des portefeuilles plus écologiques

Alors que les conditions météorologiques extrêmes risquent de changer radicalement le paysage de l’investissement, il pourrait se présenter des occasions pour les investisseurs, comme pour les consommateurs, de se tourner vers une économie mondiale à faibles émissions de carbone. Comme dans tout secteur émergent, il peut être difficile de choisir les entreprises qui deviendront des chefs de file. Toutefois, les entreprises qui trouvent des solutions au changement climatique attireront des capitaux et joueront un rôle essentiel dans l’atténuation des impacts économiques.

« Le besoin en capitaux est criant pour soutenir l’innovation croissante en matière d’énergies renouvelables, d’efficacité énergétique, de récupération des déchets, de procédés industriels, et plus encore », dit Bonham.

Plusieurs chefs de file de l’industrie pétrolière et gazière se joignent à la conversation sur le développement durable et explorent comment ils peuvent, eux aussi, s’adapter à cette nouvelle économie.

« Certains acteurs du secteur pétrolier et gazier s’efforcent activement de se préparer à la réalité d’une économie à faibles émissions de carbone. Par conséquent, si vous cherchez à maintenir votre position dans ce secteur, il est possible d’appuyer les entreprises les plus progressistes qui adoptent une vision à long terme, explique M. Bonham. Des occasions se présenteront également d’investir dans des solutions qui soutiennent la vie.

Le traitement de l’eau, par exemple. La disponibilité de l’eau sera un énorme problème à l’échelle mondiale, et la situation va empirer dans les régions arides. »

Pour prendre des décisions éclairées en matière de sécurité de vos placements, vous pouvez vérifier si les entreprises dans lesquelles vous investissez ont une stratégie progressiste en matière de changements climatiques. Vous pouvez également saisir des occasions d’investissement avec des entreprises qui s’efforcent de réduire leurs émissions et de trouver des solutions novatrices pour atténuer les impacts des changements climatiques. La transition vers des fonds négociés en bourse ou des fonds qui misent sur le développement durable est une autre voie envisageable.

Il est également important de savoir si les entreprises dans lesquelles vous investissez sont transparentes quant à leur impact environnemental. Ont-elles une stratégie crédible en place pour s’assurer qu’elles n’exacerbent pas activement la situation? Ont-elles adopté une politique environnementale qui les aide à faire la transition vers un avenir faible en carbone? Si vous achetez des placements gérés par des tiers, assurez-vous que le gestionnaire est conscient des risques liés aux changements climatiques et qu’il collabore avec les sociétés de votre portefeuille pour discuter des solutions.

Si vous souhaitez repenser votre portefeuille, vous pouvez cibler des occasions d’investissement axées sur le développement durable. Vous pouvez découvrir quelles entreprises sont des chefs de file en matière d’investissement dans des solutions et d’adaptation aux changements climatiques en explorant des sources comme les indices d’ESG de MSCI, les indices Dow Jones de développement durable, le magazine Corporate Knights et le Global Sustainability Leaders Index.

« Il est possible de prévoir d’où viendront les occasions d’investissements : notamment, des entreprises qui mettent sur pied une stratégie étoffée pour passer à une économie à faibles émissions de carbone et qui déploient beaucoup d’efforts pour réduire les risques liés au climat », affirme M. Bonham.

Vous aimeriez approfondir vos connaissances des placements socialement responsables?

Visitez le site Web de Placements NEI et cliquez sur Investissement responsable pour consulter des articles, des livres blancs et d’autres ressources sur le sujet.


Ressources:

1Georgiou, Aristos. “Climate change is already costing America $500 billion a year—and this is just the tip of the iceberg.” Newsweek. November 29, 2018. https://www.newsweek.com/climate-change-already-costing-america-500-billion-year-and-just-tip-iceberg-1237143

2Lane, Timothy. “Thermometer Rising—Climate Change and Canada’s Economic Future.” Bank of Canada. March 2, 2017. https://www.bankofcanada.ca/2017/03/thermometer-rising-climate-change-canada-economic-future/

3Roman, Karina. “Climate change threatens 'both the economy and the financial system,' says Bank of Canada.” CBC News. May 16, 2019. https://www.cbc.ca/news/politics/climate-change-bank-of-canada-financial-system-review-1.5137625