Security

At Aviso Wealth, comprised of Credential Qtrade Securities Inc. (including Qtrade Investor, Qtrade Advisor and CQ Correspondent Partners), Qtrade Asset Management Inc., Qtrade Insurance Solutions Inc. and OceanRock Investments Inc. (collectively, “Qtrade”), security is a top priority. We have introduced several ways to assist in protecting the personal and financial information the you entrust to us, including a primary layer of protection offered by the fact that our website only supports browsers that use 256-bit encryption.

Encryption is a process by which information is scrambled during transmission, e.g. between your computer and Qtrade. Information that is encrypted at one end is decrypted (decoded) upon receipt at the other end. 256-bit encryption is the strongest, most secure form of encryption that is generally available in Internet browsers on the market in North America today. We recommend that you use 256-bit encryption at all times and especially when conducting financial transactions over the Internet. To download a browser with 256-bit data encryption, you have a number of options. We do not recommend beta versions of browsers.

In addition to the use of 256-bit data encryption, we require that our customers use and maintain a username and password in order to access their accounts through our website.

What do we do to protect your security?

We have adopted a number of security measures including the following to ensure the protection and security of your personal information, we:

  • use the strongest available encryption technology to help ensure that data passing between your computer and our website is secure;
  • require you to use a browser that supports 256-bit encryption;
  • use digital certificates issued by trusted third-party companies to let you know that our site is secure;
  • use powerful firewalls to protect your account information; and
  • never send you messages asking you to provide us with personal or account information via email.

What can you do to protect your security?

When dealing with us over the Internet, you should:

  • never divulge your username and password, change your password frequently and make sure to create unique passwords for each online account you hold;
  • choose a password with a minimum of 8 characters - a strong password uses a combination of upper and lowercase, and also includes numbers and symbols;
  • make sure that you sign out and close your Internet browser at the end of each login session; and clear your cache regularly;
  • never leave your computer while logged into our website;
  • never send confidential or personal information through email;
  • always ensure anti-virus software is installed and kept up-to-date, set the anti-virus software to update automatically and use anti-virus software to scan your computer regularly; and
  • sign up for automatic product updates to ensure your device is protected.

Clearing your cache

To protect the confidentiality of your personal information, we highly recommend that you clear your browser's memory cache or close your browser (which will also clear the browser's memory cache) after your session.

Cookies

The use of cookies is very common and you will find them almost everywhere on the Internet. A cookie is a small text file that is placed on a computer's hard drive by a website in order to hold unique, but very limited information. A cookie cannot retrieve any other data from your hard drive, pass on computer viruses, or collect personally identifiable information to determine who you are, or capture your email address. Certain pages in our website make use of cookies. You may opt out of accepting cookies on your browser by selecting that option under your browser's "Security" settings.

Qtrade Investor Internet Security Guarantee

We value your business and the trust you have placed in Qtrade Investor. We take security very seriously and use a variety of measures to protect your personal information and accounts. If you are a Qtrade Investor client, as part of our ongoing commitment to you, we're proud to offer our Qtrade Investor Internet Security Guarantee exclusively for Qtrade Investor account holders:

Qtrade Investor account holders will receive 100% reimbursement for any losses in their account from unauthorized online brokerage activity*.

Our Investor Internet Security Guarantee is designed to provide you with peace of mind when doing business with us. If you detect any errors or discrepancies or suspect unauthorized activity in your Qtrade Investor account, please contact us promptly at 1.877.787.2330.

To ensure that you are able to contact us in a timely manner, you must frequently check your Qtrade Investor account information and transaction history online and promptly review correspondence, account statements and trade confirmations received from Qtrade Investor. We will investigate any unauthorized activity that you report to us, and we will ask you to cooperate with us in any investigations and to take corrective measures to protect your account from further fraudulent activity.

* We will fully reimburse your Qtrade Investor account if we conclude that there was unauthorized activity resulting in a loss and the activity occurred through no fault of your own (see Customer Responsibilities below). We will also need to ensure that the activity was not initiated by you (the account owner) or by someone whom you allowed to access your account, either purposefully or inadvertently.

Qtrade Investor responsibility

Qtrade Investor is committed to keeping your confidential information safe. To protect your information and assets, Qtrade Investor employs extensive physical, electronic and procedural security controls, regularly adapting them as technology and threats evolve. Click on the following link to learn more about the Steps Taken to Protect Your Confidential Information.

