RRIF Basics

Your registered retirement savings plan (RRSP) matures when you turn 71 years of age. That means by December 31 of the year you turn 71, you must close out your RRSP.

You can withdraw the RRSP funds as a lump-sum payment or transfer them to an annuity, but most people choose to roll their RRSP into a registered retirement income fund (RRIF), an account type designed to pay regular income to its holder.

Get a Qtrade RRIF working for you.

What is a RRIF?

A RRIF is a registered, tax-deferred financial product, just like an RRSP. But while RRSPs are designed for retirement savings, RRIFs are designed to provide retirement income. The investments in your RRIF continue to grow tax-free and withdrawals are treated as income for tax purposes. After you have opened a RRIF, you can transfer cash and investments from RRSPs, pooled registered pension plans (PRPPs) and registered pension plans (RPPs). Withdrawals begin the year after you open your RRIF and have an annual minimum that increases every year. If you choose to, you can also withdraw more than the minimum amount.

What are the benefits of a RRIF account?

 

RRIFs tend to be the most popular option because of the independence and flexibility they allow.

  • You can carry on managing the same tax-sheltered investments that you had in your RRSP, including stocks, exchange-traded funds (ETFs), bonds, mutual funds, GICs, and cash.
  • The government requires you to make a minimum annual withdrawal, which increases as you age, but you can choose to withdraw a larger amount.

What can I invest in within a RRIF?

Stocks, ETFs and more

Just like RRSPs, you can also choose the investments that make up your RRIF.

  • You can buy and sell stocks, bonds, GICs, mutual funds, and exchange-traded funds (ETFs) in your RRIF.
  • There are some rules that apply, however, regarding the exact nature of the investments held in a RRIF.

Your assets must be invested in what the Canadian Government calls “qualified investments” or there could be tax implications and penalties. 

US stocks

Qtrade Direct Investing® also offers RRIFs in U.S. dollars.

  • There are several advantages to these, especially if you hold a lot of U.S. stocks.
  • Dividends are not subject to an automatic conversion into Canadian dollars (and the losses that come about with foreign exchange transactions).
  • Any sales of U.S. stocks can remain in U.S. funds until new U.S. stocks are bought, rather than being transferred into Canadian currency.

What is a self-directed RRIF?

 

If you are knowledgeable about markets and their various assets—and if you have had a self-directed RRSP in the past—a self-directed RRIF could make sense. 

  • It gives you full freedom (within the Canadian Government’s rules) to control your RRIF portfolio and manage the assets within it.
  • It allows you the flexibility to switch your investments at any time. It also permits you to respond quickly to any movements in the markets or changes to your personal needs.

Does Qtrade offer RRIFs?

Yes, Qtrade Direct Investing® offers RRIF accounts for self-directed investors. You can transfer your Qtrade RRSP account or RRSP assets from another provider into a Qtrade RRIF. 

Read all about RRIFs in our Guide to registered retirement income funds.

Transfer your assets to a Qtrade RRIF today!
Open an account
  • There is no difference between a RIF and a RRIF. They are the same type of registered account. “RIF” is simply a short form of “RRIF”.

  • A life income fund (LIF) is similar to a RRIF in that it is designed to provide you with retirement income from your savings. The difference is the source of the savings. If you left a job where you contributed to a pension plan, you likely transferred those pension funds into a locked-in retirement savings plan (LRSP) or locked-in retirement account (LIRA). Like with RRSP accounts, LRSPs and LIRAs mature in the year you turn 71 and must be transferred to a LIF.

    The LIF payment minimums are the same as RRIF payment minimums, but the earliest you can open a LIF is usually at least early retirement age, which is specified in the pension legislation that governed your pension plan.

  • Yes, you can transfer your RRIF from one financial services provider to another. 

  • No. The only funds that can be deposited into a RRIF are those transferred from an RRSP (or PRPP, RPP, SPP or FHSA account). However, you can transfer in cash or assets from another RRIF account or transfer your RRIF account from one financial institution to another.

  • You can have more than one RRIF. However, once a RRIF is set up and your RRSP assets transferred, you cannot make contributions to that RRIF, regardless of your age. 

