RRSP over TFSA as default choice – Analyzing marginal and average tax rates

This is an exclusive tax series brought to you by Tax & Estate specialist, Doug Carroll BBA JD LLM(tax) CFP TEP

There’s a scene in Doc Hollywood where Michael J. Fox, the fresh med school grad, is readying to airlift a young patient out of the small town for emergency heart surgery. Just before liftoff, the aging local doctor shows up and hands the boy a can of pop – Sip, burp, everybody go home.

Theatrics aside, there’s a lesson here for the RRSP vs. TFSA debate.

Since its introduction in 2009, the tax-free savings account (TFSA) has proven to be a powerful tool that opens up countless possibilities for bettering our financial lives. However, when it comes to retirement savings, the tried-and-true registered retirement savings plan (RRSP) should be the default choice for most of the population. Here’s why.

Tax treatment IN, tax treatment OUT

Both RRSP and TFSA give you tax-sheltered income and growth on the investments within them. The key difference is what happens on front and back end:

  • RRSP deposits are pre-tax, while withdrawals are taxable;
  • TFSA deposits are post-tax, but withdrawals are non-taxable.

Of course, it’s often said that RRSP contributions are tax-deductible, the appeal being the desired refund. However, to convert that to being truly “pre-tax”, all such refunds (and refunds on refunds) must in turn go into RRSPs. That’s already handled through reduced withholding tax on a work-based group RRSP, but with an individual RRSP that’s your own ongoing responsibility.

Base comparison

If your income is taxed at the same rate when contributing and withdrawing, you will net the same amount of spendable cash whether you use the RRSP or TFSA. Using $100 at a 40 % rate and a 10% one-year return (for simplicity, not reality), here is what each yields:

  • RRSP $100 deposit + $10 return = $110 taxable, netting $66 spendable
  • TFSA $60 deposit + $6 return = $66 spendable

If you are at a higher tax rate going in than out, the RRSP will do better, and vice versa. If you change the example to 40% in and 30% out, the RRSP nets you $77, but the TFSA is still $66. And if your later rate is instead 50%, RRSP nets $55, and once again TFSA $66.

Is it really that simple?

“Same rate” – Marginal or average?

Having made the point about taking care in managing the deductibility of an RRSP contribution, we can’t lose sight that it is indeed a deduction. The benefit is that your RRSP contribution comes off the top at your marginal rate, saving you tax at the highest rate you would otherwise face.

On withdrawal in your later/retirement years, the appropriate measurement is arguably (I’ll come back to this) your average tax rate. Average tax rate is total tax divided by total income. In a progressive tax system where there is more than one bracket, average rate will always be lower than marginal rate.

That in mind, imagine for a moment that there were no contribution limits for either plan type. Even if you were at the same (indexed over time) income level in retirement, the RRSP route would do better than TFSA, because the average rate out must be less than the marginal rate in.

But what’s your own average rate?

In truth, not all your retirement income will come from RRSP savings alone, which brings me back to the arguable point about whether to use the average tax rate as stated above.

Once you begin your Canada Pension Plan (CPP) and Old Age Security (OAS), you have no further discretion whether or not they are paid from year to year. That then forms your foundation lower bracket income, on top of which your RRSP (in the form of a RRIF or annuity draw) is layered. In that case, the applicable average rate should be calculated on the income above this non-discretionary floor. Still, as long as there are at least two brackets, and you were the higher on contribution, this modified average rate will be below your original marginal rate.

It gets more complicated if the OAS clawback comes into play, adding about 10% net to the marginal effective tax rate (METR). But even if you were entitled to maximum CPP and OAS of about $20K, you’d be progressing up through low to mid brackets until you hit the OAS clawback as you neared $80K. Nonetheless, according to my calculations, average rate would still be materially below marginal rate at full clawback around $130K.

Default choice, not dogmatic requirement

To repeat, the point here is that RRSP is the default choice, but that it could be displaced based on other factors.