Customer responsibility

While Qtrade Investor can help ensure the security of your accounts, you play a vital role in preventing and reporting unauthorized account activity. As set out in our Customer Agreements & Disclosure Documents and Terms of Use for our website and mobile app, you are responsible for maintaining the care, control and confidentiality of your usernames, login passwords and trading passwords. To protect against the loss, theft, misuse or compromise of your confidential Qtrade Investor data, you must take the following Important Internet Safety Precautions to help protect your information when using the Internet:

  • Frequently check your Qtrade Investor accounts.
  • Protect your passwords.
  • Get up-to-date anti-virus and anti-spyware software.
  • Use a firewall.
  • Ensure your browser and operating system are always up-to-date.
  • Protect your Internet connection — especially with a wireless network.
  • Protect yourself from online fraud.

Qtrade Investor customers will be liable for any losses that occur as a result of: (i) the voluntarily disclosure of their usernames or passwords; or (ii) the careless or improper handling, storing or disclosure of such information. In the event of any loss, theft, misuse or compromise of your confidential Qtrade Investor data, you must promptly notify Qtrade Investor at 1.877.787.2330.

Please see below for other important details and conditions.

Notes:

  • This guarantee only applies to Qtrade Investor account.
  • This guarantee does not cover situations in which you: (i) fail to follow your customer responsibilities as noted above; or (ii) authorize account activity, including: (1) the activities of any person to whom you have given, or with whom you have shared, your customer username and passwords, and (2) the activities of any person, including an investment advisor or professional (its employees and agents), to whom you have granted authority of any type over your account (such as power of attorney, trading or money movement authorization or an investment management relationship).
  • The guarantee does not cover any tax consequences, your legal fees and expenses, or any consequential, lost opportunity or non-monetary damages. The guarantee will not apply in any situation in which you do not report unauthorized activity promptly to Qtrade Investor.
  • You must work with us in any investigation, and we may ask that you take additional steps including, but not limited to, filing a police report, completing a notarized affidavit regarding the unauthorized transactions, cooperating and answering questions from Qtrade Investor and law enforcement authorities, and, if necessary, allowing access to the computer or other access device that is suspected of being compromised.
  • Qtrade Investor will determine the type and amount of reimbursement, including whether to replace the securities in your account that were taken, and may seek restitution for reimbursements made under this guarantee from the person(s) or entity that committed the unauthorized activity. We may not provide reimbursement if you are reimbursed, or eligible for reimbursement or other coverage, by others for the unauthorized transactions; for example, by your insurance company.
  • Qtrade Investor may ask that you assign to us certain rights you may have regarding your loss and to sign a release form as a condition of reimbursement. You may not assign your rights under the guarantee to any other individual or party.

Sécurité en ligne

Le Patrimoine Aviso, composé de Valeurs mobilières Credential Qtrade Inc. (qui comprend Investisseur Qtrade, Conseiller Qtrade, Services des correspondants CQ), Gestion d'actifs Qtrade Inc., Solutions d'Assurance Qtrade Inc. et Placements OceanRock Inc. (collectivement « Qtrade »), la sécurité est notre priorité. Afin de protéger les renseignements personnels et financiers que vous nous confiez, notre site Web prend uniquement en charge les navigateurs utilisant un chiffrement à 256 bits, ce qui constitue la première couche de protection offerte. D'autres moyens de protection sont également en place.

Le chiffrement est un processus qui consiste à brouiller les informations au cours de leur transmission, par exemple entre votre ordinateur et Qtrade. L'information est chiffrée à la source de la transmission et déchiffrée (décodée) lorsqu'elle atteint son récepteur. Le chiffrement à 256 bits est le type de chiffrement le plus puissant et le plus sécuritaire utilisé par la plupart des navigateurs Web sur le marché nord-américain. Nous vous conseillons d'utiliser ce type de chiffrement en tout temps, particulièrement lorsque vous y effectuez des transactions financières. Plusieurs navigateurs utilisant un chiffrement à 256 bits sont offerts en téléchargement. Différentes options s'offrent donc à vous. Nous ne recommandons pas l'utilisation de navigateurs en version bêta.

En plus de devoir utiliser le chiffrement à 256 bits, nos clients sont tenus d'utiliser et de conserver un nom d'utilisateur et un mot de passe pour accéder à leurs comptes par l'intermédiaire de notre site Web.

Quelles mesures Qtrade prend-elle pour me protéger?

Nous avons adopté de nombreuses mesures de sécurité, y compris les suivantes, pour assurer la sécurité de vos renseignements personnels. Nous... :

  • utilisons la plus puissante technologie en matière de chiffrement disponible afin de sécuriser la transmission de données entre votre ordinateur et le site Web de Qtrade;
  • vous demandons d'utiliser un navigateur qui supporte le chiffrement à 256 bits;
  • utilisons des certificats numériques délivrés par de tierces compagnies fiables pour vous confirmer que notre site Web est sécuritaire;
  • utilisons de puissants coupe-feu qui protègent les informations de votre compte;
  • n'envoyons aucun message vous demandant de fournir des renseignements personnels ou des renseignements liés à votre compte par courriel.

