Registered Retirement Savings Plan

Saving for your retirement? The Registered Retirement Savings Plan (RRSP), a tax-deferred registered account, is specifically designed to help you save for your retirement. Because of their tax advantages RRSP are an important tool in the retirement planning toolbox for Canadians.

A smarter way to save for retirement

Reduce your annual tax bill

You can claim the deduction of RRSP contributions on your income taxes, and any unused contribution room carries over to the next year. 

Grow your assets tax free 

Any investment income, dividends or capital gains you earn in your RRSP is tax deferred. You only pay taxes on that income when you withdraw from your RRSP.

Use it for more than just retirement

You can withdraw funds. from your RRSP for a qualifying home purchase or to enrol in a full-time education program.

RRSP Basics

  • The RRSP is a registered account designed to help Canadians save for retirement.
  • You can open an RRSP if you:
    • are a Canadian resident with a Social Insurance Number
    • are between 18 and 71 years old
    • have earned income and have filed a tax return
  • RRSP contributions are tax-deductible, potentially lowering your income tax bill.
  • Each year, you to contribute the lesser of 18% of your earned income from the previous year (to an annual maximum, $30,780 in 2023), minus any company-sponsored pension plan contributions.
  • RRSPs allow for a lifetime overcontribution amount of $2,000.
    • Like TFSAs and FHSAs, a tax on overcontributions (over the allowable $2,000) to an RRSP would apply for each month (or part-month) that the account is over the limit. The tax applies at the rate of 1% of the highest amount of the excess that existed in that month.
  • RRSP withdrawals can be made tax free in the case of the Home Buyers Plan and Lifelong Learning Plan. Any other withdrawals are subject to withholding tax and must be included as income on that year’s tax return.
  • Any investment income you earn in your RRSP can grow tax free until it is withdrawn.
  • You must close your RRSP by December 31 of the year in which you turn 71 years old. The money can be transferred into a Registered Retirement Income Fund (RRIF), to an annuity, or the funds withdrawn.

How you invest is up to you

A self-directed RRSP allows you to choose and manage your own investments within the account. You can buy and sell stocks, bonds, and other securities, giving you greater control over the investment options and potentially greater returns. 

Learn more in our Beginners guide to investing online→

What's the best account option for me?

FHSA TFSA RRSP
A registered account that allows prospective first-time home buyers to save for a down payment on a tax-free basis A versatile and flexible registered tax-free investing account. A tax-deferred registered retirement account
Annual Contribution Limit: $8,000 Annual Contribution Limit: $7,000 Annual Contribution Limit: 18% of the previous years' income, up to $31, 560
Contributions are tax-deductible and qualifying withdrawals are tax-free Withdrawals are tax-free Contributions are tax deductible. Withdrawals (except in the case of the Home Buyer’s Plan or Lifelong Learning Plan) are subject to withholding tax

Annual contribution deadline:
December 31

Learn more about FHSAs

Annual contribution deadline:
December 31

Learn more about TFSAs

Annual contribution deadline:
February 29



Open a Qtrade RRSP

  1. To set up an RRSP, complete the application to open a Qtrade RRSP account.
  2. If you have an existing RRSP account, it can be transferred from one provider to another without tax consequences. The transfer process involves opening a new RRSP account with Qtrade and initiating a transfer request from the existing account.
  3. You can open an RRSP if you are: a Canadian resident with a Social Insurance Number, have earned income (and have filed a tax return), are between 18** and 71 years old.

 

**Technically, there is no minimum age to have an RRSP, but to open an RRSP at Qtrade, you must be the age of majority in the province where you reside.

Open an account

Frequently asked questions

  • You can open an RRSP if you:

    • are a Canadian resident and have a Social Insurance number
    • are between 18 and 71 years old
    • have earned income and have filed a tax return in Canada
  • Your allowable RRSP contribution room is the lower of:

    • 18% of the earned income reported on your tax return for the previous year
    • The maximum annual contribution limit for the year (for 2024 tax year, the maximum is $31, 560)
    • The remaining limit after any employer-sponsored pension plan contribution (known as your “pension adjustment”, found on your T4 or T4A slip).

    Since 1991, the government has allowed RRSP holders to carry forward unused RRSP contribution room. If there are income-earning years in which you filed a tax return but did not make an RRSP contribution, you can use that room to catch up on your contributions. Your excess RRSP contribution room is listed on your previous year’s Notice of Assessment, or by logging in to the Government of Canada’s My Account.

  • Any withdrawal from your RRSP (except in the case of the Home Buyer’s Plan or Lifelong Learning Plan) is subject to withholding tax and is treated as taxable income in the year it is withdrawn. You must include it as income on that year’s tax return.

    The financial institution where you hold your RRSP will withhold a percentage of the amount withdrawn.

