Monthly Market Insights - Data and opinions as of July 31, 2020

Stocks continue to climb higher as long-term bond yields fall

The S&P 500 has finally turned positive for the year in C$ terms, while global stocks (MSCI World in US$ terms) are down just over 1% year-to-date. Following the pandemic selloff, U.S. stocks have been leading the global recovery. A big part of that is due to the larger compositon of technology companies in U.S. markets, a sector that has greatly benefited from physical distancing measures. But investors are increasingly losing confidence in the U.S., including the U.S. dollar as a global reserve currency. The longer it takes for the U.S. to flatten their coronavirus cases, the more delayed their economic recovery, and the more debt the U.S. government will have to incur to support those individuals displaced from the labour force.


The NEI perspective

Gold glitters and the U.S. dollar tumbles. The two big stories this month are the strength in gold bullion and weakness of the U.S. dollar. There are inter-related reasons for this, but a key connecting variable is rock-bottom U.S. interest rates.

U.S. equities now positive for the year and we expect a gradual continuation. In local currency, the S&P 500 has turned positive for the year. The broad global equity market (MSCI World in US$ terms) is down just over 1% year-to-date. Record low bond yields, record stimulus programs and the continued recovery in economic activity should help push equities higher. We may see more relative upside in international and EM markets.

Plenty of reasons for caution. Q2 earnings, increases in U.S. coronavirus cases, weak fundamentals, and U.S.-China tensions are some of the reasons we continue to stay cautious in the near term.

Equity and Fixed income and currency

As of August 2020


Gold’s glitter

The price of gold rose to a record US$1976/oz at the end of July, surpassing the previous all-time closing high of US$1900/oz on September 5, 2011. In the midst of the pandemic, investors have been flocking to the safe-haven commodity. Record low interest rates, record high debt levels, rising long-term inflation expectations, a weakening U.S. dollar, and a generally bleak outlook for the global economy are some of the factors contributing to gold’s incredible rally.

Gold, spot price, $US/oz

graph of gold spot price

Source: Bloomberg. As of July 31, 2020.

Gold has a history of being used as a currency and a store of value. The U.S. dollar once had a gold standard where Americans could trade in cash for gold but has since abandoned this practice after 1971. There are a number of reasons gold may not be that appealing as a standalone investment: 1) it is incredibly volatile, almost twice as volatile as stocks; 2) it doesn’t generate any income in the form of dividends or coupons as stocks and bonds do; 3) its performance over the last ten years has lagged both stocks and bonds; and finally, 4) it is difficult to determine the intrinsic value of gold as it not a commodity with any major industrial applications (unlike silver and copper).

That said, gold can have numerous advantages when considered in a total portfolio context. First, gold has low correlation to bonds and almost no correlation to stocks. This can be beneficial during periods of market volatility, as gold will bring much-needed portfolio diversification and could help smooth out returns. Second, in periods of high inflation, gold tends to perform well due to its scarcity as a finite resource, acting as a hedge. Case in point: Gold’s previous all-time high was after U.S. inflation topped out at 3.9% in August 2011, nearly double the 2.1% average over the last 20 years.

The easiest way to incorporate gold into your portfolio is to invest in a gold mutual fund or ETF, but it’s important to be aware of what’s inside these funds. They may invest in physical gold, or they may invest in companies that are in the business of exploring for and/or producing gold (gold miners). Gold miners are even more volatile than physical gold and are about three times as volatile as the broad stock market.

Aviso Wealth Inc. (“Aviso Wealth”) is the parent company of Credential Qtrade Securities Inc. Aviso Wealth is a wholly-owned subsidiary of Aviso Wealth Limited Partnership, which in turn is owned 50% by Desjardins Financial Holdings Inc. and 50% by a limited partnership owned by the five Provincial Credit Union Centrals and the CUMIS Group Limited.

Online brokerage services are offered through Qtrade Investor, a division of Credential Qtrade Securities Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Aviso Wealth Inc. and Member of the Canadian Investor Protection Fund.

Northwest & Ethical Investments L.P (“NEI” or “NEI Investments”) is a subsidiary of Aviso Wealth; and NEI Funds are related issuers of Credential Qtrade Securities Inc.

This material is for informational purposes only. While this material has been compiled from sources believed to be reliable, Qtrade Investor does not guarantee the accuracy, completeness, timeliness or reliability of this information. Information, figures and charts are summarized for illustrative purposes only and are subject to change without notice. All investments are subject to risk, including the possible loss of principal.

Données mensuelles sur le marché - données et opinions en date du 31 juillet 2020

Les actions continuent de grimper plus haut à mesure que les rendements des obligations à long terme chutent

Le S&P 500 a finalement obtenu des résultats positifs pour l’année en dollars canadiens, tandis que les actions mondiales (MSCI Monde en dollars américains) ont connu une baisse de 1 % depuis le début de l’année. Après le dégagement boursier attribuable à la pandémie, les actions américaines ont mené la reprise mondiale. Cela est dû en grande partie à la composition plus importante de sociétés technologiques sur les marchés américains, un secteur qui a grandement bénéficié des mesures de distanciation physique. Toutefois, les investisseurs perdent de plus en plus confiance dans les États-Unis, y compris dans le dollar américain en tant que monnaie de réserve mondiale. Plus les États-Unis mettront de temps à aplanir leurs cas de coronavirus, plus leur reprise économique sera retardée, et plus le gouvernement américain devra s’endetter pour soutenir les personnes évincées de la main-d’oeuvre.