Quelles mesures pouvez-vous prendre pour vous protéger?

Lorsque vous faites des affaires en ligne avec nous, vous devriez suivre les conseils suivants :

  • Ne dévoilez jamais votre nom d'utilisateur et votre mot de passe, modifiez régulièrement votre mot de passe et assurez-vous de créer des mots de passe distincts pour chacun de vos comptes en ligne.
  • Choisissez un mot de passe d'au moins huit caractères (un mot de passe fort comprend une combinaison de majuscules et de minuscules, des chiffres et des symboles).
  • Assurez-vous de bien vous déconnecter et de fermer votre navigateur après chaque session, et effacez régulièrement votre cache.
  • Ne laissez jamais votre ordinateur sans surveillance lorsque vous êtes connecté à notre site Web.
  • N'envoyez jamais de renseignements confidentiels ou personnels par courriel.
  • Ayez toujours un antivirus installé et configuré pour se mettre automatiquement à jour, et utilisez-le pour analyser votre ordinateur sur une base régulière.
  • Inscrivez-vous pour recevoir les mises à jour de produits automatiques et maintenir la protection de votre appareil.

Effacer votre mémoire cache

Afin de protéger la confidentialité de vos renseignements personnels, il est grandement recommandé que vous effaciez votre mémoire cache ou que vous fermiez votre navigateur à la fin de votre session, ce qui en effacera aussi la mémoire cache.

Fichiers témoins

L'utilisation de fichiers témoins est grandement répandue; presque tous les sites Internet les utilisent. Un fichier témoin est un petit fichier texte qu'un site Web place sur le disque dur d'un ordinateur afin d'en tirer des renseignements uniques, mais très limités. Un fichier témoin ne peut pas tirer d'autres données de votre disque dur, transmettre un virus à votre ordinateur ou récolter des données personnelles qui permettraient de vous identifier ou de récupérer votre adresse électronique. Certaines pages de notre site Web utilisent des fichiers témoins. Vous pouvez choisir de ne pas autoriser les fichiers témoins sur votre navigateur en sélectionnant l'option appropriée dans les paramètres de sécurité de votre navigateur.

La garantie de sécurité en ligne d'Investisseur Qtrade

Nous sommes fiers de vous compter parmi notre clientèle et nous tenons en grande estime la confiance que vous accordez à Investisseur Qtrade. La sécurité est une question de premier ordre pour nous, et c'est pourquoi nous prenons de multiples mesures afin de protéger vos renseignements personnels et vos comptes. Dans le cadre de l'engagement que nous prenons envers vous, nous sommes heureux d'offrir en exclusivité aux titulaires de compte Investisseur Qtrade la garantie de sécurité en ligne d'Investisseur Qtrade :

Vous recevrez un remboursement complet pour toute perte subie à la suite d'une activité non autorisée de courtage en ligne effectuée dans votre compte*.

Notre garantie de sécurité en ligne est conçue de manière à ce que vos opérations se déroulent en toute quiétude. Si vous trouvez des erreurs ou des anomalies dans votre compte Investisseur Qtrade ou si vous soupçonnez que des activités non autorisées s'y déroulent, veuillez communiquer avec nous sans tarder au 1.877.787.2330.

Afin de pouvoir communiquer avec nous en temps utile, vous devez régulièrement consulter les informations de votre compte Investisseur Qtrade ainsi que votre historique de transactions en ligne. Vérifiez toujours les communications écrites, les relevés de compte et les confirmations d'opérations reçus de notre part. Nous examinerons toute activité non autorisée que vous nous signalerez. Vous serez invité à coopérer à l'enquête et à prendre des mesures correctives dans le but de protéger votre compte d'autres activités frauduleuses.

* Nous vous accorderons un remboursement complet du solde de votre compte Investisseur Qtrade si l'enquête démontre qu'une activité non autorisée ayant causé une perte a bel et bien eu lieu sans que vous en soyez le moindrement responsable (voir les Responsabilités du client ci-dessous). Nous devrons aussi confirmer que vous (le titulaire du compte) ou une personne à qui vous auriez donné l'accès à votre compte, de manière intentionnelle ou par inadvertance, n'êtes pas à l'origine de l'activité.