  • While you must close your RRSP during the year you turn 71, you can open a RRIF any time before then. One reason you might want to convert your RRSP savings to RRIF early is to help supplement your income with RRIF payments so you can defer beginning your Canada Pension Plan (CPP) and/or Old Age Security (OAS) payments. The longer you delay CPP and OAS payments (as late as age 70), the higher your benefit payments will be. Once a RRIF is set up and your RRSP assets transferred, you cannot make contributions to that RRIF. You can also open more than one RRIF.

  • The year after you open a RRIF, you must start withdrawing a minimum amount, which increases slightly every year. You can withdraw more than the minimum, but never less. If you withdraw more than the minimum, that amount cannot be put towards your withdrawal the following year. You will also pay withholding tax on the amount withdrawn above the minimum amount, based on a sliding scale of percentage amounts.

    You can elect to have your minimum amounts calculated using either your own age or the age of your younger spouse, if applicable. This would lower your minimum payments.

    The percentage of the withdrawal for any given year is based on the balance in your RRIF at the end of the previous year. From the age of 71 upwards, the minimum withdrawal amount is set by the Canadian Government (see table below). Before the age of 71, the minimum amount is calculated by dividing one by (90 minus your current age). For example, at age 55, your minimum RRIF withdrawal would be calculated as follows: 1 divided by (90 – 55 = 35) = 2.86%

    Age        Minimum withdrawal amount
    55                           2.86%
    60                           3.33%
    65                           4.00%
    70                           5.00%
    71                           5.28%
    75                           5.82%
    80                           6.82%
    85                           8.51%
    90                           11.92%
    90+                        20.00%

    A full list of minimum withdrawal amounts can be seen at the Government of Canada website.  

Aviso Wealth Inc. (“Aviso Wealth”) is the parent company of Credential Qtrade Securities Inc. Aviso Wealth is a wholly-owned subsidiary of Aviso Wealth Limited Partnership, which in turn is owned 50% by Desjardins Financial Holdings Inc. and 50% by a limited partnership owned by the five Provincial Credit Union Centrals and the CUMIS Group Limited.

Online brokerage services are offered through Qtrade Investor, a division of Credential Qtrade Securities Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Aviso Wealth Inc. and Member of the Canadian Investor Protection Fund.

Northwest & Ethical Investments L.P (“NEI” or “NEI Investments”) is a subsidiary of Aviso Wealth; and NEI Funds are related issuers of Credential Qtrade Securities Inc.

This material is for informational purposes only. While this material has been compiled from sources believed to be reliable, Qtrade Investor does not guarantee the accuracy, completeness, timeliness or reliability of this information. Information, figures and charts are summarized for illustrative purposes only and are subject to change without notice. All investments are subject to risk, including the possible loss of principal.

Notions de base sur les FERR

Votre régime enregistré d’épargne-retraite (REER) arrive à échéance lorsque vous atteignez l’âge de 71 ans. Cela signifie que vous devez fermer votre REER d’ici le 31 décembre de l’année au cours de laquelle vous atteignez cet âge.

Vous pouvez retirer les fonds d’un REER sous forme d’un paiement forfaitaire ou les transférer dans une rente, mais la plupart des gens choisissent de transférer leur REER dans un fonds enregistré de revenu de retraite (FERR), un type de compte conçu pour procurer un revenu régulier à son titulaire.

Faites fructifier votre FEER Qtrade

Qu’est-ce qu’un FERR?

Un FERR est un produit financier enregistré à impôt différé, tout comme un REER. Alors que les REER sont conçus pour l’épargne-retraite, les FERR sont destinés à procurer un revenu de retraite. Les placements dans votre FERR continuent de croître à l’abri de l’impôt et les retraits sont traités comme un revenu aux fins de l’impôt. Après avoir ouvert un FERR, vous pouvez y transférer des liquidités et des placements provenant de REER, de régimes de pension agréés collectifs (RPAC) et de régimes de pension agréés (RPA). Les retraits commencent l’année suivant l’ouverture de votre FERR et sont assortis d’un minimum annuel qui augmente chaque année. Si vous choisissez de le faire, vous pouvez aussi retirer plus que le montant minimal.

 Quels sont les avantages d’un FERR?

 

Les FERR ont tendance à être l’option la plus populaire en raison de leur indépendance et de leur souplesse. 

