Volatility matters: Why you should watch the VIX

Investors always want to know which way markets are headed. While there is no perfect way to predict it, one popular gauge is the Chicago Board Options Exchange (CBOE) Volatility Index, also known as the VIX, which tracks implied market volatility in real time.

Gauging fear

In general, a VIX reading below 20 suggests a perceived low-risk environment, while a reading above 20 is indicative of a period of higher volatility.

The VIX is sometimes referred to as a "fear index," since it spikes during market turmoil or periods of extreme uncertainty. For instance, the VIX spiked in the fall of 2008, around the height of the global financial crisis, climbing above 80 towards the end of that year. It stayed below 13.5 from mid-September 2006 until the end of February 2007, when markets were performing well.

Contrarian investors — who look for market opportunities by going against conventional thinking—consider a low reading on the VIX to be a bearish signal, indicating market complacency that may spell bad news ahead, while a high VIX reading is believed by some to be a bullish signal. Given the VIX has been trading mostly below 20 since early 2016, some contrarian investors believe the markets are due for a correction in the near term.1

That said, research shows stock markets, on average, tend to perform better following low VIX readings compared to high ones.2

How is the VIX calculated?

The VIX uses a mathematical formula that measures how much the market thinks the S&P 500 Index option (SPX) will fluctuate over the next 12 months, using an analysis of the difference between current SPX put and calls option prices.1

Options prices are based on a number of factors, including investors' expectations of market volatility between the current date and the expiration date.

How the VIX is traded

The VIX is, by nature, volatile; therefore, trading it is speculative. As such, self-directed investors should do their own research and ensure they're comfortable with the risks of losing some or all of their initial investment.

For those who are comfortable with the risks associated with these kinds of investments, while you can't buy the VIX in the same way you can buy a stock or bond, you can invest in instruments that respond to its fluctuations, such as the CBOE's VIX futures and options. These contracts have an expiration date, unlike stocks on the S&P 500. With stocks, you have ownership in a company, while options are contracts that give you the right to buy or sell a stock at a certain price on or before a certain date.

According to the CBOE, VIX options and futures enable investors to trade volatility independent of the direction or the level of stock prices. "Whether an investor's outlook on the market is bullish, bearish or somewhere in between — VIX options and futures can provide the ability to diversify a portfolio or hedge, mitigate or capitalize on broad market volatility."3

There are also about two-dozen volatility exchange-traded products (ETPs) for the VIX, including both exchange-traded funds (ETFs) and exchange-traded notes (ETNs). ETFs are investments that hold assets, such as stocks, bonds or commodities, while ETNs are unsecured debt notes. ETNs, like bonds, can be bought and sold or held to maturity.4

Volatility ETPs tend to move in the opposite direction of the S&P 500. In other words, when the S&P 500 falls, volatility ETPs will rise.5 For example, the VIX averaged 10.5 in June, or about half of its historical average of 20, while the S&P 500 hit another record on June 19.6

Something to consider with exchange-traded products is that they can suffer from a negative roll yield when the CBOE VIX futures curve is in "contango." What this means is that as the underlying series of VIX future contracts come up for expiration, a new series of future contracts are introduced that are more expensive, leading to an ongoing spread cost (between the two contracts), and tracking poorly against the performance of the intended VIX over the long term.

VIX graphThe CBOE Volatility Index (VIX), simple moving average, for the 10 years ending July 19, 2017.
Source: marketwatch.com

Don't let the VIX vex you

While the VIX is widely used as a measure of how the market is feeling, it doesn't necessarily represent market risk — especially long-term risk.

For instance, the VIX hit its lowest level in almost a decade in May 2017 and remains low despite geopolitical concerns in Europe and North Korea, and mixed fiscal and economic signals coming from the Trump administration in the United States.7

Still, interested investors continue to follow the VIX for evidence of what might happen next on the markets, including whether it's the quiet before another storm.



  1. See for example this article "Don't be afraid of the market's fearlessness," (Barron's, July 5, 2017) which discusses how some contrarian investors "see the bad news in good news" when it comes to the VIX.
  2. "Conventional wisdom about the VIX 'fear gauge' is all wrong," Marketwatch (May, 10 2017)
  3. "VIX Options and Futures," Chicago Board Options Exchange (accessed July 7, 2017)
  4. "ETF Or ETN? What's the difference?" Investopedia
  5. "How to Day Trade Volatility ETFs," Investopedia
  6. "Now Fed Officials Are Starting To Wonder If The VIX Is Too Low," Bloomberg (July 5, 2017)
  7. "VIX volatility index hits lowest level in more than a decade," The Financial Times (May 1, 2017)

L'importance de la volatilité : pourquoi devriez-vous surveiller le VIX?

Les investisseurs veulent toujours savoir où se dirigent les marchés financiers. Bien qu'il n'existe pas de façon idéale de prévoir leur évolution, l'indice de volatilité de la Chicago Board Options Exchange (CBOE), aussi connu sous le nom de VIX, est un indicateur populaire qui suit la volatilité implicite du marché en temps réel.

Mesurer la peur

En général, un VIX situé sous 20 indique un risque perçu faible, alors qu'un indice supérieur à 20 est un indicatif d'une période de haute volatilité.

Le VIX est parfois appelé l'indice de la peur, puisqu'il connaît une flambée pendant les turbulences du marché ou les périodes d'incertitude extrême. Par exemple, le VIX a connu une flambée à l'automne 2008, au plus fort de la crise financière mondiale, dépassant 80 vers la fin de l'année en question. Il était resté sous 13,5 de la mi-septembre 2006 jusqu'à la fin de février 2007, lorsque les marchés se portaient bien.

