TFSA basics

The Tax-Free Savings Account (TFSA) is a versatile general-purpose investing account. Like RRSPs and RESPs, the TFSA is a registered account that provides tax-sheltered earnings within the account. An added benefit is that withdrawals from a TFSA are not subject to tax.

This article summarizes the key features, rules and advantages to be aware of.

TFSA key features and rules

Eligibility

Individuals with a valid Canadian Social Insurance Number who are 18 years of age or older and who live in Canada.

Note: A person with a valid SIN who is a non-resident of Canada for income tax purposes can open a TFSA, but contributions made while the person is a non-resident are subject to a 1% tax for each month that the contribution remains in the account.*

Tax treatment

Contributions must be made from after-tax income. However, earnings within the account are not taxable. And you don't pay tax when you withdraw your money either.

Annual contribution limit

$5,500 per year as of 2018.

In December 2015, the federal government reset the TFSA annual contribution limit to $5,500, effective January 1, 2016. The previous government had raised the limit to $10,000 in 2015. The higher limit for 2015 counts toward your lifetime total. For 2018, the annual limit remains frozen at $5,500.

Contribution room carry-forward

Unused contribution amounts can be carried forward and used in subsequent years.

If you have never contributed to a TFSA, and you were at least 18 years old in 2009, then as of 2018 you have accumulated $57,500 of contribution room.

Withdrawals

Withdraw funds from your TFSA any time. Amounts withdrawn in a given year are added back to your contribution room for the next year — regardless of whether the amounts withdrawn are your original contribution or the earnings from your investments.

Over-contribution penalty

There is a penalty if you accidentally contribute more than your allowable limit. In that case, a tax equal to 1% of the highest excess TFSA amount in the month will be applied for each month that you are in an excess contribution position.

TFSA advantages

The TFSA is attractive to a wide range of Canadian investors in different circumstances because of these key advantages:

Tax-free earnings and withdrawals

Contributions must be made-from after-tax dollars. But once contributed, your money is completely sheltered from Canadian tax. Income, dividends and capital gains accrue in the account tax free. And your withdrawals are not treated as taxable income. No other registered plan offers equivalent tax advantages.

Since earnings and withdrawals are not included as income for tax purposes, they don't impact your eligibility for Old Age Security, or for any other income-tested federal benefits.

Equal eligibility

Everyone has the same contribution room. You don't need to have earned income in order to accumulate contribution room. So if you are retired or not currently working, you can still contribute to a TFSA.

Liquidity

TFSA rules allow you to withdraw funds whenever you want, for any purpose. This liquidity makes the TFSA an extremely useful general-purpose account for a wide range of long- and short-term saving and investing goals. You can use a TFSA to grow your retirement nest egg or to save in order to start a business. You can also use a TFSA to build an emergency fund, or save for a major purchase such as a home, new car, or vacation.

No age limit on contributions

As long as you are eligible, you can contribute every year to your TFSA for as long as you like. And you can maintain your TFSA for as long as you like — there is no requirement to withdraw assets or collapse your account by a certain age. This makes the TFSA a valuable complement to your RRSP or RRIF.

Investment choice

Investment choice is another key benefit of the TFSA. With a self-directed TFSA, you are in full control. You can hold a wide range of eligible investments in your TFSA, and create an asset mix that is appropriate for your objectives, timeline and tolerance for risk.

Generally, the types of investments permitted in a TFSA are the same as those permitted in a registered retirement savings plan (RRSP). These include:

  • Securities such as stocks and exchange-traded funds (ETFs) listed on a designated stock exchange
  • Bonds
  • Mutual funds
  • Guaranteed Investment Certificates (GICs)
  • Cash

For more information about qualified investments, visit the TFSA section of the Canada Revenue Agency website.

Don't have a TFSA yet? Whether you are retired or nearing retirement, early or mid-career, married or single, a TFSA should probably have a place in your financial roadmap.

Open an account

 

If you transfer TFSA assets from another institution to your Qtrade Investor account, we will cover your transfer-out fees up to $150. For terms and conditions of that offer, and for help with your transfer, visit our Account Transfer page.

For help with TFSA accounts with Qtrade Investor, please speak to one of our investment representatives.

* If you have questions about potential tax implications, please contact Canada Revenue Agency or a qualified tax specialist.

L'a b c du CELI

Le compte d'épargne libre d'impôt (CELI) est un compte de placement général polyvalent. Comme le régime enregistré d'épargne-retraite (REER) et le régime enregistré d'épargne-études (REEE), le CELI est un compte enregistré qui offre un abri fiscal à vos revenus. De plus, les retraits d'un CELI ne sont pas imposables.

Cet article présente un résumé de ses caractéristiques, de ses règles et de ses avantages à connaître.

Caractéristiques et règles principales du CELI

Admissibilité

Sont admissibles les personnes âgées de plus de 18 ans qui possèdent un numéro d'assurance sociale (NAS) canadien valide et qui vivent au Canada.

Nota : Une personne qui possède un NAS valide mais qui est considérée comme non-résident du Canada aux fins de l'impôt sur le revenu peut tout de même ouvrir un CELI. Par contre, les cotisations versées par ce non-résident sont sujettes à un impôt de 1 % pour chaque mois durant lequel les cotisations demeurent dans le compte*.