    • 10% on withdrawals up to $5,000 (5% in Quebec)
    • 20% on withdrawals between $5,000 and $15,000 (10% in Quebec)
    • 30% on withdrawals over $15,000 (15% in Quebec)
  • You cannot open a joint RRSP. However, you can open a spousal RRSP, which is an account registered in the name of your spouse (or common-law partner). They direct the investments within the RRSP, but you make the contributions to it, and get the tax deduction benefit on your own tax return.

    When you contribute to your spouse’s RRSP, you reduce your own contribution limit, but receive the deduction on your taxes. If your spouse earns a lower income than you, that deduction could make a bigger difference on your tax return than on theirs.

    Contributing to a spousal RRSP can help you and your spouse split your income more evenly in retirement. This could be helpful if you earn more money than your spouse and you’re likely to be in a higher tax bracket when you both retire. It could also help if you have a pension plan from your job and your spouse does not. However, if your spouse’s income will be in line with yours in retirement, a spousal RRSP is likely unnecessary. 

  • The HBP lets you withdraw up to $35,000 from your RRSP to buy or build a qualifying home. To qualify, you must be considered a first-time home buyer, be a Canadian resident, and intend to occupy the home within one year of buying/building it. You won’t have to pay tax on the withdrawal as long as you pay back the funds to your RRSP over a period of 15 years.

    For more information, please visit the Government of Canada’s web page.

  • The Lifelong Learning Plan (LLP) allows you to withdraw from your RRSP to pay for full-time training or education for you or your spouse/common-law partner. You can withdraw up to $10,000 per calendar year, to a total of $20,000. You won’t have to pay tax on the withdrawals as long as you pay back the funds to your RRSP over a period of 10 years.

    For more information, please visit the Government of Canada’s web page.

Aviso Wealth Inc. (“Aviso Wealth”) is the parent company of Credential Qtrade Securities Inc. Aviso Wealth is a wholly-owned subsidiary of Aviso Wealth Limited Partnership, which in turn is owned 50% by Desjardins Financial Holdings Inc. and 50% by a limited partnership owned by the five Provincial Credit Union Centrals and the CUMIS Group Limited.

Online brokerage services are offered through Qtrade Investor, a division of Credential Qtrade Securities Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Aviso Wealth Inc. and Member of the Canadian Investor Protection Fund.

Northwest & Ethical Investments L.P (“NEI” or “NEI Investments”) is a subsidiary of Aviso Wealth; and NEI Funds are related issuers of Credential Qtrade Securities Inc.

This material is for informational purposes only. While this material has been compiled from sources believed to be reliable, Qtrade Investor does not guarantee the accuracy, completeness, timeliness or reliability of this information. Information, figures and charts are summarized for illustrative purposes only and are subject to change without notice. All investments are subject to risk, including the possible loss of principal.

Régime enregistré d’épargne-retraite 

Souhaitez-vous épargner en vue de votre retraite? Le Régime enregistré d’épargne-retraite (REER), un compte à imposition différée, est spécialement conçu pour vous aider à épargner en vue de la retraite. En raison de leurs avantages fiscaux, les REER constituent un instrument important dans la trousse d’outils de planification de la retraite dont disposent les Canadiennes et les Canadiens.

Une façon plus optimale d’épargner pour la retraite

Réduisez votre facture d’impôt annuelle

Vous pouvez déduire les cotisations que vous effectuez à un REER dans votre déclaration de revenus, et vous pouvez reporter vos droits de cotisation inutilisés à l’année suivante. 

 

Faites fructifier vos actifs à l’abri de l’impôt 

Tout revenu, dividende et gain en capital que vous gagnez sur vos placements dans votre REER est à imposition différée. Vous n’avez pas à payer d’impôt sur ce revenu que lorsque vous retirez des fonds de votre REER.

Utilisez-le pour bien plus que la retraite

Vous pouvez retirer des fonds de votre REER pour l’achat d’une habitation admissible ou pour vous inscrire à un programme d’études à temps plein.