  • Vous pouvez continuer de gérer les mêmes placements à l’abri de l’impôt qui étaient dans votre REER, y compris les actions, les fonds négociés en bourse (FNB), les obligations, les fonds communs de placement, les CPG et les liquidités.
  • Le gouvernement exige que vous retiriez un montant annuel minimal, lequel augmente à mesure que vous vieillissez, mais vous pouvez choisir d’en retirer plus.

Dans quoi puis-je investir avec un FERR?

Actions, FNB et plus

Tout comme pour les REER, vous pouvez choisir les placements qui composent votre FERR.

  • Vous pouvez acheter et vendre des actions, des obligations, des CPG, des fonds communs de placement et des fonds négociés en bourse (FNB) dans votre FERR.
  • Certaines règles s’appliquent toutefois quant à la nature exacte des placements détenus dans un FERR.

Vos actifs doivent être investis dans ce que le gouvernement du Canada appelle des « placements admissibles », sans quoi il pourrait y avoir des incidences fiscales et des pénalités. 

Actions américaines

Qtrade Investissement directMD offre également des FERR en dollars américains.

  • Cette possibilité présente plusieurs avantages, surtout si vous détenez un grand nombre d’actions américaines.
  • Les dividendes ne sont pas assujettis à une conversion automatique en dollars canadiens (et aux pertes éventuelles découlant des opérations de change).
  • Le produit des ventes d’actions américaines peut demeurer en dollars américains jusqu’à ce que de nouvelles actions américaines soient achetées, plutôt que d’être converti en dollars canadiens.

Qu’est-ce qu’un FERR autogéré?

 

Si vous connaissez bien les marchés et leurs divers actifs et si vous avez déjà eu un REER autogéré dans le passé, un FERR autogéré pourrait être judicieux. 

  • Il vous donne toute la liberté (conformément aux règles du gouvernement canadien) de contrôler le portefeuille de votre FERR et de gérer les actifs qu’il contient.
  • Il vous confère de la souplesse pour changer vos placements en tout temps. Il vous permet également de réagir rapidement à toute évolution des marchés ou à tout changement de vos besoins personnels.

Qtrade offre-t-elle des FERR?

Oui, Qtrade Investissement directMD offre des comptes FERR pour les investisseurs autonomes. Vous pouvez transférer les actifs de votre REER Qtrade ou ceux de votre REER auprès d’un autre fournisseur dans un FERR Qtrade.

Lisez tout sur les FERR dans notre Guide des fonds enregistrés de revenu de retraite.

Transférez vos actifs dans un FERR Qtrade dès aujourd’hui!
Ouvrir un compte
  • Il n’y a aucune différence entre un FRR et un FERR. Il s’agit du même type de compte enregistré. Le « FRR » est simplement une forme abrégée de « FERR ».

  • Un fonds de revenu viager (FRV) est semblable à un FERR en ce sens qu’il est conçu pour vous procurer un revenu de retraite provenant de votre épargne. La différence est la source de l’épargne. Si vous avez quitté un emploi où vous avez cotisé à un régime de retraite, vous avez probablement transféré ces fonds de retraite dans un régime d’épargne-retraite immobilisé (RERI) ou un compte de retraite immobilisé (CRI). Comme pour les comptes REER, les RERI et les CRI arrivent à échéance l’année de votre 71anniversaire et doivent être transférés dans un FRV.

    Les versements minimaux d’un FRV sont les mêmes que ceux d’un FERR, mais vous ne pouvez habituellement pas ouvrir un FRV avant l’âge de retraite anticipée, ce qui est précisé dans les lois sur les régimes de retraite qui régissent votre régime.

  • Oui, vous pouvez transférer votre FERR d’un fournisseur de services financiers à un autre. 

  • Non. Les seuls fonds qui peuvent être déposés dans un FERR sont ceux qui sont transférés d’un REER (ou d’un RPAC, RPA, RPD ou CELIAPP). Vous pouvez cependant transférer des liquidités ou des actifs d’un autre compte FERR ou transférer votre compte FERR d’une institution financière à une autre.

  • Vous pouvez avoir plus d’un FERR. Cependant, une fois qu’un FERR a été établi et que vos actifs du REER y ont été transférés, vous ne pouvez plus cotiser à ce FERR, peu importe votre âge. 