Traitement fiscal

Les cotisations doivent être composées de revenu net d'impôt. Cependant, les revenus du compte ne sont pas imposables. Vous ne paierez pas d'impôt non plus lorsque vous retirerez vos fonds.

Plafond de cotisation annuel

5 500 $ par an à partir de 2018.

En décembre 2015, le gouvernement fédéral a remis la limite de contribution annuelle à un CELI à 5 500 $, à compter du 1er janvier 2016. Le gouvernement précédent avait augmenté la limite à 10 000 $ en 2015. La limite supérieure pour 2015 compte pour le total de l'ensemble de votre vie active. Pour 2018, la limite annuelle est toujours de 5 500 $.

Droits de cotisation reportés

Les montants de cotisation inutilisés peuvent être reportés et utilisés les années suivantes.

Si vous n'avez jamais cotisé à un CELI, et que vous étiez âgé d'au moins 18 ans en 2009, vous avez accumulé 57 500 $ de droits de cotisation pour l'année 2018.

Retraits

Vous pouvez retirer des fonds de votre CELI à tout moment. Les montants retirés au cours d'une année peuvent être ajoutés à vos droits de cotisation pour l'année suivante — peu importe s'il s'agit de votre cotisation de départ ou des revenus provenant des placements.

Pénalité en cas d'excédent de cotisation

Une pénalité vous est infligée si vous cotisez accidentellement plus que la limite autorisée. Dans ce cas, vous êtes assujetti à un impôt de 1 % sur le montant le plus élevé de votre excédent CELI du mois, et ce, pour chaque mois durant lequel vous dépassez le plafond de cotisation.

Avantages du CELI

Le CELI est intéressant pour un grand nombre d'investisseurs canadiens dans différentes circonstances, car ils disposent d'avantages clés :

Des revenus et des retraits exonérés d'impôt

Les cotisations doivent être composées de dollars nets d'impôt. Une fois que vous avez cotisé, vos fonds sont à l'abri de l'impôt canadien. Le revenu, les dividendes et le gain en capital augmentent dans le compte tout en étant à l'abri de l'impôt, et vos retraits ne sont pas considérés comme des revenus imposables. Aucun autre régime enregistré n'offre de tels avantages fiscaux.

Comme les revenus et les retraits ne sont pas considérés comme des revenus aux fins de l'impôt, ils n'ont pas d'incidence sur votre admissibilité à la Sécurité de la vieillesse, ou à toute autre prestation fédérale fondée sur l'étude du revenu.

Une admissibilité pour tous

Tous les Canadiens disposent des mêmes droits de cotisation. Vous n'avez pas besoin de gagner un revenu pour accumuler des droits de cotisation. Si vous êtes à la retraite ou si vous ne travaillez pas pour le moment, vous pouvez donc quand même cotiser à un CELI.

La liquidité

La réglementation concernant le CELI permet de retirer des fonds à tout moment, quelle que soit la raison du retrait. Cette liquidité fait du CELI un compte général très utile pour toute une gamme d'objectifs d'épargne et de placement à long et court termes. Vous pouvez utiliser le CELI pour construire votre épargne-retraite ou pour économiser afin de lancer une entreprise. Vous pouvez aussi vous servir du CELI comme fonds d'urgence, pour économiser avant un achat important comme une maison ou une nouvelle voiture, ou encore pour mettre des fonds de côté pour partir en vacances.

Aucune limite d'âge pour les cotisations

Tant que vous êtes admissible, vous pouvez cotiser à votre CELI chaque année, pendant autant de temps que vous le souhaitez. Et vous pouvez garder votre CELI autant de temps que vous le voulez — il n'existe aucune exigence de retrait d'actifs ou de fermeture du compte à partir d'un âge précis. Le CELI est donc un bon complément à votre REER ou à votre fonds enregistré de revenu de retraite (FERR).

Options de placement

Les options de placement représentent un autre avantage du CELI. Avec un CELI autogéré, vous avez tout le contrôle. Vous pouvez détenir toute une gamme de placements admissibles dans votre CELI, et créer une composition d'actifs adaptée à vos objectifs, à vos échéances et à votre tolérance au risque.

Habituellement, les types de placements permis dans un CELI sont les mêmes que ceux permis dans un REER. Voici les types de placement inclus :

  • Les valeurs mobilières comme les actions et les fonds négociés en bourse (FNB) inscrits sur un marché boursier agréé;
  • Les obligations;
  • Les fonds communs de placement;
  • Les certificats de placement garanti (CPG);
  • L'argent comptant.

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements au sujet des placements admissibles, consultez la section CELI du site Web de l'Agence du revenu du Canada (ARC).

Vous n'avez pas encore de CELI? Que vous soyez déjà ou bientôt à la retraite, au début ou au cœur de votre carrière, marié ou célibataire, le CELI a sa place dans votre parcours financier.

Ouvrir un compte

 

Investisseur Qtrade remboursera jusqu'à 150 $ de vos frais de transfert si vous transférez les actifs d'un CELI à votre compte Investisseur Qtrade à partir d'un autre établissement financier. Pour connaître les modalités de cette offre, ou pour obtenir de l'aide pour votre transfert, rendez-vous à notre page de Transfert de compte.

Pour obtenir de l'aide au sujet des CELI à Investisseur Qtrade, communiquez avec l'un de nos représentants en investissements.