Responsabilité d'Investisseur Qtrade

Nous nous engageons à garantir la sécurité de vos renseignements confidentiels. Afin de protéger vos renseignements et vos avoirs, nous avons mis en place d'importants mécanismes de sécurité physique, électronique et procédurale, que nous adaptons régulièrement, au rythme de l'évolution de la technologie et des menaces. Cliquez sur le lien suivant pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les Mesures de protection de vos renseignements confidentiels.

Responsabilités du client

Bien que nous prenions des mesures pour assurer la sécurité de vos comptes, vous jouez un rôle central dans la prévention et la dénonciation d'activités non autorisées pouvant s'y dérouler. Comme le prévoient le livret intitulé Conventions de client et documents d'informationet les Conditions générales d'utilisation pour notre site Web et notre application mobile, vous devez protéger, contrôler et assurer la confidentialité de vos noms d'utilisateur et de vos mots de passe d'accès et d'opérations. Afin de prévenir la perte, le vol, l'abus ou la compromission de vos données confidentielles Investisseur Qtrade, vous devez prendre les précautions importantes pour la sécurité en ligne suivantes, qui vous aideront à protéger vos renseignements lorsque vous êtes en ligne :

  • Consultez souvent vos comptes Investisseur Qtrade.
  • Protégez vos mots de passe.
  • Procurez-vous un logiciel antivirus et un anti-logiciel espion à jour.
  • Utilisez un coupe-feu.
  • Assurez-vous que votre navigateur et votre système d'exploitation sont à jour
  • Protégez votre connexion Internet; particulièrement si vous utilisez un réseau sans fil.
  • Protégez-vous contre la cyberfraude.

Les clients d'Investisseur Qtrade seront tenus responsables de toute perte causée par : (i) la divulgation intentionnelle de leurs noms d'utilisateur et mots de passe; ou (ii) un traitement, stockage ou divulgation négligent ou inapproprié de tels renseignements. En cas de perte, de vol, d'abus ou de compromission de vos données confidentielles Investisseur Qtrade, vous devez communiquer sans tarder avec nous au 1.877.787.2330.

Veuillez consulter la section ci-dessous, qui présente d'autres conditions et renseignements importants.

Remarques :

  • La présente garantie s'applique uniquement aux comptes Investisseur Qtrade.
  • La présente garantie ne couvre pas les situations suivantes : (i) vous n'avez pas respecté les responsabilités du client énoncées ci-dessus; ou (ii) vous avez autorisé certaines activités particulières dans votre compte. Voici notamment deux exemples d'activités : (1) les activités d'une personne à qui vous avez donné ou dévoilé vos noms d'utilisateurs et mots de passe; et (2) les activités d'une personne, y compris un conseiller ou un professionnel en placements (ainsi que ses employés et représentants), à qui vous avez accordé un quelconque pouvoir sur votre compte (par exemple, une procuration, l'autorisation d'effectuer des opérations ou des transactions monétaires ou l'établissement d'une relation de gestion des placements).
  • La garantie ne couvre pas les conséquences fiscales, honoraires d'avocats et frais juridiques que vous devez assumer ainsi que toute perte indirecte, toute occasion manquée ou tout dommage non monétaire. La garantie ne s'applique pas si, en cas d'activité non autorisée, vous n'avertissez pas Investisseur Qtrade en temps opportun.
  • Vous devez coopérer avec Investisseur Qtrade lors de toute enquête. Vous pourriez avoir à effectuer des tâches supplémentaires, notamment remplir un rapport de police, remplir un affidavit notarié concernant des transactions non autorisées, coopérer avec Investisseur Qtrade et les autorités policières et répondre à leurs questions et, si nécessaire, permettre l'accès à l'ordinateur ou à tout autre appareil soupçonné d'avoir servi à des activités non autorisées.
  • Investisseur Qtrade déterminera le type et le montant du remboursement, ainsi que le besoin de remplacer les valeurs prises dans votre compte. Investisseur Qtrade pourrait solliciter un dédommagement pour les remboursements effectués en vertu de la présente garantie auprès de la personne, des personnes ou du groupe ayant mené l'activité non autorisée. Investisseur Qtrade pourrait ne pas vous accorder de remboursement si vous êtes remboursé, ou admissible à un remboursement en vertu d'une autre couverture, par une autre entreprise, par exemple votre compagnie d'assurance, pour les transactions non autorisées.
  • Investisseur Qtrade pourrait vous demander de lui attribuer certains droits que vous pourriez avoir relativement à votre perte et de signer un formulaire de décharge conditionnel à votre remboursement. Vous n'êtes pas autorisé à attribuer vos droits couverts par la présente garantie à toute autre personne ou partie.