Le point de vue de Placements NEI

L’or scintille et le dollar américain s’effondre. Ce mois-ci, les deux faits notables sont la force des lingots d’or et la faiblesse du dollar américain. Il existe des raisons interdépendantes, mais une variable clé qui relie ces deux phénomènes est le très faible niveau des taux d’intérêt américains.

Les actions américaines affichent désormais des résultats positifs pour l’année et nous prévoyons une poursuite graduelle en ce sens. En monnaie locale, le S&P 500 a obtenu des résultats positifs pour l’année. Le vaste marché mondial des actions (MSCI Monde en dollars américains) est en baisse d’un peu plus de 1 % depuis le début de l’année. Les rendements des obligations historiquement bas, les programmes de relance records et la reprise continue de l’activité économique devraient contribuer à faire monter les actions. Les marchés internationaux et les marchés émergents pourraient connaître une hausse relative plus importante.

Les raisons de faire preuve de prudence sont nombreuses. Les bénéfices du deuxième trimestre, les hausses de nouveaux cas de coronavirus aux États-Unis, les bases faibles de l’économie et les tensions entre les États-Unis et la Chine sont quelques-unes des raisons pour lesquelles nous demeurons prudents à court terme.


monthly market commentary chart

L’or scintille

Le prix de l’or a atteint un niveau record de 1976 $ US par once à la fin du mois de juillet, dépassant son précédent record de clôture de 1900 $ US par once le 5 septembre 2011. En pleine pandémie, les investisseurs se sont rués sur cette marchandise refuge. Des taux d’intérêt historiquement bas, des taux d’endettement records, des attentes inflationnistes à long terme, un fléchissement du dollar américain et des perspectives généralement peu encourageantes pour l’économie mondiale sont quelques-uns des facteurs qui ont contribué à l’incroyable reprise de l’or.

Prix au comptant de l’or ($ US par once)

G7 countries chart

L’or a toujours été utilisé comme une monnaie et une réserve de valeur. Le dollar américain avait autrefois un étalon-or qui permettait aux Américains d’échanger des espèces contre de l’or, mais cette pratique a été abandonnée après 1971. Il existe plusieurs raisons pour lesquelles l’or n’est plus aussi attrayant en tant qu’investissement autonome : 1) il est incroyablement volatil, presque deux fois plus volatil que les actions; 2) il ne génère aucun revenu sous forme de dividendes ou de coupons comme le font les actions et les obligations; 3) son rendement au cours des dix dernières années a été inférieur à celui des actions et des obligations; enfin, 4) il est difficile de déterminer la valeur intrinsèque de l’or, car il ne s’agit pas d’une marchandise ayant des applications industrielles majeures (contrairement à l’argent et au cuivre).

Cela dit, l’or peut avoir de nombreux avantages lorsqu’il est considéré dans un contexte de portefeuille global. Tout d’abord, l’or a une faible corrélation avec les obligations et pratiquement aucune corrélation avec les actions. Cela peut être avantageux en périodes de volatilité des marchés, car l’or apporte au portefeuille une diversification très importante et pourrait contribuer à réduire les fluctuations du rendement. Deuxièmement, en périodes de forte inflation, l’or a tendance à bien se comporter en raison de sa rareté en tant que ressource limitée, agissant comme une couverture. Voici un exemple : Le précédent sommet de l’or a été atteint après que l’inflation américaine eut atteint 3,9 % en août 2011, soit près du double de la moyenne de 2,1 % des 20 dernières années.

La façon la plus simple d’intégrer l’or à votre portefeuille est d’investir dans un fonds commun de placement ou un FNB aurifère, mais il est important de savoir ce qui se trouve dans ces fonds. Ceux-ci peuvent investir dans de l’or physique ou dans des entreprises spécialisées dans l’exploration ou la production d’or (sociétés minières aurifères). Les sociétés minières aurifères sont encore plus volatiles que l’or physique et sont environ trois fois plus volatiles que le marché boursier.

Patrimoine Aviso Inc. (« Patrimoine Aviso ») est la société mère de Valeurs mobilières Credential Qtrade Inc. Patrimoine Aviso est une filiale en propriété exclusive de Commandité Patrimoine Aviso S.E.C., qui est elle-même détenue à 50 % par Desjardins Holding financier Inc. et à 50 % par une société en commandite appartenant aux cinq caisses provinciales Credit Union (les « Caisses ») ainsi qu'au groupe CUMIS.

Les services de courtage en ligne sont offerts par l’intermédiaire d’Investisseur Qtrade, une division de Valeurs mobilières Credential Qtrade Inc., une filiale en propriété exclusive de Patrimoine Aviso Inc. et membre du Fonds canadien de protection des épargnants. Ce document existe à des fins de renseignements seulement. Ce document a été préparé à l’aide de sources jugées fiables, mais Investisseur Qtrade ne garantit pas l’exactitude, l’exhaustivité, le caractère opportun et la fiabilité des informations. Les renseignements, schémas et graphiques sont présentés à titre d’illustrations seulement; ils sont modifiables sans préavis. Tous les placements sont assujettis à des risques, y compris la perte éventuelle de capital.