  • Bien que vous deviez fermer votre REER l’année de votre 71e anniversaire, vous pouvez ouvrir un FERR en tout temps avant cette date. Une des raisons pour lesquelles vous pourriez vouloir convertir votre épargne REER en FERR plus tôt est d’aider à compléter votre revenu avec des versements du FERR afin de pouvoir reporter le début de vos versements du Régime de pensions du Canada (RPC) ou de la Sécurité de la vieillesse (SV). Plus vous reportez l’obtention de vos prestations du RPC et de la SV (jusqu’à 70 ans), plus elles seront élevées. Une fois qu’un FERR a été établi et que vos actifs du REER y ont été transférés, vous ne pouvez pas cotiser à ce FERR. Vous pouvez également ouvrir plus d’un FERR.

  • L’année suivant l’ouverture d’un FERR, vous devez commencer à retirer un montant minimal qui augmente légèrement chaque année. Vous pouvez retirer plus que le montant minimal, mais jamais moins que ce dernier. Si vous retirez plus que le montant minimal, ce montant ne peut être affecté à votre retrait l’année suivante. Vous paierez également une retenue d’impôt sur le montant retiré au-delà du montant minimal, selon une échelle mobile de pourcentages.

    Vous pouvez choisir que vos montants minimums soient calculés en fonction de votre âge ou de l’âge de votre conjoint plus jeune, le cas échéant. Cela réduirait vos versements minimaux.

    Le pourcentage du retrait pour une année donnée est fondé sur le solde de votre FERR à la fin de l’année précédente. À partir de 71 ans, le montant de retrait minimal est fixé par le gouvernement du Canada, comme indiqué dans le tableau ci-dessous. Avant l’âge de 71 ans, le montant minimal est calculé en divisant 1 par (90 moins votre âge actuel). Par exemple, à 55 ans, votre retrait minimal d’un FERR serait calculé comme suit : 1 divisé par (90 – 55 = 35) = 2,86 %

    Âge                        Montant de retrait minimal
    55                           2,86 %
    60                           3,33 %
    65                           4,00 %
    70                           5,00 %
    71                           5,28 %
    75                           5,82 %
    80                           6,82 %
    85                           8,51 %
    90                           11,92 %
    90+                        20,00 %

    Vous trouverez une liste complète des retraits minimums sur le site Web du gouvernement du Canada.  

Patrimoine Aviso Inc. (« Patrimoine Aviso ») est la société mère de Valeurs mobilières Credential Qtrade Inc. (« CQSI »), de Gestion d'actif Credential (« GAC »), de Gestion d'actifs Qtrade (« GAQ ») et de Placements NordOuest & Éthiques S.E.C. (« NEI »). Placements NEI est une marque déposée de NEI. Toute utilisation d'un nom commercial ou d'une marque de commerce de Patrimoine Aviso par CQSI, GAC, GAQ ou NEI est faite avec le consentement ou la licence de Patrimoine Aviso. Patrimoine Aviso est une filiale en propriété exclusive de Patrimoine Aviso S.E.C., détenue à 50 % respectivement par Desjardins Holding financier Inc. et par une société en commandite qui appartient aux cinq centrales de caisse de crédit provinciales et au Groupe CUMIS limitée. Les fonds communs de placement et les autres valeurs mobilières sont offerts par Valeurs mobilières Credential et Conseiller Qtrade, une division de Valeurs mobilières Credential Qtrade Inc. Les fonds communs de placement sont offerts par l'intermédiaire de Gestion d'actif Credential Inc. et de Gestion d'actifs Qtrade (un nom commercial de Gestion d'actif Credential Inc.).

Ce matériel est fourni à des fins informatives et éducatives et ne vise pas à fournir des conseils précis, y compris, sans toutefois s'y limiter, sur les placements, les finances, les impôts ou d'autres sujets similaires. Ce document est publié par CQSI, GAC et GAQ et, à moins d'indication contraire, tous les points de vue exprimés dans ce document sont ceux de CQSI, de GAC et de GAQ. Les points de vue exprimés dans le présent document peuvent changer sans préavis à mesure que les marchés changent au fil du temps.