Five easy steps to help you achieve your savings resolution

Is improving your finances one of your New Year’s resolutions? If it is, then you’re in good company. Roughly half of people who plan to make a resolution say theirs will focus on finances.1  

To be successful in any goal, you need to make a plan. Here are five steps you can take to help you boost your savings and achieve your financial resolution.

Review your budget

Before you set your goal, it’s important to be realistic about what you can save. Make an accurate listing of your total monthly income and expenses (including bills and living costs) to assess what you can reasonably commit to saving. If the result wasn’t what you were hoping for, try trimming your expenses or looking for other income opportunities.

Make your goal specific

Knowing you want to save more is one thing, but research shows you have a better chance of success if you have an explicit goal in mind.2 So make your goal specific. If you’re saving for a vacation or other major purchase, determine how much you need to save every month to have the amount you need by the target date. For longer-term goals like retirement or a down payment on a home, set aside a defined amount each month to reach your annual savings goal.

Schedule contributions

Once you’ve determined how much to save, the next step is to make consistent contributions. There are many ways to do this, but the easiest is to set up a Pre-Authorized Contribution. Just set the amount and the frequency, and the funds will automatically transfer to your savings or investing account. For more information on the benefits of automatic contributions, check out our article.  

Track your progress

One study suggests that tracking progress may be just as important as setting the goal in the first place.3 Not only is it motivating to see your progress towards accomplishing your goal, tracking also helps you make adjustments if your plan isn’t quite working. Visual tools, such as Qtrade Investor’s Contribution trackers for RRSP and TFSA accounts, are a great way to see how you’re doing.

Maximize your savings

The purchasing power of cash gets eroded over time by inflation. So once you’ve built up some savings, consider putting it to work. If you’ll need access to the money within a couple of years, you should play it safe: investments like GICs or high-interest savings accounts can help you earn some interest without exposing you to market risk. For medium- and longer-term goals, you can seek higher returns by investing a portion of your savings in instruments like stocks, bonds, ETFs and mutual funds. It’s always good to be careful about your risk exposure but, generally speaking, the longer your time horizon, the more aggressive you can be since your investments have time to recover from a downturn. 

These easy steps can help you commit to your savings goals and improve your financial well being. And once your plan is in place, you may be surprised at how quickly your habits adjust.


Lohr, Annaleise Azevedo. “Urban Plates/Ipsos Poll 2020 New Year’s Resolutions.” www.Ipsos.com. Dec 11, 2019. https://www.ipsos.com/en-us/news-polls/urban-plates-ipsos-NY-Resolutions

Houston, Elaine. “What is goal setting and how to do it well.” www.positivepsychology.com. Nov 20, 2019. https://positivepsychology.com/goal-setting/

Hirsch, Wendy. “Goal Monitoring: Why it pays to keep your eye on the prize.” www.scienceforwork.com. June 5, 2017. https://scienceforwork.com/blog/goal-monitoring/

Cinq étapes faciles pour vous aider à respecter votre résolution d’épargne

L’amélioration de vos finances fait-elle partie de vos résolutions du Nouvel An? Si c’est le cas, alors vous n’êtes pas seul. De toutes les personnes qui envisagent de prendre une résolution, près de la moitié affirme que celle-ci sera axée sur les finances1.

Pour atteindre un objectif, quel qu’il soit, vous devez établir un plan. Voici cinq étapes à suivre pour faire fructifier votre épargne et respecter votre résolution financière.

Analysez votre budget

Avant de vous fixer un objectif, il est important d’être réaliste quant au montant que vous pouvez épargner. Dressez une liste précise de la totalité de vos revenus mensuels et de vos dépenses mensuelles (y compris les factures et le coût de la vie) pour évaluer le montant raisonnable que vous pouvez vous engager à épargner. Si le résultat n’est pas celui que vous espériez, essayez de réduire vos dépenses ou de chercher d’autres possibilités de revenus.

Précisez votre objectif

Savoir que vous voulez épargner davantage est une chose, mais des recherches montrent que vos chances de réussite sont meilleurs si vous avez un objectif clair en tête2. Alors, précisez votre objectif. Si vous épargnez pour un voyage ou un autre achat important, déterminez le montant que vous devez épargner chaque mois pour obtenir le montant voulu à la date cible. Pour des objectifs à long terme comme la retraite ou une mise de fonds sur une maison, mettez de côté un montant défini chaque mois pour atteindre votre objectif d’épargne annuel.

Planifiez vos cotisations

Une fois que vous avez déterminé le montant à épargner, l’étape suivante consiste à verser des cotisations régulièrement. Il existe plusieurs façons de le faire, mais l’établissement d’un prélèvement préautorisé est de loin la plus simple. Il suffit de définir le montant et la fréquence, et les fonds seront automatiquement transférés dans votre compte d’épargne ou de placement. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les avantages des cotisations automatiques, consultez notre article à ce sujet.

Suivez vos progrès

Selon une étude, le suivi des progrès peut être tout aussi important que la fixation initiale d’un objectif3. Non seulement voir vos progrès vers l’atteinte de votre objectif est motivant, mais faire leur suivi vous permet aussi d’ajuster votre plan si ce dernier ne fonctionne pas tout à fait. Des outils visuels comme les outils de suivi des cotisations d’Investisseur Qtrade pour les comptes REER et CELI, sont une excellente façon de voir comment vous vous en sortez.

Maximisez vos économies

L’inflation entraîne une érosion du pouvoir d’achat au fil du temps. Par conséquent, une fois que vous avez accumulé des économies, pensez à les mettre à profit. Si vous devez avoir accès à vos économies d’ici quelques années, soyez prudent; des placements comme les certificats de placement garanti ou les comptes d’épargne à intérêt élevé peuvent vous aider à obtenir un certain intérêt sans vous exposer au risque de marché. Pour des objectifs à moyen et à long terme, vous pouvez rechercher des rendements plus élevés en investissant une partie de vos économies dans des instruments comme les actions, les obligations, les fonds négociés en bourse et les fonds communs de placement. Il est toujours bon de faire attention à votre exposition au risque, mais en général, plus votre horizon temporel est long, plus vous pouvez être audacieux puisque vos placements ont le temps de se remettre d’un ralentissement.

Ces étapes simples peuvent vous aider à atteindre vos objectifs d’épargne et à améliorer votre bien-être financier. Une fois votre plan établi, vous serez peut-être surpris de votre capacité d’adaptation.


1 LOHR, Annaleise Azevedo. « Urban Plates/Ipsos Poll 2020 New Year’s Resolutions », www.ipsos.com, 11 décembre 2019. Sur Internet : <https://www.ipsos.com/en-us/news-polls/urban-plates-ipsos-NY-Resolutions>.

2 HOUSTON, Elaine. « What is goal setting and how to do it well », www.positivepsychology.com, 20 novembre 2019. Sur Internet : <https://positivepsychology.com/goal-setting/>.

3 HIRSCH, Wendy. « Goal Monitoring: Why it pays to keep your eye on the prize », www.scienceforwork.com, 5 juin 2017. Sur Internet : <https://scienceforwork.com/blog/goal-monitoring/>.