Notions de base des REER

  • Un REER est un compte enregistré conçu pour aider les Canadiennes et les Canadiens à épargner en vue de la retraite. 
  • Vous pouvez ouvrir un REER si :
    • vous êtes un résident canadien et avez un numéro d’assurance sociale
    • vous avez entre 18 et 71 ans
    • vous avez gagné un revenu et avez produit une déclaration de revenus
  • Les cotisations au REER sont déductibles d’impôt, ce qui pourrait réduire votre facture d’impôt sur le revenu.
  • Chaque année, vous pouvez cotiser le montant le moins élevé entre 18 % de votre revenu gagné de l’année précédente (jusqu’à un plafond annuel de 30 780 $ en 2023), moins toutes les cotisations à un régime de retraite de société.
  • Les REER autorisent une cotisation excédentaire à vie de 2 000 $.
    • À l’instar d’un CELI et d’un CELIAPP, une pénalité sur les cotisations excédentaires (au-delà des 2 000 $ autorisés) à un REER s’applique chaque mois (ou partie de mois) où le compte dépasse le plafond. La pénalité s’applique au taux de 1 % du montant le plus élevé de l’excédent au cours du mois en question.
  • Les retraits d’un REER peuvent être effectués à l’abri de l’impôt dans le cas du Régime d’accession à la propriété et du Régime d’encouragement à l’éducation permanente. Tous les autres retraits sont soumis à une retenue d’impôt et doivent être inclus comme revenu dans la déclaration de revenus de l’année en question.
  • Tout revenu de placement que vous gagnez dans votre REER peut fructifier à l’abri de l’impôt jusqu’à ce qu’il soit retiré.
  • Vous devez fermer votre REER au plus tard le 31 décembre de l’année au cours de laquelle vous atteignez l’âge de 71 ans. L’argent peut être transféré dans un fonds enregistré de revenu de retraite (FERR), dans une rente, ou les fonds peuvent être retirés. 

La façon dont vous investissez dépend de vous

Un REER autogéré vous permet de choisir et de gérer vos propres placements dans le compte. Vous pouvez acheter et vendre des actions, des obligations et d’autres titres, ce qui vous donne un plus grand contrôle sur les options de placement et potentiellement des rendements plus élevés.

En savoir plus dans notre guide d’initiation aux placements en ligne

Quelle est la meilleure option de compte pour moi?

CELI APP         CELI  REER
Un compte enregistré conçu pour aider les futurs acheteurs d’une première propriété à épargner en vue d’une mise de fonds Un compte de placement enregistré libre d’impôt flexible Un compte enregistré flexible à imposition différée conçu pour aider à épargner en vue de la retraite
Plafond de cotisation annuel :  8 000 $  Plafond de cotisation annuel : 7 000 $ Plafond de cotisation annuel : 18 % du revenu de l’année précédente jusqu’à un maximum de 31 560 $
Les cotisations sont déductibles d’impôt et les retraits admissisbles sont à l'abri de l'impôt Les retraits sont libres d’impôt Les cotisations sont déductibles d’impôt. Les retraits (sauf dans le cas du Régime d’accession à la propriété ou du Régime d’encouragement à l’éducation permanente) sont assujettis à une retenue d’impôt

Date limite de cotisation annuelle : 
31 décembre

En savoir plus sur les CELIAPP

Date limite de cotisation annuelle :
31 décembre

En savoir plus sur les CELI

Date limite de cotisation annuelle :
29 février



Ouvrir un REER auprès de Qtrade

  1. Pour établir un REER, remplissez la demande d’ouverture d’un REER auprès de Qtrade.
  2. Si vous avez déjà un REER, il peut être transféré d’un fournisseur à un autre sans incidence fiscale. Le processus de transfert comprend l’ouverture d’un nouveau REER auprès de Qtrade et l’établissement d’une demande de transfert à partir du compte existant.
  3. Vous pouvez ouvrir un REER si : vous êtes un résident canadien et avez un numéro d’assurance sociale, vous avez gagné un revenu (et avez produit une déclaration de revenus), et vous avez entre 18** et 71 ans.

 

**Techniquement, il n’y a pas d’âge minimal pour détenir un REER, cependant pour ouvrir un REER auprès de Qtrade, vous devez avoir l’âge de la majorité dans la province où vous résidez.

Ouvrir un compte

Foire aux questions (FAQ)

  • Vous pouvez ouvrir un REER si :

    • vous êtes un résident canadien et avez un numéro d’assurance sociale
    • vous avez entre 18 et 71 ans
    • vous avez gagné un revenu et avez produit une déclaration de revenus au Canada
  • Vos droits de cotisation à un REER correspondent au montant le moins élevé parmi les suivants :

    • 18 % du revenu gagné déclaré dans votre déclaration de revenus de l’année précédente.
    • Le plafond de cotisation annuel pour l’année en cours (pour l’année d’imposition 2023, le plafond est de 30 780 $).
    • les droits de cotisation restants après toute cotisation à un régime de retraite d’employeur (appelée « facteur d’équivalence »; vous la trouverez sur votre feuillet T4 ou T4A).

    Depuis 1991, le gouvernement permet aux titulaires de REER de reporter leurs droits de cotisation inutilisés à un REER. Si vous n’avez pas cotisé à votre REER au cours d’années où vous avez gagné un revenu et produit une déclaration de revenus, vous pouvez vous servir de ces droits de cotisation inutilisés pour rattraper vos cotisations. Vos droits de cotisation inutilisés à un REER sont indiqués sur votre avis de cotisation de l’année précédente ou dans votre compte Mon dossier en ligne du gouvernement du Canada.