Les investisseurs à contre-courant — qui surveillent les occasions offertes sur le marché en allant à l'encontre de la façon courante de penser — croient qu'un VIX bas est un indicateur d'une tendance à la baisse, ce qui indique une complaisance des marchés qui peut être présage de mauvaises nouvelles; alors que certains pensent qu'un VIX élevé indique une tendance à la hausse. Étant donné que le VIX se situe sous 20 depuis le début de l'année 2016, certains investisseurs à contre-courant pensent que les marchés sont dus pour une correction boursière à court terme1.

Cela étant dit, les recherches ont démontré que le rendement des marchés boursiers a tendance, en moyenne, à être meilleur après des indices de volatilité faibles qu'après des indices élevés2.

Comment le VIX est-il calculé?

Le VIX utilise une formule mathématique qui calcule la fluctuation de l'option sur indice S&P 500 (SPX) au cours des 12 mois suivants, à l'aide d'une analyse de la différence entre les prix d'options de vente et d'options d'achat du SPX actuel1.

Les prix des options sont établis selon un nombre de facteurs, dont les attentes des investisseurs envers la volatilité du marché entre la journée en cours et la date d'échéance.

Comment le VIX est-il négocié?

Le VIX est, par sa nature, volatil; sa négociation est donc spéculative. Les investisseurs autonomes doivent donc effectuer leurs propres recherches et s'assurer qu'ils se sentent à l'aise par rapport aux risques de perdre une partie ou la totalité de leur investissement initial.

Pour ceux qui se sentent à l'aise avec les risques associés à ces types d'investissements, bien que vous ne puissiez pas acheter le VIX de la même façon que vous achetez une action ou une obligation, vous pouvez investir dans des instruments qui réagissent à ses fluctuations, comme les contrats à terme et les options du VIX de la CBOE. Ces contrats ont une date d'échéance, contrairement aux actions du S&P 500. Avec des actions, vous possédez une part du capital de la société émettrice, alors que les options sont des contrats qui donnent le droit d'acheter ou de vendre des actions à un certain prix ou avant une certaine date.

Selon la CBOE, les contrats à termes et les options du VIX permettent aux investisseurs de négocier la volatilité indépendamment du cours ou du niveau de prix des actions. « Que la perspective d'un investisseur sur le marché soit à la hausse, à la baisse ou entre les deux, les contrats à terme et les options du VIX peuvent permettre de diversifier un portefeuille ou une couverture, d'atténuer ou de profiter de la volatilité du marché large3. »

De plus, il existe environ deux douzaines de produits négociés en bourse (PNB) de volatilité pour le VIX, dont des fonds négociés en bourse (FNB) et des billets négociés en bourse (BNB). Les FNB sont des placements composés d'actifs, comme des actions, des obligations ou des marchandises, alors que les BNB sont des titres de créance non garantis. Les BNB, comme les obligations, peuvent être achetés et vendus ou conservés jusqu'à échéance4.

Les PNB de volatilité ont tendance à fluctuer en sens inverse de l'indice S&P 500. Autrement dit, lorsque l'indice S&P 500 baisse, les PNB de volatilité augmentent5. Par exemple, le VIX était en moyenne à 10,5 en juin, soit environ la moitié de sa moyenne historique de 20, alors que l'indice S&P 500 a atteint un autre record le 19 juin6.

Il faut prendre en considération avec les PNB qu'ils peuvent souffrir d'un rendement négatif lorsque la courbe des contrats à terme du VIX de la CBOE est en « report ». Cela signifie qu'au moment où une série sous-jacente de contrats à terme du VIX arrivent à date d'échéance, une nouvelle série de contrats plus chers sont introduits, ce qui mène à un écart des coûts continu (entre les deux contrats) et un mauvais suivi du rendement du VIX attendu à long terme.


La moyenne mobile simple de l'indice de volatilité de la CBOE (VIX) pour la période de 10 ans prenant fin le 19 juillet 2017.
Source: marketwatch.com

Ne laissez pas le VIX vous contrarier

Bien que le VIX soit largement utilisé en tant qu'indicateur du marché, il ne représente pas nécessairement le risque de marché – particulièrement le risque à long terme.

Par exemple, le VIX a atteint son niveau le plus bas depuis presque une décennie en mai 2017 et est resté bas malgré des préoccupations géopolitiques en Europe et en Corée du Nord et des indicateurs financiers et économiques contradictoires causés par l'administration Trump aux États Unis7.

Les investisseurs intéressés continuent quand même à suivre le VIX pour des signes de ce qui pourrait se produire dans les marchés, notamment à savoir s'il s'agit du calme avant une autre tempête.



  1. 1 Veuillez consulter, par exemple, cet article « Don't be afraid of the market's fearlessness » (Barron's, 5 juillet 2017) qui traite de la façon dont certains investisseurs à contre-courant « voient des mauvaises nouvelles dans les bonnes nouvelles » en ce qui concerne le VIX.
  2. « Conventional wisdom about the VIX "fear gauge" is all wrong », Marketwatch (10 mai 2017).
  3. « VIX Options and Futures », Chicago Board Options Exchange (page consultée le 7 juillet 2017).
  4. « ETF Or ETN? What's the difference? », Investopedia.
  5. « How to Day Trade Volatility ETFs », Investopedia.
  6. « Now Fed Officials Are Starting To Wonder If The VIX Is Too Low », Bloomberg (5 juillet 2017).
  7. « VIX volatility index hits lowest level in more than a decade », The Financial Times (1er mai 2017).