Factors that bolster RRSP include:

  • the fact that most people live on a lower income in retirement, meaning both lower marginal and average rates
  • spouses using pension income splitting to bring down their combined average tax rate
  • the availability of the pension credit

Comparatively, the TFSA may be favoured when:

  • an income earner is at low bracket at saving age
  • there are already significant RRSP assets
  • a large inheritance/windfall has arisen that affects the timing and/or amount of required drawdown from existing savings

In reality, it’s more about proportionality than a binary RRSP vs. TFSA decision. Having an appreciation for the technical underpinning should help you make better-informed choices and have greater confidence to stay the course in your investments.

 

The information contained in this article was obtained from sources believed to be reliable; however, we cannot guarantee that it is accurate or complete. This material is for informational and educational purposes and it is not intended to provide specific advice including, without limitation, investment, financial, tax or similar matters.

Le REER plutôt que le CELI comme option par défaut – analyser les taux d’imposition marginal et moyen

This is an exclusive tax series brought to you by Tax & Estate specialist, Doug Carroll BBA JD LLM(tax) CFP TEP

Dans une scène de Doc Hollywood, Michael J. Fox, nouveau diplômé en médecine, se prépare à faire aéroporter un jeune patient d’une petite ville pour une chirurgie cardiaque d’urgence. Juste avant le décollage, le médecin local vieillissant se présente et donne au garçon une boisson gazeuse – quelques gorgées, un rot et tout le monde rentre chez soi.

C’est du cinéma, mais il y a là une leçon utile dans le débat sur les REER et les CELI.

Depuis son arrivée en 2009, le compte d’épargne libre d’impôt (CELI) s’est révélé formidable en offrant d’innombrables possibilités d’améliorer notre vie financière. Toutefois, pour ce qui est de l’épargne-retraite, le régime enregistré d’épargne-retraite (REER) a fait ses preuves et devrait être le choix par défaut de la majorité de la population. Voici pourquoi.

Traitement fiscal À L’ENTRÉE, traitement fiscal À LA SORTIE

Le REER et le CELI vous procurent tous les deux un revenu à l’abri de l’impôt et font fructifier les placements que vous y ajoutez. La principale différence, c’est ce qui se passe à l’entrée et à la sortie :

  • on dépose dans un REER des fonds avant impôt, et les retraits sont imposables;
  • on dépose dans un CELI des fonds après impôts, mais les retraits ne sont pas imposables.

Bien sûr, on dit souvent que les cotisations à un REER sont déductibles du revenu imposable, l’avantage étant le remboursement tant désiré. Cependant, pour que ce soit réellement « avant impôt », tous les remboursements (et les remboursements de remboursements) doivent être versés dans le REER. On s’en est déjà occupé par l’entremise de la retenue d’impôt à la source dans le cas des REER collectifs offerts par l’employeur, mais, dans le cas d’un REER personnel, la responsabilité vous incombe.

Comparatif

Si votre revenu est imposé au même taux quand vous cotisez et quand vous retirez, votre revenu disponible sera le même, que vous utilisiez un REER ou un CELI. Par exemple, avec 100 $ à un taux de 40 % et un rendement de 10 % sur un an (pour la simplicité, et non pas la vraisemblance), voici le rendement de chacun :

  • Dépôt de 100 $ dans un REER + rendement de 10 $ = 110 $ imposable, soit 66 $ de revenu disponible
  • Dépôt de 60 $ dans un CELI + rendement de 6 $ = 66 $ de revenu disponible

Si votre taux d’imposition est plus élevé à l’entrée qu’à la sortie, le REER sera supérieur, et vice versa. Si, par exemple, le taux est de 40 % à l’entrée et à 30 % à la sortie, le REER vous rapporte 77 $, et le CELI toujours 66 $. Et si votre taux plus tard est plutôt de 50 %, le REER vous rapportera 55 $, et le CELI toujours 66 $.

Est-ce vraiment si simple?

« Même taux » : marginal ou moyen?