  • Tout retrait de votre REER (sauf dans le cas du Régime d’accession à la propriété ou du Régime d’encouragement à l’éducation permanente) est assujetti à une retenue d’impôt et est considéré comme un revenu imposable pour l’année du retrait. Vous devez l’inclure comme revenu dans la déclaration de revenus de l’année en question.

     

    L’institution financière où vous détenez votre REER retiendra un pourcentage du montant retiré.

    • 10 % sur les retraits jusqu’à 5 000 $ (5 % au Québec)
    • 20 % sur les retraits entre 5 000 $ et 15 000 $ (10 % au Québec)
    • 30 % sur les retraits de plus de 15 000 $ (15 % au Québec)
  • Vous ne pouvez pas ouvrir un REER conjoint. En revanche, vous pouvez ouvrir un REER de conjoint, c’est-à-dire un compte enregistré au nom de votre époux (ou conjoint de fait). Ils gèrent les placements dans le REER, mais c’est vous qui y versez les cotisations et qui bénéficiez de la déduction fiscale sur votre propre déclaration de revenus.

    Lorsque vous cotisez au REER de votre conjoint, vous réduisez votre plafond de cotisation, mais vous recevez la déduction d’impôt. Si le revenu de votre conjoint est inférieur au vôtre, cette déduction pourrait avoir beaucoup plus d’effet sur votre déclaration de revenus que sur la sienne.

     

    Cotiser à un REER de conjoint peut vous aider, vous et votre conjoint, à mieux répartir votre revenu à la retraite. Cela peut être utile si vous gagnez plus d’argent que votre conjoint et que vous vous situerez probablement dans une tranche d’imposition plus élevée lorsque vous prendrez tous les deux votre retraite. Cela peut également s’avérer utile si vous bénéficiez d’un régime de retraite d’employeur et que votre conjoint n’en bénéficie pas. Toutefois, si le revenu de votre conjoint correspond au vôtre à la retraite, un REER de conjoint n’est probablement donc pas nécessaire. 

  • Le RAP vous permet de retirer jusqu’à 35 000 $ de votre REER pour acheter ou construire une habitation admissible. Pour être admissible, vous devez être considéré comme l’acheteur d’une première habitation, être résident canadien et avoir l’intention d’occuper le logement dans l’année qui suit son achat ou sa construction. Vous n’aurez pas à payer d’impôt sur le retrait, à condition que vous remboursiez les fonds retirés de votre REER sur une période de 15 ans.

    Pour obtenir plus d’informations, veuillez consulter le site Web du gouvernement du Canada.

  • Le Régime d’encouragement à l’éducation permanente (REEP) vous permet de retirer des fonds de votre REER pour financer une formation ou des études à temps plein pour vous ou votre époux/conjoint de fait. Vous pouvez retirer jusqu’à 10 000 $ par année civile, pour un total de 20 000 $. Vous n’aurez pas à payer d’impôt sur les retraits, à condition que vous remboursiez les fonds retirés de votre REER sur une période de 10 ans.

    Pour obtenir plus d’informations, veuillez consulter le site Web du gouvernement du Canada.

Patrimoine Aviso Inc. (« Patrimoine Aviso ») est la société mère de Valeurs mobilières Credential Qtrade Inc. (« CQSI »), de Gestion d'actif Credential (« GAC »), de Gestion d'actifs Qtrade (« GAQ ») et de Placements NordOuest & Éthiques S.E.C. (« NEI »). Placements NEI est une marque déposée de NEI. Toute utilisation d'un nom commercial ou d'une marque de commerce de Patrimoine Aviso par CQSI, GAC, GAQ ou NEI est faite avec le consentement ou la licence de Patrimoine Aviso. Patrimoine Aviso est une filiale en propriété exclusive de Patrimoine Aviso S.E.C., détenue à 50 % respectivement par Desjardins Holding financier Inc. et par une société en commandite qui appartient aux cinq centrales de caisse de crédit provinciales et au Groupe CUMIS limitée. Les fonds communs de placement et les autres valeurs mobilières sont offerts par Valeurs mobilières Credential et Conseiller Qtrade, une division de Valeurs mobilières Credential Qtrade Inc. Les fonds communs de placement sont offerts par l'intermédiaire de Gestion d'actif Credential Inc. et de Gestion d'actifs Qtrade (un nom commercial de Gestion d'actif Credential Inc.).

Ce matériel est fourni à des fins informatives et éducatives et ne vise pas à fournir des conseils précis, y compris, sans toutefois s'y limiter, sur les placements, les finances, les impôts ou d'autres sujets similaires. Ce document est publié par CQSI, GAC et GAQ et, à moins d'indication contraire, tous les points de vue exprimés dans ce document sont ceux de CQSI, de GAC et de GAQ. Les points de vue exprimés dans le présent document peuvent changer sans préavis à mesure que les marchés changent au fil du temps.