Après avoir illustré l’importance de s’intéresser à la déductibilité d’une cotisation à un REER, on ne doit pas perdre de vue qu’il s’agit effectivement d’une déduction. L’avantage, c’est que votre cotisation à un REER est supérieure à votre taux marginal, ce qui vous permet d’économiser de l’impôt à votre taux le plus élevé.

Pour vos retraits plus tard ou à votre retraite, la base sur laquelle vous devriez sans doute vous fonder (j’y reviendrai), c’est le taux moyen. Le taux d’imposition moyen correspond à l’impôt total divisé par le revenu total. Dans un système fiscal progressif, soit avec plusieurs paliers, le taux moyen sera toujours inférieur au taux marginal.

En gardant ce fait à l’esprit, imaginez un instant qu’il n’y avait pas de limite de cotisation aux deux régimes. Même si votre revenu restait le même (indexé) à votre retraite, le REER serait plus profitable que le CELI, car le taux moyen à la sortie sera certainement inférieur au taux marginal à l’entrée.

Mais quel est votre propre taux moyen?

Dans les faits, votre revenu de retraite ne proviendra pas uniquement de vos économies versées dans un REER, ce qui m’amène à aborder le doute au sujet de l’utilisation du taux d’imposition moyen comme je le disais précédemment.

Quand vous commencez à toucher vos prestations du Régime de pensions du Canada (RPC) et de la Sécurité de la vieillesse (SV), vous n’avez aucun pouvoir décisionnel au sujet du versement des prestations ou non d’une année à l’autre. C’est donc ce qui constitue votre palier inférieur, puisqu’il s’agit de votre revenu de base, auquel s’ajoute votre REER (sous la forme d’un FERR ou de rentes). Dans ce cas, le taux moyen applicable doit être calculé en fonction du revenu au-delà de ce plancher sur lequel vous n’avez aucun pouvoir. Malgré tout, tant qu’il y a au moins deux paliers et que vous êtes au plus haut des deux pour la cotisation, ce taux moyen modifié restera inférieur à votre taux marginal initial.

Les choses se compliquent si la récupération de la SV entre en ligne de compte, en ajoutant environ 10 % net au taux effectif marginal d’imposition (TEMI). Mais, même si vous aviez droit au maximum du RPC et de la SV, qui est d’environ 20 000 $, vous progresseriez des paliers du bas vers les paliers du milieu jusqu’à ce que vous atteigniez le plafond de la récupération de la SV, en approchant des 80 000 $. Néanmoins, selon mes calculs, le taux moyen restera toujours considérablement inférieur au taux marginal à la pleine récupération, soit environ 130 000 $.

L’option par défaut, mais pas une obligation dogmatique

Pour récapituler, l’essentiel, c’est que le REER est l’option par défaut, mais qu’il pourrait être surpassé. Tout dépend de certains facteurs.

Il y a des facteurs qui jouent en faveur du REER :

  • la plupart des gens ont un revenu inférieur à la retraite et, par conséquent, des taux marginal et moyen inférieurs aussi;
  • les conjoints peuvent fractionner leur revenu de retraite pour réduire leur taux d’imposition moyen combiné;
  • l’accès au crédit de pension.

D’autres facteurs favorisent plutôt le CELI :

  • les revenus d’une personne sont faibles à l’âge où elle fait des économies;
  • il y a déjà des actifs importants dans le REER;
  • un héritage ou des profits imprévus d’un montant important ont une incidence sur le moment ou le montant du prélèvement requis dans l’épargne existante, ou sur les deux.

En réalité, c’est une question de proportionnalité, plutôt qu’un choix binaire entre REER et CELI. Une bonne compréhension des bases techniques devrait vous aider à faire des choix plus éclairés et à gagner en confiance pour maintenir le cap dans vos placements.

 

Les renseignements de cet article proviennent de sources réputées fiables, mais leur précision ou intégralité n’est pas garantie. Ce matériel est fourni à des fins informatives et éducatives et ne vise pas à fournir des conseils précis, y compris, sans toutefois s’y limiter, sur les placements, les finances, les impôts ou d’autres sujets similaires.